We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little french-style restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Calico Restaurant

Calico Restaurant
6384 Mill St, Rhinebeck, NY 12572
(845) 876-2749
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 50 Restaurants in Rhinebeck
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Dessert
Sudbury, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great little french-style restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

There are only a few tables at Calico, so you will quickly get to know your fellow diners, but don't let that stop you from eating some of the best prepared food on the east coast! The bouillabaisse was perfect as well as the monkfish. Owner/operators are friendly and welcoming, and wait-staff was very attentive. We don't often eat desserts, but these are so exquisitely made that we tried a small chocolate-covered mousse cake called Mole which was expertly crafted with just the right combination of cayenne and chocolate. One of the best meals we've had in a long time.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    20
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vermont
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Warm and welcoming; charming and cozy; wonderful food; professional and courteous service; very reasonable. Of three restaurants at which we had dinner in Rhinebeck, we both agreed this was the clear gold-medal winner.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Superior Dining Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We have been coming to Rhinebeck for years, but had never dined at Calico. Big mistake! On this trip we had dinner there, and couldn't have been more pleased. The room is small, but very cozy, and the wait staff very accommodating. The restaurant is owned and operated by a husband and wife team. They are both chefs, one for appetizers and main courses, the other for the pastries. The menu is imaginative, the portions perfect, and the food superb. Everything was fresh and perfectly prepared. Breakfast, lunch, or dinner. Don't miss it!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
229 reviews 229 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Tiny place, very good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We had the table for six at the front. It is a very small restaurant and seems popular with locals. Well priced french menu. Deserts are fantastic, a lot of people stopping in just for that. Service was very good and they have a decent wine list. The chef came out to visit and we were impressed. Not many tables here, very cozy.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Local Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

We had an awesome dinner at this little French restaurant tucked away in a corner of downtown Rhinebeck. The food was exquisitely prepared, service impeccable and the deserts to die for. The highlight of the meal was the bouillabaisse I had. -- the best I have eaten outside of France. This is quite a local gem.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calico Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Calico Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Calico Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.