We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Museum in Search of a Theme” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hallockville Museum Farm

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Hallockville Museum Farm
6038 Sound Avenue, Riverhead, NY 11901
516-298-5292
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 4 Attractions in Riverhead
Type: History Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Find out what life was like on a typical farm on the North Fork of Long Island from 1880 to 1920 by visiting the wonderfully preserved original buildings and observing the artifacts displayed throughout this history museum.
Southampton, New York, United States
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Museum in Search of a Theme”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Should be called "Hick-ville" Farm. OK if you like cows and ancient steam tractors, otherwise quaint but pretty boring.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    3
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hampton Bays, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Old Long Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

There are many events that take place here.and each is special in it's own way. My passion is for any of the antique power association displays, as this part of farming history gets forgotten;we tend to jump from the horse drawn plow to the combine and forget all the charming and hardwworking machines in between. To get as much as you can from a single visit, I reccomend the harvest festival that incorporates animals, bluegrass music, good food and drink including local wines and beers,crafts boothes and more.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Step Back in Time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

One of my favorite local attractions. I haven't missed a Christmas at Hallockville since first introduced a few years ago. Any of their fairs and/or festivals are a great excuse to get out there, but even just a lazy summer day. Farm animals, historical homes and just plenty of room to roam. No fee for walking grounds when there is not a fair going on. Entry to buildings only during guided tours.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
273 reviews 273 reviews
86 attraction reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
“Fun Day on the Farm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

We visited this farm and enjoyed the history and tour. It was an interesting day.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cutchogue
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We love Hallockville!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2010

My family loves visiting the Hallockville Museum and Farm. It's a terrific place in the heart of Long Island Wine Country that demonstrates a real historical farming community. We enjoy the history and restored buildings as well as the awesome events they have throughout the year (the kids love the tractor-pulling). Great place to visit!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hallockville Museum Farm also viewed

 

Been to Hallockville Museum Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hallockville Museum Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.