We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mobility Impaired, This Place Is Not For You!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rhinebeck Motel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rhinebeck
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rhinebeck Motel
Save
You added Rhinebeck Motel to your Saves list
6938 Highway 9, Rhinebeck, NY 12572   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Rhinebeck
White Plains, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Mobility Impaired, This Place Is Not For You!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

Contacted the owner prior to booking & asked if it was wheelchair accessible. Owner said yes.

When we arrived, there was a step up (not accessible if you don't have the upper body strength to get over it or if you use a motorized chair. Trying to get me over the step caused me to fall out of the chair into the room.

The room is large except the bathroom is NOT accessible with no hand rails, grab bars or shower chair.

Front office was also not accessible but the woman who takes care of the front desk was very helpful at trying to make us comfortable.

Beds did not smell clean & there were numerous areas that were quite dusty.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    2
    3
    3
    5
See reviews for
2
5
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2010

We read the reviews here and decided to go ahead a book anyway because the location was perfect and the price was right and we are not fussy. For the same money we have stayed in worse places in Kingston. The room was clean enough (i.e. not very - but not gross) and the basics were all provided: plenty of heat, hot water, towels, comfortable bed, etc. Since it was late fall and between seasons, we were the only guests and so of course it was very quiet - no clue what it would be like on a busy weekend. But it worked for us. The woman running the desk was very nice. I think if I were a single woman traveler i might not feel super secure there though - there was only a flimsy chain for a lock.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

Agreed with chitown's post:
Negatives :
* Dirty bed (sheets were clean, but stained)
* Dirty floor (saw a fingernail clipping)
* Water smelled heavily of sulfur so then the whole bathroom did. So we didn't want to shower.
* We had to air out the room because it smelled so heavily of strawberry room "freshener" but couldn't open the bathroom window because the screen was ripped.

Positives:
* Owner was friendly

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

Here's a list of the negatives
1) Dirty bed (sheets were clean, but stained)
2) Dirty floor
3) No soap in bathroon
4) Water smelled terrible
5) Location was too far outside of the city
Here's a list of the positives
1) Owner was friendly

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2008

This motel has seen better days; sadly in need of some maintenance and upgrades. We were given a cot for our room, which had springs sticking up through the top! There was dust caked on the radiators, and the room smelled of mold and mildew. Peeling paper on the walls in the bathroom, and broken screens on the windows. I didn't complain directly to the management; I'll just never stay there again. They know what condition their rooms are in, and they should have been ashamed to provide a cot in that condition to any guest.

  • Liked — They do take pets.
  • Disliked — Dirty and uncomfortable.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, KY
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2008

We were part of a touring group that stayed in May on a rainy night. The innkeepers were nice and made us fell very welcome.

  • Liked — Friendly service
  • Disliked — No pool
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2007

My boyfriend and I stayed one night at the Rhinebeck Motel. It was 9 degree's outside. Our room had no heat or hot water. After sometime we were able to get in touch with someone who told us the furnace was broken, she changed our room and said this room should have no problems. Our "new" room also had no hot water and although the base board heater made horrific loud noises all night long there was little to no heat. We attempted to contact someone at the front desk and there was no avail for the rest of the evening. The room happened to be next to a room that had a mother and two young children living there! The children were loud and crying at very early hours of the morning. I can only imagine that the children were cold, as we were. The blankets on the bed were paper thin, summer blankets. All this made for a very uncomfortable experience. We paid to have a nights sleep, hot shower and heat, very basic necessities. We received none of these things. In the morning we attempted to talk with the manager of the property. He did not want to talk with us and proceeded to yell at us and tell us he "did not care, it was our problem". We were only asking for half our money back since we managed on spending the night there we felt it only fair that they give us half for not providing the services we paid for. The manager would here nothing of it and refused to let us speak with the owner, whom the manager stated was a lawyer and he would be glad to see us in court over the matter! I as well as boy boyfriend have a very unethical taste in our mouths. We feel poorly treated and we paid for services we did not receive. Now we feel as if we deserve a full refund. All be it money will not solve the lack of caring and respect we received at the Rhinebeck Motel. The parking lot was also full of ice and near the entrance of the rooms there was ice and it could be of danger to someone not so careful. I would never recommend this place to any body and will make an effort to let people know to stay clear of the Rhinebeck Motel. We did report them to the Rhinebeck Chamber of Commerce and the New York BBB!

Was this review helpful? Yes 38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rhinebeck Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhinebeck Motel

Address: 6938 Highway 9, Rhinebeck, NY 12572
Location: United States > New York > Rhinebeck
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Rhinebeck
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Rhinebeck Hotel Rhinebeck

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rhinebeck Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.