We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad, good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express East End

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express East End to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express East End
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1707 Old Country Road, Riverhead, NY 11901   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Riverhead
Englishtown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not bad, good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Pretty standard as hotels in this price range go. Clean room, nice staff. Free breakfast was actually very good, more offered than usual at hotels. It is close to the outlets and wineries, and a short drive to the aquarium, so thats convenient. The thing I would advise if that if you do not like the smell of smoke MAKE SURE you request a non-smoking room! We were originally put in a smoking room (we booked through priceline and I guess thats the standard). The smell was AWFUL. Almost immediately upon entering the room, my boyfriends eyes swelled up from allergies. We asked to be moved to a non-smoking room, and since we had booked for 3 nights, they could only guarantee one night at a time in a non-smoking room, and we should just keep checking during the following days to see if anyone cancelled. The non-smoking room was also a bit musty but I always bring febreeze for just this type of situation, and it seemed to do the trick. The next morning there was a different person at the front desk. When I explained the situation & asked if anyone had cancelled, she arranged for us to stay in the non-smoking room for the rest of the stay. That was nice, it was a weight off our shoulders and we were able to properly enjoy the rest of our trip. Overall, this Holiday Inn Express is decent and less expensive than the other hotels in Riverhead.

Room Tip: Request a non-smoking room if you don't smoke!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jrp1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Boston
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

After a disappointing stay at the Dune Deck Hotel in Westhampton, we decided to stay a little further away from the beach and save money. It was well worth it. The Holiday Inn Express in Riverhead was the nicest Holiday Inn Express I have ever been to. They had a delicious breakfast. The rooms were nice and clean, and the service was friendly. It is close to shopping and the outlets.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chrispigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredon
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Spending only 2 days on Long Island, we found this hotel in Riverhead that was very close to
the Tanger Outlets. Traveling with my daughter, my mother, my sister and niece, we stayed in a 2 bedroom queen suite that had a sofa bed. The room was large enough for all. Breakfast was
good. The staff, especially one night employee was extremely kind and welcoming. I was surprised of other reviews that complained about the staff. We drove to Greenpoint and visited
wineries. Staying out in Northfork would have been much more expensive. We did have trouble finding a dinner restaurant and ended up in a TGI Fridays. If I went again, I would make dinner reservations.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolDanipete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Convenient to highway. Room very clean and new. Daughter and I were staying in room and during the night someone used a key in our lock, but could not get in as the door latch was closed. We think that it was a night security guard or housekeeper. We alerted the desk in the morning to make sure that they had us down as registered and they were so suitably horrified. Without me asking they dropped the price of the room. They said that they were going to look into it. The desk clerk automatically got the manager when I told her about it. The hotel was very family oriented with a lot of people staying for competitions etc. Good restaurants nearby, especially an outdoor fish restaurant that also catered to families. Breakfast good.
Even with that issue, I never at all felt even the least bit unsafe. Not a bad drive into the Hamptons or Montauk. Very close to outlet stores that were okay. To me this is not a destination hotel but if you need to be out there for some other reason definitely the place to stay.

Room Tip: ASked for extra pillows, shampoo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 4hans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Stayed at this hotel while doing a weekend getaway to the local vineyards and Montauk. The hotel itself was clean and the room was very spacious and clean. The morning breakfast buffet was great and well maintained. The Great Room where the breakfast is held is a nice space with a large TV, tables/chairs and couches. The hotel is on Old Country Road which is a main commercial strip with stores, restaurants and outlet shopping. It is around 45 minutes to the vineyards on the North Fork and a little over an hour to Montauk, so the location is central to everything. The only complaint was that the front desk staff could be a little warmer. They barely made eye contact the entire check-in and check-out process. I don't need an overly warm welcome but in the hospitality business, especially at a Holiday Inn brand of hotel (even Express), where I have always received the warmest of welcomes with smiles, the interaction needs a little more warmth. Otherwise, we had a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YankeeFan10182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Paltz, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Had to attend a wedding in the area. Price was better than Hilton and the breakfast buffet was value added and convenient.Room was spacious and clean, pool looked inviting but time didn't permit. Staff wasn't all that friendly but businesslike. Breakfast buffet needed more attention/staffing but it was acceptable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blockhead48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

Close to vineyards and some good restaurants. Pool was clean and breakfast excellent. Stayed only one night but could easily have added one night, time permitting.
Got some help with printouts at no extra cost.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pkembro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riverhead
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Riverhead
2.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Long Island East End
1.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo East End
Hotel Indigo East End
#3 of 7 in Riverhead
4.0 of 5 stars 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Southampton Long Island Hotel
Southampton Long Island Hotel
#3 of 8 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 stars 68 reviews
11.1 mi away
The Drake Inn
The Drake Inn
#2 of 12 in Hampton Bays
4.5 of 5 stars 94 reviews
9.2 mi away
Bayview Resort
Bayview Resort
#6 of 12 in Hampton Bays
4.5 of 5 stars 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express East End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express East End

Address: 1707 Old Country Road, Riverhead, NY 11901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Riverhead
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Riverhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express East End 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express East End Hotel is centrally located in the heart of the north and south forks of Long Island's Suffolk County. Whether your stay is for business or pleasure, the modern luxury and impeccable service of the Holiday Inn Express East End is sure to please. Guests staying in any of our spacious rooms will enjoy our 24-hour business center, free wired and wireless internet access, Express Start complimentary continental breakfast, a refreshing workout in our 24-hour fitness center, or unwind in our Great Room enjoying the warmth of our fireplace along with coffee and tea available 24 hours. We are conveniently located to some of the most popular sites on Long Island: Tanger Outlet Center, Atlantis Marine World Aquarium, Splish Splash Water Park, Long Island Wine Country, Riverhead Raceway, the famed Hamptons, and much more. Please contact the hotel directly to inquire about our packages.Visit Riverhead, NY and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express East End. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, IHG and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express East End reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express East End Hotel Riverhead
Holiday Inn Express Riverhead
Holiday Inn Riverhead
Riverhead Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express East End Riverhead, NY - Long Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing