We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy and in need of updating” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Gaslight Inn

Gaslight Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Red Hook
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gaslight Inn
Save
You added Gaslight Inn to your Saves list
8049 Albany Post Rd, Red Hook, NY 12571   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Red Hook B&B and Inns
Acworth, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Noisy and in need of updating”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

This room was 95.00 per night. The rooms are in desperate need of updating. There were tiles missing from the bathroom floor. The walkway in front of our room was wood. Every time someone walked by the room the entire room shook. The traffic on the road was really loud. Not a good value for the money.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    3
    1
    1
    5
See reviews for
5
3
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

this place is perfect. it is so great. leraine is a wonderful pesron. i will always love it here. i highly recomend this place for any time you go away. it is absouletly perfect. very clean, good price, comfy, and perfect service. its really all you can ask for in a motel

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2010

Lovely grounds, charming rooms and comfortable beds make this country inn a real find. As does the nightly rate which is considerably less than the chain motels in New York's Rhinecliff/Rhinebeck/RedHook resort area. But the real treasure of the Gaslight Inn is Lorraine, the octogenarian proprietor who has been welcoming guests with a smile for 43 years -- and is more helpful than a GPS at giving directions. Rather than bothering with dinky street signs or confusing highway numbers, she gets you there via landmarks. ("Turn right onto the highway, right again after the fruit stand, go past the elementary school, etc., etc.") We have never found driving in a strange place less challenging. Coupled with Inn's relaxed, friendly atmosphere, should we return to the area, we wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

We stayed at the Gaslight for a weekend and enjoyed the quaint charm of the Inn and its grounds. Our daughter loved the swinging bench chair; the rooms were clean and airy; the evening view behind the Inn was wonderful. The hostess and staff were attentive and engaging. Town, great restaurants and pony riding for the kids were all nearby but not too close.....we'll be back.......

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

I found my past stay to be extremely comfortable, clean with a wonderful country atmosphere. When recently asked to verify my reservations, Lorraine was offended and insisted I didn’t trust her reply. I only called to get my room number and verify that I have one of the newer rooms which have a spacious shower and bath area. I will never recommend this Inn as long as Mrs Lorraine is on the front desk. This older lady should not be handling any of the affairs at this nice establishment.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2010

Two things count for me in an "inn" - good water pressure, and a comfortable bed. Gaslight has that in spades, and the pleasure of meeting Lorraine, smelling the country air in North Red Hook, and walking the old post road on route 56 nearby was added value. Very enjoyable overnight, with a visit to Montgomery Place.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

this is the only racist hotel ive ever seen in my life . the only hotel that needs usa driver license to check inn . so if you traveling as a tourist they wont accept your pasport . ive never been to any hotel that has been soo disrespectfull and retarded to run a bussines like this.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Red Hook hotels

Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gaslight Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaslight Inn

Address: 8049 Albany Post Rd, Red Hook, NY 12571
Location: United States > New York > Red Hook
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Red Hook
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Gaslight Hotel Red Hook

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaslight Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.