We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad at all for the price!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Red Roof Inn to your Saves list
Red Roof Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   931 State Route 9, I-87 - The Northway - Exit 19, Queensbury, NY 12804   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Queensbury
Certificate of Excellence
Greenville, Rhode Island
1 review
“Not bad at all for the price!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We stayed at this Red Roof Inn this past week for a trip to the Lake George area. Prices were VERY affordable, especially with the AAA rate. The location is nice, given that it's right on Route 9 and access to and from Lake George and the highway is relatively easy. The room had the essentials and not much else, although nothing was really lacking. The front desk staff were all very helpful and the check-in and check-out process were very user friendly.

All in all, as long as you're okay with not having the extra frills of a more expensive hotel, this is a very good place to stay for a Lake George vacation.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are quieter due to traffic noise in the front of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Red Roof Inn, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Timothy w. Thank You for your kind words and for taking the time to write a review for our property on TripAdvisor. we are happy to here that you found value in our property and enjoyed our clean room and convenient location. We all look forward to welcoming you back again next time your travels to Queensbury .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    62
    20
    10
    3
See reviews for
93
61
24
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bohemia, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Extremely friendly front desk. Great staff always pleasant and smiling. Gave us great tips on local spots.

This hotel cannot be considered as a Five Star hotel but since it has its own microwave and refrigerator it is very comfortable for a die hard vegetarian like myself where I can cook my little meals without having to worry about people adding meat sauce and food cooked in Chicken stock and calling it vegetarian.

Lots of activities to do and is close to Lake George, only 5 miles and very clean and cozy. Perfect for a family of 3 like us.

Room Tip: Second Floor rooms are much nicer, A/C works great and brand new ACs instead of the tired ACs I had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Red Roof Inn, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Ramesh K. Thank you for taking the time and for writing such a nice review on tripadvisor for our property. we really appreciate your kind words for our hotel and for our staff that really makes us happy. its wonderful to hear that our convenient location and clean room works well for you. we all look forward to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Amherst, New York
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

We spent one night at the Red Roof Inn with our large dog- no weight limit and no extra cost.The room was nothing special which is what I expected but it was clean, comfortable and very convenient. The staff was also very friendly. It is located on route 9 which is very busy but you can walk to several restaurants and Walmart. I would stay again if in the area

Room Tip: The rooms facing the road can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Red Roof Inn, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear Christine B. Thank you for taking the time to share a review for our property. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our clean room and convenient location. we always work hard to make our all guests stay an enjoyable one and I am happy that we were able to do that. we appreciate your review and your business with us. we all look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union, KY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I am surprised by the good reviews, as I was not impressed. Maybe the rooms on the second floor are ok, but ours was terrible. Very small, and it opened up directly into the lobby! I can't believe they actually charge for this room; they really should not ever let anyone reserve the two rooms off the lobby. It was really loud as well, since we heard every person clomp up the stairs to their room. Housekeeping didn't know we were there and did not service the room the first day. When I let the front desk person know, he acted as if this were our fault in some way and like getting us clean towels was a major ordeal. The front desk clerk during the day was really friendly, which is the only reason I'm not giving this place a worse rating. It is close to a lot of convenient places, which is a plus.

Room Tip: Second floor only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Red Roof Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share a review of our inn. i am happy to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location. please accept my sincere apology. your review is greatly appreciated as it provides us with an opportunity to improve and will use them to find tune in our operation.
we are really very sorry for the inconvenience. we hope to have the opportunity to provide accommodations for you in the future and show you how your reviews were used constructively. we look forward to seeing you again soon !

Most Sincerely
Mike, p
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peekskill, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

I just had an overnight stay at this Red Roof where the staff on a busy summer night had a room available to make my weekend stay enjoyable. Location - Near Saratoga Springs, Outlet shopping, great dining right near the hotel. Dinner at the Outback Steakhouse, breakfast the next day a comfortable walk to the north of the hotel, Soft serve Ice Cream at Martha's I can't tell you how many flavors they have! Plus for those who have famlies interested in Great Escape the Park is a neighbor as well. You can't go wrong rooms are great, clean and if you need help the sta will go the extra mile.....

Room Tip: Rooms in the back not streetside are the best ... thats where I stayed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Red Roof Inn, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear, John M. Thank you for taking the time and for leaving us a nice review on TripAdvisor we really appreciate your business and kind words about the rooms and for the staff. it's wonderful to hear that our convenient location works really well for you. we look forward to hosting your next stay with us whenever you are in Queensbury.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Our family recently spent 5 days at this hotel with friends. This was our second time at this hotel and the value was very good. We had a room with 2 queen beds which was fine for the 4 of us (2 kids: 13 and 7). The room was spotless. Ask for a room on the second floor – they are quieter and there are no pets / smoking. There is a small fire pit behind the parking lot that we used in the evenings to make s’mores with the kids.
The only negatives I can say about this hotel is the lack of storage (our room only had 3 dresser drawers) and no swimming pool.
If you are looking for a fancy or deluxe hotel – this is not the place for you. If you want a clean, quiet, and affordable place to stay after spending the day at the Great Escape – this place is perfect.

Room Tip: Choose a second floor room – quieter, pet-free and smoke-free. There is no elevator though so be pre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Red Roof Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear idecor8. Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. it's wonderful to hear that you found good value and enjoyed your stay at our Red Roof Inn. Thank You for your kind words regarding our room cleanliness we rely on our guests to let us know what we are doing right and where we can improve. we will certainly use your review constructively to work to provide the best stay possible for our future guests. we look forward to seeing you here with us again next time you are in Queensbury.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Three Rivers, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We just completed a two night stay at this hotel. As always, very clean, quiet and staff helpful
and friendly. This is our third time at this red roof always a pleasure, Will be staying again in
the future. Mike takes the extra time to make you feel welcome. The fact that it is quiet is very
important to me.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Red Roof Inn, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. we always work hard to provide clean accommodations to all of our guests. we are happy that we were able to make your stay an enjoyable one. we appreciate your business Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Queensbury
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites of Lake George
0.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lake George (Queensbury)
2.9 mi away
Days Inn Queensbury / Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark
2.2 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites
Clarion Inn & Suites
#17 of 89 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 stars 302 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ramada Queensbury/Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn

Address: 931 State Route 9, I-87 - The Northway - Exit 19, Queensbury, NY 12804
Location: United States > New York > Queensbury
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Queensbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located next to Outback Steakhouse, across the street from laundromat and breakfast bakery, 1 block from WalMart and 1 mile from Great Escape Six Flags Park. We have a campfire out back along with picnic tables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Red Roof Inn, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Queensbury Hotel Queensbury
Queensbury Red Roof Inn
Red Roof Inn Lake George, NY - Queensbury

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.