We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“magical special place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Red Hook Country Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Red Hook Country Inn to your Saves list
The Red Hook Country Inn
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   7460 South Broadway, Red Hook, NY 12571   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Red Hook B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“magical special place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

At the last minute we needed a place to stay in the area after a triathlon. What a delight! The owners are fantastic- warm and caring people. Service is top notch -- we had a wonderful day and evening -- ending with a filling breakfast before we headed back to the city. You will feel like you stepped back in time -- where time stands still and you are in peaceful bliss.

I recommend The Red Hook Country Inn without question. I can't wait to go back.

Dont forget to check out the Hot Tub in the magic garden out back.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    40
    4
    13
    13
See reviews for
80
109
12
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Valley Stream, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Staying at The Red Hook Inn was like traveling back in time. The Inn has a beautiful old world charm to it, from the rocking chairs on the porch to the lovely Victorian living room furniture, to the dining room decorated in antiques. The gourmet breakfast omelettes cooked to order are made from eggs courtesy of the hens that reside on the grounds of the inn. The rooms are all unique, very cozy and well appointed. (There are TV's in each room if you choose to have the 21st century intrude, as well as a hot tub in the garden.) I highly recommend the gourmet dinner that is cooked to your specifications and served in the living room. You will feel completely spoiled at the end of the meal, and the food is delicious!

The owners of the Inn are very friendly, and very helpful with steering you to the wonderful sights to see in Dutchess County. They have great suggestions for area restaurants as well.

I look forward to my next visit to the Inn.

Room Tip: There are two rooms on the main level and the rest of the rooms are upstairs. If you have trouble n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Best location. Excellent owners. Incredible food.

This is the obvious choice to stay in the area. I grew up in Red Hook and felt at home at the Red Hook Country Inn. We look forward to staying there the next time we're in town.

The owners are great and provide a balance of everything you would expect for a high end bed and breakfast. We already miss the food.

Room Tip: Call ahead and let the owner know what you are looking for in regard to the type of room and they (P...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

Spent two nights at the Red Hook Inn and met two wonderful people who were destined to own and run a B&B. the inn is more than 150 years old, but wonderfully maintained and modern in all the amenities. The rooms are comfortable and cozy. That said, the best reason to go there is the food. At a bed and breakfast, you expect breakfast... But not like Nabil's, the co-owner/chef. The breakfasts were various and both of them wonderful. But as good as the breakfasts were, the dinner we had there was amazing and ranks among the top five lifetime. Call ahead and tell Nabil what you want, and he'll make it for you, and it will be better prepared than you will believe. This inn is a really nice place to stay, but it's an exceptional place to eat. The CIA itself, only a dozen miles away, could learn from Nabil.

Stayed June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canandaigua, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

My husband and I recently spent two nights at the Red Hook Country Inn. We enjoyed the freedom we had to make ourselves comfortable. Pat, the owner, had thought of everything we might need or enjoy. Pat does not hover over you and set down rules you must follow. We felt very welcome at her Inn.
The breakfasts were outstanding. Our beds were extremely comfortable. We loved our jacuzzi tub. Sitting out on the front porch in the evening was most enjoyable.

Ann

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape May, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We were so blessed to stay at the Red Hook Inn. The service was totally above and beyond what I could have ever expected. The owners were so kind and thoughtful. We had gone up to Rhinebeck for the Country Living Fair. The day before it just down poured rain all day. When Pat heard we were going over to the fair she offered to be our transportation there and back, so that we would not get stuck in the mud. Well Pat pulls out her classic Rolls Royce and drove us to the fairgrounds in style. What a great honor. She even took pictures of us inside the Rolls and emailed them to me.

The breakfast was delicious, personally cooked by the world traveled and renowned chef Nabil. On Sunday he was making a very famous egg dish and since I am not one to eat eggs he made us crepes', in the most fantastic strawberry sauce instead. The homemade muffin and fruit cup was the perfect touch to a lovely breakfast. Their staff was friendly, the room nicely decorated and the beds very comfortable.

The Inn brought a wonderful home feeling with the fireplace glowing and all the guests sitting around in the parlor discussing the day’s events. I will never forget the caring hospitality that went into making our mini vacation one to remember. Thank you so much Pat and Nabil.!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We were in Red Hook for a family member's funeral. The Red Hook Inn provided a relaxing, comfortable place for us to rest and relax. The staff was kind, compassionate and took special care to be sure our needs were met. Breakfast was delicious. We were pleased and felt quite pampered.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedHookInn, Owner at The Red Hook Country Inn, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
We are so glad we could provide you with whatever you needed during your time of sadness. We hope to see you again on a visit for happier circumstances.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Red Hook Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Hook Country Inn

Address: 7460 South Broadway, Red Hook, NY 12571
Location: United States > New York > Red Hook
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Red Hook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Red Hook Country Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
9 Room Federal Colonial built 1841. 2 Brand new First Floor Fully Accessible Rooms with roll in shower. Carriage House, an addition to the inn, has two bedrooms, fireplace, separate entrance and can accommodate pets. Second floor bedrooms are all single with private bath except for #3, a two bedroom family suite with two separate entrances but one full bath.All new triple glaze windows, living room fireplace, community dining room (accessible), newly completed back deck, great covered hot tub and outdoor screen house.Great covered front porch with ceiling fans, wicker and rockers! On site parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your The Red Hook Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Red Hook Country Hotel Red Hook

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Red Hook Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.