We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aquarium” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Long Island Aquarium & Exhibition Center

Long Island Aquarium & Exhibition Center
431 East Main Street, Riverhead, NY 11901
631-208-9200
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 Attractions in Riverhead
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Two great attractions in one fin-tastic destination, the Aquarium and Exhibition Center features one of the largest all-living coral reef displays in this hemisphere, a 120,000-gallon shark tank, year-round sea lion shows, numerous touch tanks, and more than 100 exhibits and interactive experiences. Long Island Exhibition Center’s first exhibit is Butterflies & Birds! Flying for a limited engagement only, don’t miss them!Named a Top 10 Aquarium for Children by Parents Magazine, Long Island Aquarium and Exhibition Center is open daily 10:00am to 5:00pm year-round (Closed Christmas & Thanksgiving Days). Don’t forget you can now add to the fun with an overnight stay at the waterfront Hyatt Place East End & Resort Marina located adjacent to the property.
Ronkonkoma, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Aquarium”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Aquarium was clean, staff was helpful and friendly. It was easy to get to. The butterfly exhibit was extraordinary and the penguins were fun.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    91
    46
    8
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Yaphank, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I've been in aquariums with five times more to see that charged lower admissions. It's a shame, but this place is just too expensive for what it offers. If it had more competition, I think it would not be successful.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Unique aquarium”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We liked the different themed areas of the facility, was better than we expected for Riverhead! Would totally recommend to travelers.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sag Harbor, NY
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best bang for the buck!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Kids and grownups all love it. It's a great aquarium and have wonderful shows. This one beats the one in Charleston, SC...and they thought they had the best! Go visit...you'll enjoy!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
babylon
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“What a great place to visit and host an event!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I recently held a surprise 70th birthday party for my dad at the Aquarium which was a huge success. I had it in the Riverfront Room which was transformed into a fun tropical oasis. I had hired a steel drummer who made the party so festive and lively.The staff at the Aquarium were so professional and accommodating as well as the Maitre"d who really made sure everything ran smoothly. Craig Alexander who books the events was a real pro and so personable and friendly he made everything so easy. The food was great and the ice bar was a huge hit with everyone. There were kids at the party and the loved being able to explore the Aquarium and also seeing the Sea Lion Show. I highly recommend this gem on Long Island. Many of my guest said they would come back with their grandchildren or on their own to visit the Aquarium.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Long Island Aquarium & Exhibition Center also viewed

East Hampton, Hamptons
Riverhead, Hamptons
 

Been to Long Island Aquarium & Exhibition Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Long Island Aquarium & Exhibition Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.