We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Aquarium” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Long Island Aquarium & Exhibition Center

Long Island Aquarium & Exhibition Center
431 East Main Street, Riverhead, NY 11901
631-208-9200
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 Attractions in Riverhead
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Two great attractions in one fin-tastic destination, the Aquarium and Exhibition Center features one of the largest all-living coral reef displays in this hemisphere, a 120,000-gallon shark tank, year-round sea lion shows, numerous touch tanks, and more than 100 exhibits and interactive experiences. Long Island Exhibition Center’s first exhibit is Butterflies & Birds! Flying for a limited engagement only, don’t miss them!Named a Top 10 Aquarium for Children by Parents Magazine, Long Island Aquarium and Exhibition Center is open daily 10:00am to 5:00pm year-round (Closed Christmas & Thanksgiving Days). Don’t forget you can now add to the fun with an overnight stay at the waterfront Hyatt Place East End & Resort Marina located adjacent to the property.
Williston Park, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Aquarium”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Good but tough to avoid crowds. Could use more exhibits. Great outdoor area , by the bay.This review makes me go on and on and on....

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    91
    46
    8
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New York
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Great Aquarium”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

The Long Island Aquarium in Riverhead is a wonderful spot to spend a few hours. Admission is pricey, but they do so much marine life rehab there, it is worth every penny. All the staff and volunteers are very knowledgeable. We loved the Penguin Encounter - never knew penguins were so interesting!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LongIslandAquarium, Manager at Long Island Aquarium & Exhibition Center, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Hi and thank you for your review - we are pleased that you enjoyed your recent visit and participated in our Penguin Encounter. Speaking of interesting facts about our African penguins - did you know that we recently had four penguin chicks? If you follow us on Facebook, we will be updating regularly. Thanks again + best fishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Penguins!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

We went for the penguin encounter and had tickets to the aquarium for the day. The penguin encounter was great! I would even do it again they were so cute! It's a must for anyone who enjoys penguins or just wants to learn something new. The food was a little pricy, but the experience was great! They have a lot to do and see. There was a seal show and a dive in the shark tank as well. There were some smaller exhibits with monkeys and bats and an architectural dig. The stingrays were fantastic too! I would recommend and return for another visit!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LongIslandAquarium, Manager at Long Island Aquarium & Exhibition Center, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Hi Christine and thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our Penguin Encounter program and will forward your review to our animal care team. We're excited you had time to enjoy our sea lion show and see some of our other outdoor exhibits - sounds like you had a lovely time and we hope to see you here again soon. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Had A Great Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

My family visitied the Long Island Aquarium on January 1, 2014 and we had a great time. Yes it is pricey as it was a little over $100.00 for the three of us but from what I can gather they also do marine research and preservation so I don't have a problem spending the money if it goes to good use. We really enjoyed feeding the manta and sting rays when you first walk in. I had never touched a sting ray so it was kind of fun and my son loved it. We spent the extra money to do the butterfly and bird exhibit. Loved all of the different butterflies. Inside the butterfly exhibit you can feed birds. As soon as you walk in the birds begin to land on you so probably not the best exhibit for those with a fear of birds, but we had a great time. We took in the sea lion show and watched them feed the different animals. Enjoyed the Japanese Snow Monkeys and it was a perfect cold day for them. The coral reef aquarium was very beautiful. Overall we had a very nice time. There are a lot of interactive exhibits. Yes the parking is down the road about a block but we didn't feel that it was in a dangerous part of town or anything and felt perfectly safe. I would visit again and recommend to anyone.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Winter Visit to Aquarium”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Been coming to this aquarium for years. Its much better during the summer when the outside is open, but the plus side to our December visit was that it was nice and empty so we we enjoyed the indoor exhibits a lot more.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Long Island Aquarium & Exhibition Center also viewed

East Hampton, Hamptons
Riverhead, Hamptons
 

Been to Long Island Aquarium & Exhibition Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Long Island Aquarium & Exhibition Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.