We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is a warm and friendly atmosphere.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lake House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Lake House to your Saves list
The Lake House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2521 County Highway 22, On Lake Street, Richfield Springs, NY 13439   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Bottle of Wine
Manlius, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“It is a warm and friendly atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We've been coming through Richfield Springs and visiting the Lake House for many years. From time-to-time, we stop for a drink or two at the tavern and then enjoy the grounds, and lunch or dine there, but we've never stayed there. We finally decided to, and we're so glad we did. What a wonderful experience -it is a warm and friendly atmosphere - we so much enjoyed our stay. The staff were friendly and helpful - without exception, treating us as if we were their special guests - at least, that's how they made us feel. Do yourself a favor like we did - we only stayed one night, but having done so, we now can't wait to come back and do it again - and we will!

Room Tip: Choose a room that faces the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    12
    6
    8
    22
See reviews for
45
33
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I would never recommend this place to anyone. We arrived for the week expecting to see something resembling the pictures posted only to find a run-down wreck of a place. There was a dead rodent in our kitchen cupboard, layers of dust, broken window blinds held together with bandaids! The washing machine smelled so bad you would never put your clothes in it. I'm not sure where this website got its pictures but they are NOT from this decade. They must have had jet skis and canoes an one point because in the pile of JUNK at the front of the property there was an old rusted out jet ski with moss growing on it. The dock had caution tape across the entrance because they were too rotten to walk on. FYI- We discovered the wedding pictures are of a family member of the owner.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine C, Owner at The Lake House, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
It is a shame that this guest was so unhappy. As we all know, the
reviews on the site are opinions of guests and everyone sees things a
little differently. I sincerely doubt that there was a "rodent" in the
cupboards since they are basically empty and cleaned every week
although perhaps a little field mouse got in- I never saw it. Search
as I did when I read this review, I can't find any bandaids on blinds
either. As Trip Advisor says these are unverified reviews posted
anonymously.

I am confused about the washing machine as it is a machine that I use
on a regular basis and never have detected any unpleasant smell.
However, if anyone reads the information about the Cooperstown area,
they know that one of the reasons people originally came to the area
were sulfur baths and although we have a well with good water, on
occasion, there is a hint of sulfur during the hot summer months. We
have a water filtration system to guard against this but perhaps she
was sensitive to this smell.

As for the boats, we are preservationists- we restore antique wooden
boats because they are beautiful. They have to be in water in the
summer so that they do not dry out too much. We work on them in the
off season and make them beautiful again. She took at picture of our
most recent project. Wait until you see it done! We do have a caution
sign at the entrance of the dock because they owner of the pontoon
,also moored at the dock (who rents for the season), complained about
kids who were staying playing on his boat and moving his fishing gear.
We had to put something up to protect his property from unsupervised
children. We have a dock that the kids can use for fishing but don't
let them play on other people's boats for numerous reasons.

As for some of the pictures being from our daughter's wedding- we do
have children and our daughter is happily married. We have her
pictures proudly on our website. We have four children and celebrate
their milestones on our website. She was a beautiful bride and has a
wonderful husband. We are glad to share pictures of her happy day on
our site along with other people's pictures. The Lake House is a
beautiful place for a wedding.

We hope you will read her review with a grain of salt and realize that
the Lake House is the place for you if you do not want a cookie cutter
hotel type vacation. We are on one of the cleanest lakes in New York
State where your children can have an old fashioned vacation with a
chance to fish, play on the water, have a bonfire at night, tell
stories by the campfire, catch fireflies and marvel at the stars in the
sky. We recommend the Lake House for an great and memorable family
vacation.

PS. We take and post new pictures every year because we are constantly
updating and improving our facility.
Christine Corrigan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

A most interesting place. Located on a lake, this structure dates from 1843 and parts of it shows that. Beautiful property with a large stage set up for special events near the water. The docks are dilapidated with a number of old Chris-Craft power boats tied up to them. The building and rooms are old but adequate. Rooms are small. A common area has a comfy sofa and lots of books to peruse. We had dinner in the restaurant. The dinner menu was expensive, so we asked and received a lunch menu. We ordered from that without any protest from the server. No breakfast available, we were off season. This hotel fills up with parents who's little ones are off at baseball camp in nearby Cooperstown. Because of age, this is not the cleanest place, but ok.

Room Tip: This is an old hotel, so check your fire escapes before retiring to bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine C, Owner at The Lake House, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear MVH 951.

Thanks for choosing the Lake House for your overnight stay in the area. As an experienced traveler we value your comments and observations. We aren't sure why old equates to not clean but appreciate your comment about checking for fire escapes because there are two from the second floor and three from the third in addition to the hard wired fire alarm system that is remotely monitored and connected to the local 911 center. I am sure you also noticed the newly installed sprinkler system to keep our guests safe and secure while they enjoy a good night's sleep. We hope you will visit us again next time you are in the area.

