We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home at the end of Long Island.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express East End

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express East End to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express East End
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1707 Old Country Road, Riverhead, NY 11901   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 7 hotels in Riverhead
Erlanger, KY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Home away from home at the end of Long Island.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

This year my family split our summer vacation up into two areas, Long Island and Washington D.C. I tend to choose Holiday Inn properties because I am a rewards member. This was our choice for our first 4 nights of vacation (Sun-Wed).

Positives:
1. My main beef with my previous visits to Long Island has been how long it takes to drive from one place to another. It seems like half my visit is spent in the car. The HIE Riverhead is located an awesome minute or two off the end of the Long Island Expressway. This seriously reduced the amount of time I spent in the car this year.
2. Lots of restaurants and shopping areas just a minute or two from the hotel. There is a 7-11 you can walk to for snacks and sundries, and a proper grocery store just a few minutes down the road.
3. The pool was clean, the area around the pool was tidy, and there were very few other users of the pool. I went swimming two evenings to cool off and sunbathed for a couple hours one afternoon and never once was bothered by other patrons. The other people using the pool were friendly and quiet.
4. Free breakfasts are great. Its a huge time and money saver for the family to be able to get up, get ready, and head down for breakfast at their own pace.
5. The staff was super friendly. We were greeted with a small Priority Rewards gift bag a check in and never had a problem getting a question answered.

Negatives:
1. We had 4 people staying in the room but housekeeping never gave us 4 towels. We ended up just going down to the pool and grabbing some of those towels for our showers or else having to call each day for more towels.
2. We were unable to get a luggage rack for our room, which meant we had to use the ironing board to hold some of our bags.
3. The television was pretty old (not HD or flatscreen) and more than half the channels weren't working. I know there is a war going on between some of the cable companies and the dish providers, but some of the missing channels (All the HBOs, the main ESPN) weren't part of that. Since we didn't use the television that much anyway, I never bothered to call and complain about it, but its something to keep in mind if you plan on spending a lot of time in the room.

Overall: While I am not happy with the rate we had to pay for the room, I realize that it's just the cost of doing business in Long Island. When I am forced to pay these higher rates I really just want my trip to go smoothly and not have to drag a good experience out of anyone. The HIE in Riverhead did just that and we will make it our first choice the next time we visit.

Room Tip: If you would like a quieter room, ask for a room not looking out on the pool patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    38
    21
    6
    8
See reviews for
28
33
5
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

We used the Holiday Inn Express East End to block rooms for those guests who were attending our daughter's wedding because of the close proximity to the venue. The Holiday Inn Express was also a better value than the other three hotels in the area. In addition to the block of rooms reserved, we also booked the bridal suite for the bride and groom. It was immense, beautifully laid out and with a whirlpool in the bathroom. Our guests were very comfortable. The rooms had a mini fridge. The outside pool was clean and inviting. The breakfast was ample and the breakfast room comfortable and spacious. In fact, after the wedding, many of the guest chose to sit in the room and hang for a while. The staff arranged a shuttle service to transport the guests to and from the wedding venue. We had about 40 gift bags that were distributed to our guest. Everyone received their's without a problem.

I cannot say enough about the helpful staff- which in today's day and age is a rarity. The wedding took months of preparation with calls back and forth to the hotel for status up dates on the rooms that were blocked, shuttle service, and other last minute details. We found the staff responsive, helpful and friendly. We had last minute guests that were accommodated. There was never a phone call or email that went unanswered. Thank you Kristen, Ashley, Marielle and hotel manager, Michelle, for your all of your kindness, help and assistance.

Room Tip: We were unable to host a brunch as most of the guests were leaving early. Instead, we reserved one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express East End, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
It was our pleasure to help you with the accommodations for your daughter's wedding! On behalf of the entire staff, we wish your daughter and her new husband the best of luck as they start on their new journey together.

Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to be apart of this special day.

