We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food at great prices” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cancun's Family Mexican Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Cancun's Family Mexican Restaurant
7483 South Broadway, Red Hook, NY 12571
+1 845-835-8207
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 42 Restaurants in Red Hook
Cuisines: Mexican, American
Restaurant details
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good food at great prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Came here for a friend that was just dying for an enchilada and was not disappointed. The service staff were friendly and prompt. Nice atmosphere. Sat at the bar and had a great time, in a family friendly atmosphere. Food was fresh and everything was made to order. I recommend the guacamole!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    5
    2
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rhinebeck, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Mexican Restaurant in the area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

I live in Rhinebeck and just went to the Cancun Restaurant in Red Hook tonight. Excellent!
My wife and I have been so disappointed with the Mexican restaurant in Rhinebeck (Gaby's) .
Cancun blows that place away.
First Cancun has excellent margaritas. My wife had the blue margarita which she loved. I had the El Presidents. Great taste. And you'd need about three of Gaby's watered down margaritas to equal the potency of Cancun's El Presidente.
And the service was great...with a pleasant smile the whole time.
Five stars (or circles?) for this one, we'll definitely be back)

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, New York
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good, decent Mexican restaurant. Okay...not "knock your socks off"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

I wish Trip Advisor had a category between "average" and "very good." Perhaps the category would be simply "good." That is the most accurate description of Cancun's. With places like the Santa Fe in Tivoli and the Mexican Radio in Hudson, there is some serious Mexican style food in the area. Cancun's does not measure up to its competitors, but it is definitely better than a Taco Bell by a long shot. I would describe what they serve as very decent; and I would certainly be open to return visits. The service there is very cordial; and the food is fresh and well prepared. I left Cancun's, however, feeling that my experience there was nothing special, just another Mexican style restaurant. Overall, I would say that you would not be disappointed at Cancun's; but you may not be all that thrilled, either.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bloomington
1 review
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We came all the way from Indiana to try this restaurant. .was the best Mexican food I have ever had, can not say enough good things about the food and service, truly made us feel like we were VIP's, and the margaritas were unforgettable! !

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Connecticut
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Excellent Mexican Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

This new place in Red Hook was recommended and I am glad I tried it. The menu is basic stuff for a Mexican restaurant but everything was very good except for the salsa which is too watery to easily eat with taco chips. A straw would be better. Prices compare with other Mexican places in the area such as Gaby's in Rhinebeck. Staff is very friendly and helpful. There is a bar and seating on the right side of the place and a separate dining area on the left side that is quieter if the bar is active. Would definitely eat there again if in the area.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cancun's Family Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Cancun's Family Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cancun's Family Mexican Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.