We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Museum in Search of a Theme” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hallockville Museum Farm

Hallockville Museum Farm
6038 Sound Avenue, Riverhead, NY 11901
516-298-5292
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #7 of 9 attractions in Riverhead
Southampton, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Museum in Search of a Theme”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Should be called "Hick-ville" Farm. OK if you like cows and ancient steam tractors, otherwise quaint but pretty boring.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    2
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hampton Bays, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Old Long Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

There are many events that take place here.and each is special in it's own way. My passion is for any of the antique power association displays, as this part of farming history gets forgotten;we tend to jump from the horse drawn plow to the combine and forget all the charming and hardwworking machines in between. To get as much as you can from a single visit, I reccomend the harvest festival that incorporates animals, bluegrass music, good food and drink including local wines and beers,crafts boothes and more.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Step Back in Time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

One of my favorite local attractions. I haven't missed a Christmas at Hallockville since first introduced a few years ago. Any of their fairs and/or festivals are a great excuse to get out there, but even just a lazy summer day. Farm animals, historical homes and just plenty of room to roam. No fee for walking grounds when there is not a fair going on. Entry to buildings only during guided tours.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
69 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Fun Day on the Farm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

We visited this farm and enjoyed the history and tour. It was an interesting day.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cutchogue
1 review
“We love Hallockville!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2010

My family loves visiting the Hallockville Museum and Farm. It's a terrific place in the heart of Long Island Wine Country that demonstrates a real historical farming community. We enjoy the history and restored buildings as well as the awesome events they have throughout the year (the kids love the tractor-pulling). Great place to visit!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hallockville Museum Farm also viewed

 

Been to Hallockville Museum Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hallockville Museum Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.