We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always and ever outstandinh” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Calico Restaurant

Calico Restaurant
6384 Mill St, Rhinebeck, NY 12572
(845) 876-2749
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 50 Restaurants in Rhinebeck
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Dessert
Rhinebeck, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Always and ever outstandinh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

To write a review for Calico is like writing a review of one of your children. It simply cannot be done because it is so special.

Whether you are looking for dinner or coffee and scones, this is the place to go. Everything is fantastic.

Traveler's tips include the following: make reservations in advance. The restaurant is about 25 seats and fills up quickly. For pastries, like scones, muffins, croissants, etc. go early for they sell out fast

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    20
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
rhinebeck,ny
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful things come in small packages!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

A small, intimate restaurant in the heart of the village. Everything is delicious, the Garlc Soup is incredible, the desserts are amazing! The staff is very friendly the owners warm and welcoming. Very simple surroundings, just a few tables. Prices are very reasonable. Menu selections inventive and beautifully presented. This is a very special place, favorite of many "Rhinebeckers". Must visit!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton Corners, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food, great service, wonderfully simple ambiance.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

My wife and I visited Calico restaurant in the heart of Rhinebeck, NY on a sleepy Wednesday night. We were greeted by an incredibly attentive staff and served a wonderful meal. We shared the white lentil soup and each had a delicious main course. The ambiance inside the restaurant is simple, yet cozy and warm. The walls serve as a local artist gallery with beautifully framed landscapes and still-life paintings. Overall, the dining experience was excellent and we can't wait to return.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good Food, but Atmosphere Lacking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

My husband and I had dinner at Calico on a recent trip to Rhinebeck. The staff was extremely friendly and attentive. The food was delicious. The only thing we were a bit disappointed in was the atmosphere. The tables were candlelit, but even a tablecloth would have helped take the edge off of nothing but hard surfaces. There was nothing "cozy" about this restaurant. We also sat at the table by the pastry case. Couples come to the case to choose their dessert. This felt a little close. Upon returning to Rhinebeck, with so many good restaurants in town, we would probably check out others before returning to Calico for a romantic dinner.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhinebeck, New York
1 review
“Calico Regulars”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

If you have been here, I am sure you will agree. If not, you are missing out on the best dining experience in the area. Granted, the staff could start preparing our meals as soon as we walk in the door, but we do occasionally try the specials or something different. Seating is limited, so reservations are strongly suggested. You will be greeted by one of the owners (who will later ensure that your expectations have been exceeded). The wait staff will anticipate your every need. The cost will be surprisingly low considering what you get. Save room for one of the desserts - the display case is also the menu. If you cannot easily decide (and this is likely), have one there and take one home.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calico Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Calico Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Calico Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.