We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very refreshing and delicious” 4 of 5 stars
Review of J J's Gourmet

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
J J's Gourmet
1 E Market St, Red Hook, NY 12571-1410
845-758-9030
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 42 Restaurants in Red Hook
Cuisines: American, Asian, Delicatessen, Italian, Mediterranean, Café, Minority Chinese
Restaurant details
USA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Very refreshing and delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Pleasantly surprised of the freshness and unique variety of menu items. So wonderful went back the next day for lunch again. Will accomodate changes to a menu item if requested such as the bread that I wanted without a hassel. Very friendly and delicious. Second day went back for lunch and shared a sandwich my sister since they are enough for two people.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    5
    1
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NY
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Cute but rude and over priced ......”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

I'd simply say the owner must be burnt out and unhappy. The service was slow and sloppy, one sandwich simply never showed up at all. Their hearts not in it but the local pie shop and the Enchanted Cafe or Bread & Bottle actually offer many great options and are happy to have you. At J&J's hey make you feel like you are an imposition. Our local group will never go back again! Griffs or Bread Alone do a much better egg sandwich for half the price.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food, nice atmosphere - I love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I love this place! I have an office nearby and go there all the time. Nice place to hang out and people watch, or chat with friends. Bright, sunny, and the people that work there are terrific. I'm a huge fan of the gravlox sandwich. One of the best spots in Red Hook!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, New York
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Fresh Food, Lots of Choices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Just stopped in here for the first time, and I wish I had discovered it sooner! It was hard to choose something because so many of the options looked good! I finally settled on the pork belly sandwich, and it was delicious! The bread was obviously fresh and well made. The filling was generous and it came with a side of what I think were house made kettle chips. Still warm and amazing! Plus it was a huge helping of them. I also got an iced coffee and that was awesome as well. The prices weren't bad for the quality of the meal. I also got a baked good for later because they looked amazing, I wasn't as blown away as with the rest of the experience. A cute place inside, lots of places to sit. Plus there are many take out options that are quick and easy.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Delicious, staff helpful, GO!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012 via mobile

Relaxing plAce, delicious veggie burgers and salads. Staff behind counter outstanding

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed J J's Gourmet also viewed

 

Been to J J's Gourmet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage J J's Gourmet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.