Thanks,
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York city
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Summer has ended and we are packed up until next season. We were surprised that this year the Lakehouse put up a stage and had fantastic entertainment. We were fortunate to be able
to attend every show . What impressed us the most was the caliber of talent fro the Lettermen
to an Elvis impersonator who is ranked the best in the country.
Every year when we return to the lake we can't wait to see what the lakehouse has in store for the season. Looking forward to next summer.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cooperstown
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Proprietors Gene and Chris Corrigan of the Lake House hosted a Chamber of Commerce Business After Hours last night at their historic landmark property. The hosts provided a full open bar and a lovely buffet supper with chicken wings, Swedish Meatballs and Chimichangas. The food was very tasty and nicely presented. The bartenders and servers were very congenial and efficient. The tables were covered with white linens and attractively decorated with a colorful fall theme. There was also live piano music which was most enjoyable. As the evening progressed and the cool fall air started to penetrate, fires were ignited in three open ceramic fire places situated on the sloped front lawn. This added
greatly to the comfort and ambiance of the evening. The event took place under the recently constructed pavilion situated at the waters edge. The pavilion itself is impressive and the view from this vantage point is awesome. Thanks Gene and Chris. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine C, Owner at The Lake House, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear MVH 951.

Thanks for choosing the Lake House for your overnight stay in the area. As an experienced traveler we value your comments and observations. We aren't sure why old equates to not clean but appreciate your comment about checking for fire escapes because there are two from the second floor and three from the third in addition to the hard wired fire alarm system that is remotely monitored and connected to the local 911 center. I am sure you also noticed the newly installed sprinkler system to keep our guests safe and secure while they enjoy a good night's sleep. We hope you will visit us again next time you are in the area.

Thanks,
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellows Falls
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Our Antique Car Club spent two nights here during our annual one week tour in September, this one was September 7-8th 2013.

The place looks nice and cozy on first impression, but the impression doesn't last. Being handicapped I required a downstairs room as there are no elevators.

The room I was given was large, 2 double beds and one twin, it looked pretty makeshift like it was an after thought using part of the dining room sectioned off with crude paneling.

The worst parts were : a step up of about 10" to where the beds were located, (very dangerous if you had to get up for a pee at night), semi working lights, a dark hallway to an unlighted bathroom, but worst of all no appliance for heat during outdoor temperatures of 50 degrees, and an assemblage of some kind of crawlies and bugs in the bathroom.

On checking out, I wanted to pay the bill in cash, but the proprietor said the bill had already been paid with the credit card I had given as security when making my reservation.

I requested a credit be issued to the credit card but the proprietor refused saying it would require too much paper work for him.

To their credit, I must say, the food was excellent, the waitstaff was extremely friendly and efficient.

If anything, stop there to eat, but don't overnight.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine C, Owner at The Lake House, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
The Lake House was built in 1843 and has lots of rooms-(14 bedrooms on the second and third floors); obviously there are some that are off the dining room. One of those rooms is the first floor room that this guest rented. It is well-lit and very comfortable. The rest of his group were on the other floors.

We are a seasonal establishment and generally the heat is not on until later than the first week of September. Temperatures were in the 80's in the day time and in the 60's at night- it was not in the 50's but had this guest requested heat, we would have provided it.

In addition, we would have been glad to take cash instead of a credit card from this guest. Unfortunately, when he was ready to leave and the card had been charged, he decided that he wanted to pay cash. He had already been here for two nights and was on his way from here. Just like the big chains that slide the bill under your door before you leave in the morning after your stay, his card had been charged before his departure. The time to pay cash was on arrival; not at departure.

I am disappointed to have this comment from this guest. I tried to pay special attention to him because of health issues- making sure he had what he needed for breakfast and was comfortable. It would be so much easier to take care of his needs if he had shared them with me when I saw him at dinner and at breakfast to make his stay more enjoyable than complain after the fact when there isn't anything I can do for him.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

DO NOT STAY at The Lake House! Don't let the reviews fool you. Read the bad ones, they say it all!! The second floor of the lodge was a disaster. The rooms were not cleaned when we arrived. The kitchen was horrible. There is no place to sit and eat. The furniture was so old and dirty, we actually had to bring in our own lawn chairs to sit. It smells and is very hot. You are better off pitching a tent and staying outside. The 3rd floor was much nicer & updated and it's a shame the owners, who were very nice, do not update the second floor. Again - DO NOT STAY HERE!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine C, Owner at The Lake House, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Although we try not to intrude into your space while you are here, it was hard not to notice that there were more people staying than allowed by your contract and that's why you needed to use lawn chairs. We discourage letting kids sleep on the couch or floor on blow up mattresses in common areas but try not to fuss because we want you to have a good time . It does make you feel cramped. We mainly host baseball team families who stay while their children play in Cooperstown and really enjoy seeing all of the kids playing on the lake, fishing,and using the boats. There is a large outdoor deck available to our groups, a balcony that overlooks the lake, lots of outdoor furniture and chimeneas to sit outdoors and enjoy the beautiful, starlit nights. All rooms are air conditioned and have brand new mattresses, linens and bedspreads. We have a professional cleaning crew that takes care of the rooms and they are always ready and clean when our groups arrive. We don't clean during the week, that's up to you. The Lake House is the perfect place for groups to enjoy the camaraderie of being together in a place big enough/ and reasonable enough to stay in the Cooperstown area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lake House

Address: 2521 County Highway 22, On Lake Street, Richfield Springs, NY 13439
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Richfield Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Richfield Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lake House 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lake House is a charming and historic inn located on the shores of Canadarago Lake, 15 minutes from Cooperstown. Resembling the Great Camps of the Adirondacks, it is a relaxing place for lunch/dinner on the lake and to stay while in Baseball Country. Consider the Lake House for a family reunion, corporate retreat or romantic vacation. Also available is a private lakeside cottage with dock space. Great fishing, sunsets, weekly rates. Astonishingly affordable. Check out our newest performance stage! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your The Lake House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lake House Hotel Richfield Springs
The Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel Richfield Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lake House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.