We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roadside BBQ.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tail O'The Pup

Tail O'The Pup
Sara Placid Rd, Ray Brook, NY 12977
518 891-0777
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Ray Brook
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night
Rhinebeck, New York
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Roadside BBQ.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

If you're expecting picnic tables, red and white striped canopies, a kids playground and friendly service, then you'll be pleased. Is it a little hokey and gimick-y? Yup. Is the food good? Yup. The husband had ribs with cornbread and beans. He ate all of it. I had a pulled chicken bbq sandwich, came with cole slaw and a pickle. Yum. Finished with a shared brownie sundae. Service was prompt and friendly. Not fancy, just good. I would recommend and would go back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    58
    40
    41
    68
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Picton, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not worth the price for a 'nothing-to-write-home-about' experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We thought the place would be worth trying for a unique dinner experience...not so. We should have just found a restaurant in Saranac Lake or Lake Placid and saved the drive. For the priviledge of eating from plastic plates, at old picnic tables, I was able to pay full ($$$) prices for any good family restaurant. Food was so-so for the best of our chosen meals; (eg. fries good on plate of fish and chips). My very small serving of '20-hour smoked' brisket was not tender (as suggested it would 'melt-in-my-mouth'). I think it was actually my cob of corn that must have been cooked for 20 hours, instead. Nothing other than a bit of butter to make the baked potato interesting, at least. The deal, as advertised on a road sign (seen two previous days), could not be seen on menu, nor was our server aware of such deal. No live music, as advertised in radio ads and signs.
Save the drive and you'll find better value for money in the neighbouring towns.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Horrible service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

My wife and I went to eat there tonight. We were seated then waited 25 minutes and still no service or even some one taking a drink order so we just got up and walked out.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fun place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Very cool off beat kind of place. Lots of fun for kids. Great fast food type menu, good ice cream and cold beer! Wait staff is quick and friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Arrived based upon the recommendation of a former colleague.
Seemed initially doubtful, as it's located on the main road.
But the food and service were excellent.
Recommended!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tail O'The Pup also viewed

 

Been to Tail O'The Pup? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tail O'The Pup, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.