We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An online search found a gem in the country!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of the local

the local
39, West Market Street, Rhinebeck, NY 12572
845-876-2214
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 52 Restaurants in Rhinebeck
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Malvern, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“An online search found a gem in the country!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

What a delight! A tiny place just beyond the "bright lights" of Rhinebeck with a warm ambience and expert cooking from a CIA-trained chef. Local, meaning local ingredients, from the offerings of the Hudson Valley was the initial draw and the notable wine list.

A young, but knowledgeable staff with real enthusiasm for the food is always a treat -- though a tiny bit scattered in the service. This was more than overshadowed by the charm of the waiters and the maitre d'!

We ordered an assortment of appetizers to share including a rich tasting antipasto with some very good cured meats, 1/2 dozen east coast oysters with some ingenious variations on the standard mignonette and "cocktail sauce" and an amazing chicken dumpling dish with Thai overtones that I could eat every day -- really!

For my main course, i ordered the duck which was just amazing: crisp where it should be and juicy and tender underneath. So many times I've been disappointed with super chewy duck... this signature dish was worthy of that distinction

Other amazing dishes were on offer and I truly enjoyed the visually imaginative presentations. Witty and fun! Bravo!

Caveat: Considering the number of well-dressed diners at the bar, I think it's time for a bigger place!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    14
    10
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Food is good, but overbooking makes it not worth it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Though the food was good, I did not appreciate having to wait an hour beyond the reservation time for a table. There was no place to wait and, with out of town guests, I was thoroughly embarrassed. There is no excuse for overbooking, especially so if a restaurant has no way to accommodate diners waiting to be seated.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Go local at The Local”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The Local is a must when planning a visit of Rhinebeck. Wes, the Chef, selects fresh local products and then gets creative. His wife, Bryn, will show you to your table with enthusiasm. Warm and cozy atmosphere, lovely food, and very pleasant service. It's all fresh and it's all good! Just reserve in advance as Wes and Bryn's lovely place gets booked!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“So fresh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

I have eaten here multiple times at all different times of the year and the good is always amazing. The ravioli and meatloaf are favorites but every dish has been killer!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avoca
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Good Dining Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Tops in Rhinebeck. The menu is imaginative, presentation is superb and very good. Appetizers were dumplings and mussels. Steak for main. Service was attentive. Crowded even at the early 5:30 seating. Good Drinks, Good Bartender.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed the local also viewed

 

Been to the local? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage the local, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.