We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chic, affordable hotel in Eastern Long Island” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo East End

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
IHG Booking.com
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Indigo East End
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1830 West Main Street, Route 25, Riverhead, NY 11901   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Riverhead
New York City, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Chic, affordable hotel in Eastern Long Island”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I went here on New Years Eve 2012. I had purchased a party package so my experience is a little different than just someone staying the night. But there are some things that I think apply regardless.

The hotel is right off the main road, but the entrance is set back a little so it doesn't feel so much like an overnight stop for travelers. The rooms are all situated on one floor, and there's ample parking in front and around the side if the hotel.

Upon my arrival, my boyfriend and I were welcomed warmly by a cheerful concierge at the front desk. We checked in quickly and with ease. The decor strives to be more urban chic than one might think. It's a much different feeling walking into a Hotel Indigo as compared with another InterContinental hotel like the Holiday Inn. You can tell that they are a little more upscale with the dark wood floors and vaulted looking ceilings.

The rooms are small, but really not much different from a regular hotel but the bedding and furniture were definitely. The drab floral patterns were replaced by trendy geometrical ones. The lighting if the room really set a good, relaxed mood. The bathroom was completely up-to-date with an energy efficient toilet and a very modern shower, which only included half a glass door. There were some toiletries included (soap and shampoo/conditioner).

The restaurant is designed as a small open floor space with a bar and is situated next to a fireplace. I had ordered some type of fruit & cheese platter and thought the food was delicious. There's also a room downstairs which looks like it could be rented for special events, as there are tables, a bar, a dance floor and couches to lounge on.

All in all, I very much enjoyed being here. It's not very close to where I live but if I were passing through the Riverhead location again, I would strongly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Because all rooms are on one floor, I would request one a little further away from the lobby to ensu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    106
    88
    35
    12
    8
See reviews for
42
109
4
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed at the site last night with the use of a gift certificate. Hotel room looked just as photos on their website. Room was very new looking, and most importantly, VERY CLEAN!!!!!!! Had a yummy breakfast (little costly, $30 for two), but delicious none the less. We will go back for another date night, hopefully sooner rather than later. I too enjoyed the Aveda products in the bathroom and the Keurig coffee maker in the room.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Spent the night during Valentines weekend with my Dh! The hotel is very conveniently located off of the LIE. The lobby was nicely decorated and modern. Upon check in we received a free drink voucher for being Club members, (nice touch). The pool is an outdoor pool and no one had mentioned if it was a year round pool. It is not.
The rooms were nicely decorated. I loved it that they used the same chairs in the room that were from the lobby! Keurig coffee in the room too! Bathroom very modern with Aveda products. Some people mentioned about the frosted glass in the bathroom. It was not an issue at all, thought it gave the room some depth. The shower, not a fan of the open concept, no closing glass door. If it was bigger or had the shower head on top instead of the wall, not a big deal. Loved the bed!! Most comfortable night sleep ever! I did forget to look at the brand before I left, but just loved it.
Did not take advantage of the in house restaurant, but the bar area did have a full stock.
Overall great night after the wineries. Will definitely be back. This will be my go to hotel for the East End!!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin Square
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I went out to Hotel Indigo with my boyfriend for Valentines Day. It was great!! We went to a winery that was close by for a wine tasting. The hotel provided the transportation free of charge! We then had a wonderfully romantic dinner at a table by the fireplace at Bistro 72. There was live music which helped make the dinner more romantic. Nick, our waitor was so accomadating and attentive. The food was delicious, as was the champagne! The hotel itself was clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful. We had breakfast from room service. Not only was it delicious but it was reasonably priced. The waitor who delivered it also suggested a winery in the area after asking us about our stay. Over all it was a perfect way to spend valentine's day!

Room Tip: Get a room on the pool side for a better view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

They did a great job hipsterfying an old crusty motel. Rooms and common areas are lovely, really updated and nice, though not large. The restaurant was good. The location is really terrific - just off the LIE in Riverhead. Staff was very friendly and eager to help, though some could be a bit better organized and informed.

They get a lot of groups and wedding parties there, and we were kept up all night with noise from the hallway. When housekeeping was vacuuming the room next door the next morning, it sounded as if they were in our room. We also had a problem with our heat, it wouldn't shut off.

In season it looks like the outdoor "pool scene" probably gets hopping, rooms around the pool go for a premium, but I'm guessing they might not be ideal for the early-to-bed crowd.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo East End, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Iluvhhi,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your comments. I understand that having a good night sleep is important and it sounds like we fell below your expectations. I am sorry for any inconvenience you experienced due to the outside noise. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel is nicely furnished and very clean with good amenities. The front desk was useless but with free wifi and a smart phone you can get any information you need. Its close to the outlets and wineries and has a good in house restaurant and bar. Great place to stay for a trip out east.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I have stayed at this small oasis near the sprawling Tanger shopping mall in Riverhead twice now and found it a safe haven and unexpected luxury. During Hurricane Sandy the hotel staff did an amazing job of keeping the guests dry, warm and happy. Pets were accomodated and when the power went out the staff adjusted with heroic (albeit limited) meal preparation and candlelit drinks/food and fire in the bar area (where the generator kept the satellite tv feed going so we could monitor the storm). Bistro 72 restaurant is also a hidden gem featuring a nice range of local foods and wines.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Indigo East End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo East End

Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo East End Riverhead, NY - Long Island
Address: 1830 West Main Street, Route 25, Riverhead, NY 11901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Riverhead
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Riverhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo East End 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the very center of it all — the Hamptons,the North Fork, beaches, vineyards,shopping and nightlife, Hotel Indigo is yourstarting point for all the excitement Long Island's East End has in store for you. Indigo has all the luxuries and amenities you deserve. From the restaurant and lounge to our fireplaces,pool, and outdoor spaces, find your greatescape in one of our 100 contemporaryguestrooms on over eight private acres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Otel, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Indigo East End reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo East End, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Indigo East End to your Saves list