We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid unless you like being ignored, waiting too long, and paying too much for mediocre food?” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Gigi Trattoria

Gigi Trattoria
6422 Montgomery St, Rhinebeck, NY 12572-1356
845-876-1007
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 50 Restaurants in Rhinebeck
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Winthrop, Massachusetts, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Avoid unless you like being ignored, waiting too long, and paying too much for mediocre food?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This is a nice looking place right in the heart of this great little town. Their biggest problem is the service, although the food was not worth the price or the wait either- at best average.

We were told the wait for our seat would be less than ten minutes. Great news, since we didn't have a lot of time. We got seats right away at the not too crowded bar and while the bartender said hello, it still took about 15 minutes for him to take our order since he seemed to have other things on his mind than making drinks.

After another 10 minutes or so we watched the hostess give the table we finally thought we would get to another customer who just walked in. "I forgot, but there's another table I will get ready for you".

The waitress was just as bad, and by the time she came around to tell us she would be with us in a minute we had invested well over 40 minutes at this place.

Our food, an order of steamed mussels and a flat bread pizza, took forever to arrive. Neither was anything special, in fact the eggplant special pizza was an odd mixture of flavors that didn't seem to belong together.

There are at least half a dozen restaurants so close by that I could have hit them with my empty bread plate. Try any one of them and I'm sure you'll be better off.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    40
    31
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fresh Pasta!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

What a great find! The food was wonderful! My husband and I shared the spinach lasagna and I am glad we did. The portions are large. We also had a delicious salad...crunchy and topped with fresh-shaved parmesan cheese. The bread was hot and very good. Busy spot on the main street in the lovely town of Rhinebeck. Our waiter was very attentive. Overall, wonderful experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Reliable standard”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Still a reliable place for fresh locally sourced food. The skizzas are always a good option (this visit included one with chicken sausage and green beans). The scallop risotto one evening was just tremendous (in a portion that I couldn't finish - even though I really wanted to!). Easiest to get a table if you go on the early or slightly late side - reservations only for parties of 6 or more, and the wait can be long at peak times.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Relaxing and good food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

On previous visits we had sat outside, but this year it was a very cold evening so we had to settle for indoors. Food was just as great, but just prefer the outdoor seating. (We returned 2 nights later and sat outside when it was warmer.)

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainsboro, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We started with the most divine mussels. Fragrant and delicious. I had a grilled chicken on focaccia bread with gruyere, and my friend got one of their flat bread pizzas (they call them skizzas). both were wonderful. A real foodie destination. And our waiter was really helpful and sweet.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gigi Trattoria also viewed

 

Been to Gigi Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gigi Trattoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.