-Michele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

The so-called suite was perfect for our family of four. Two double beds and fold-out couch. A fridge not filled with mini-bar stuff was in the room. Wifi internet was included in the cost of the hotel. Always important in this age of kids' gadgets.
The breakfast had some healthy and not so healthy options. It was fine for us and we walked away satisfied.
The outdoor pool is a nice size--not really long enough for laps, but better than you average US hotel pool.
The location was good only for people who love outlet malls and driving wherever they need to go. Forget about it if you hope to go on a nice walk right by the hotel.
Service was pleasant and helpful.
Fitness room was in the basement. It mostly had aerobic machines.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking pool are better. The other side of the building is next to a huge box store with b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

This chain isn't our first choice, but it was the only hotel in the area that actually had an available room on a Saturday night in June.

Our room was a good size, with a king bed, sofa(bed) that was suitable for two kids (wouldn't recommend it for an adult, though), and a small dining table. The king bed had a duvet, but the pull-out had a disgusting looking blanket between two bedsheets. (WHY do hotels insist on dirty-looking brown/beige fleece blankets?) The room had a microwave, sink and a fridge. There was a good choice of TV-channels, plus different movie packages. Our kids enjoyed the TV-games for $7 per hour.

We did hear quite a lot of noise from the Raceway in daytime, and since our room was facing the street - a bit of noise from the traffic.

The bed was comfortable, and the sofa and chair looked quite new. The bathroom decor was a bit dated, though.

After a good night's sleep, the breakfast was "served" between 7 and 10. They had a breakfast bar complete with paper cups, plastic cutlery and cardboard plates... There was a choice of scrambled and boiled eggs, bacon, bagels, cereals, preserves, hot drinks, juice and yogurt.

The hotel is within walking distance of a few restaurants, and close to the Tanger Outlet mall.

All in all, the hotel seems a bit dated, and just a place to spend the night - no lobby area to sit and no dining options, but a small outside pool. I think the rates were a bit high for what we got, although breakfast and wi-fi was included.

Room Tip: Ask for a room towards the back if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

This hotel provided free shuttle service to and from The Baiting Hollow Vineyard & Farm. We bought the deal through Groupon. The hotel is immaculate, with helpful staff, and a substantial free breakfast in the morning. We would return again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Positives- good location, convenient to the LIE and cose to the Tanger Outlet Mall and several wineries. Hotel staff was helpful/friendly. Room was clean upon check-in

Negatives- next door to Riverhead Raceway, so very loud car racing noises. Pool is advertised as heated, it is not heated and felt like ice. Also there are only 4 lounge chairs by pool. So unless you get out by 9am you will have no lounge chair. We asked for additional chairs to be brought out and were told no more are available. Also no towels were provided at pool area.

Since lounging by a heated pool was one of the main reasons we chose this hotel, very disppointed.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmulrenan, Manager at Holiday Inn Express East End, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Thank you for bringing this to our attention; we have purchased additional pool furniture and would love to see you again soon. Please contact me at your earliest convenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

We stayed here two nights during a family trip. The bed was so uncomfortable that our sleep was restless and we both had aches and pains the next day. If you're looking for a restful night's sleep, might want to look elsewhere. Loud air conditioning unit didn't help. Hotel is a little worn around the edges.
Staff provided adequate service, however.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express East End, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Dear beechrunner,

Thank you for your stay and leaving us feedback. I'm pleased you were happy with the hotel staff service. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I’m sorry you were not fully satisfied with the sleep accommodations received. We hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express East End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express East End

Address: 1707 Old Country Road, Riverhead, NY 11901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Riverhead
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 hotels in Riverhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express East End 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express East End Hotel is centrally located in the heart of the north and south forks of Long Island's Suffolk County. Whether your stay is for business or pleasure, the modern luxury and impeccable service of the Holiday Inn Express East End is sure to please. Guests staying in any of our spacious rooms will enjoy our 24-hour business center, free wired and wireless internet access, Express Start complimentary continental breakfast, a refreshing workout in our 24-hour fitness center, or unwind in our Great Room enjoying the warmth of our fireplace along with coffee and tea available 24 hours. We are conveniently located to some of the most popular sites on Long Island: Tanger Outlet Center, Atlantis Marine World Aquarium, Splish Splash Water Park, Long Island Wine Country, Riverhead Raceway, the famed Hamptons, and much more. Please contact the hotel directly to inquire about our packages.Visit Riverhead, NY and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express East End. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express East End reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express East End Hotel Riverhead
Holiday Inn Express Riverhead
Holiday Inn Riverhead
Riverhead Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express East End Riverhead, NY - Long Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express East End, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.