We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than my Italian Mother (but don't tell her)!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Puccini Restaurante

Puccini Restaurante
22 Garden St., Rhinebeck, NY
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 52 Restaurants in Rhinebeck
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Better than my Italian Mother (but don't tell her)!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We love Puccini! We love the food which is the most authentic Italian in the county---fresh homemade mozzarella, homemade limoncello ! Who has this today?
Mary and her husband and four daughters are the real deal. My favorite dishes are the pappardelle with chunks of lobster and linguini with white clam sauce. This family provides only the best Italian food I have tasted--and I am very Italian.
And what a family they are! The ambiance,service and atmosphere make this our favorite restaurant in Rhinebeck.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    5
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
saugerties
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We dined at this restaurant a few week ago and were very disappointed. We were handed the menu as we sat down. But it took 20 minutes to get the staff to take our drink orders. Service was terrible all night. The quality of the food was below average, and the portions were very small. I can certainly understand having one poorly prepared meal , but at least 4 of 6 meals were again a disappointment. Value was also poor, this restraurant was very over priced for what you got. We will not be giving this restaurant another try. ..

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous food in a beautiful space”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Puccini's has some of the best food in Rhinebeck. It's a family run restaurant and we are always warmly greeted with a big hug from Mary and her daughters. Just writing this review I am starting to crave my favorite dish there, Chicken Francese. The Italian food is fabulous, the restaurant interior is beautiful and the limoncello is homemade. Yum....

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhinebeck, New York
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Quiet, civilized, lovely food for grownups”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Puccini's has been around for a while and sad to say, we often forget that it's there. We enjoyed a lovely dinner there several weeks ago. The food is beautifully and carefully prepared. It's delicious too! I had a traditional Caesar salad and a lovely dish of monkfish, sautéed with lemon and caper berries. It was served with an arancini (a croquette stuffed with rice and mozzarella) and broccoli. The service is friendly, the atmosphere is warm, and you can actually carry on a conversation without shouting. The complimentary limoncello completed a splendid meal.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Best Italian Restaurant in Dutchess County”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Very family run and with the care of a good friend, this restaurant in Rhinebeck is our favorite by far. Everything is wonderful, and never do you get the sense that your choice was sitting and waiting, getting very glutenous, for a server.
And they remember your name, and your cocktail of choice and the names of your kids.

But first and foremost the chef is a gem. No need to go into menu specifically, truth be told I always order the Linguini with white clam sauce, but they always get it perfectly right. and the tables are well spaced so that there is always a feeling of privacy. No one is at your elbow.

Just go. You will thank me.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Puccini Restaurante also viewed

 

Been to Puccini Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Puccini Restaurante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.