We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tail O'The Pup

Tail O'The Pup
Sara Placid Rd, Ray Brook, NY 12977
518 891-0777
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Ray Brook
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night
Greensboro, North Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fun place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Very cool off beat kind of place. Lots of fun for kids. Great fast food type menu, good ice cream and cold beer! Wait staff is quick and friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    58
    40
    41
    68
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Arrived based upon the recommendation of a former colleague.
Seemed initially doubtful, as it's located on the main road.
But the food and service were excellent.
Recommended!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nice casual atmosphere and good ribs”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

My family and I stopped by Tail O’ the Pup BBQ on a road trip through Adirondacks. The old school diner-style restaurant is surrounded by picnic tables for outdoor dining, cute little retail lodges and stands selling ice cold beer. We ordered a platter of ribs to sample out of curiosity before heading back out and while not super impressed, we thought it was pretty good. Not a must-stop place for the ribs but the atmosphere.

More at stormypeach.com/adirondacks-part-i/

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury,CT
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good BBQ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

BBQ was good, but not the best I've had. Service was very friendly, which was a plus. And the casual outdoor seating area was great with tired kids.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Don't touch anything....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I've driven past this place 100 times, finally stopped for an early dinner. LOVED the retro-funky, 40's vibe. Wait staff very professional and friendly. Opted to eat in as it was grey & drizzly outside. I'm not very persnickety, BUT....the backs of the chairs we **filthy**, there were food splatters all over the walls...the bathroom was tiny: 2 stalls, crack in the door so people could see you, NO privacy and almost no leg room. A pee-and-get-out bathroom..better to poop in the woods than here! WTH? Food came almost instantly, but was barely warm; waffle fries were rubbery and borderline cold. BBQ was nothing special. Prices steep for the sub-par food. VERY disappointing. How hard is it to **wash** the grossness away?? and to keep food hot?? Never again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tail O'The Pup also viewed

 

Been to Tail O'The Pup? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tail O'The Pup, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.