We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of FARM COUNTRY KITCHEN

FARM COUNTRY KITCHEN
513 WEST MAIN, Riverhead, NY
631-369-6311
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 98 Restaurants in Riverhead
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery
Description: EXCELLENT LITTLE PLACE - OVERLOOKS THE PECONIC RIVER - CASUAL
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We had dinner here during a week-long visit to NYC and Long Island. We have wined and dined at some of the best spots in NYC. But our meal at Farm Country Kitchen was our BEST meal of the vacation. We can't say enough about it. I'm salivating as I write this! :)

Some people have called this restaurant a "hidden gem". With that, they aren't exaggerating! The restaurant is hidden behind bushes, down on the riverbank (the Peconic, I think?). Easy to drive past. At street level, there is just an unassuming white garage. You'll know you are at the right place because you will see all the patrons' cars. Still, inconspicuous as it is, this cozy little restaurant is hopping! And deservedly so. It can afford to survive on reputation alone, and locals who eat there will be unlikely to want the rest of us to know about it!

I won't discuss the menu, as It likely changes often, but we had a variety of appetizers, mains and desserts and each dish was simply extraordinary. Delicious! We each were 100% satisfied with our selections.

It is BYOB, with no corkage! The server provided us with glasses, and a wine cooler for our bottle of wine. Very nice touch.

Then there is the venue! On the river, a lovely deck to enjoy the view. The inside seating is cozy and rustic. We were thrilled to be on the deck, but would have been pretty well as happy to eat inside. Once we got our food!

When we consider whether we might return to Long Island on vacation, Farm Country Kitchen will be a big consideration. We are not sure we want to have eaten there for the last time.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    25
    12
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
LI NY
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“I Will Be Back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

What a find! My wife and I was staying at the nearby Holiday Inn and wanted something close and good. It was a cold wintery, sleeting cold night. We made a reservation earlier in the day and the person on the phone was very nice and gave great directions. We ate on the porch which was kept warm by a plastic like tent. It was a little chilly, but the food and service was excellent. We brought a bottle of wine and the bill was less than $100.00 and it was worth it. The owner was very nice. It is a easy place to miss, but don't.

Chris and Tom McDonald Farmingdale NY

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“a hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

On one of our wine tastings several people highly recommended we visit this restaurant since we were in town only for 1 evening, we took their advice and made a reservation and were very pleased!!! The place is a small white house hidden off the side of the road, nothing fancy yet very quaint and charming. we sat on the heated outdoor patio which overlooks the river. A little close for comfort with your nearby neighbors next to you but it wasn't too busy on a sunday night. the food was absolutely delectable, from our delicious seared scallop appetizer to my red snapper and my husbands filet mignon special. Both dishes with such wonderful and delightful flavors which made us saying oh yummy throughout the whole meal!! We would definitely not hesitate to visit again. well worth the money and another great thing is BYOB!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“AWESOME PLACE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

this is a hidden treasure when it comes to food . small place right on the water . the food is just magnificient we order there all the time . everyday they have something new and interesting going on .food is defintly whorted for the price. love it

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Dirty at first look, rude owner.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

Looked like a dump walking in. We asked if the bees were bad today and he was so rude!!!! I don't know if he was the owner or not, but he put his arms up, shook his head. We walked out. No way!

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed FARM COUNTRY KITCHEN also viewed

 
Riverhead, Hamptons
 

Been to FARM COUNTRY KITCHEN? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage FARM COUNTRY KITCHEN, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.