We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was a hotel...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites Lake George

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites Lake George to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites Lake George
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1130 Route 9, Queensbury, NY 12804   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book a Business Package
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Queensbury
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New Paltz, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“It was a hotel...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed here on Friday, June 21 and checked out on Sunday 6/23.
Check in was a breeze and Megan at the front desk was an absolute joy. She was the one I made our reservation with by phone and she actually remembered me!
I had requested a room close to the pools and she happily accommodated which I genuinely appreciate.
However, the rooms on the first floor were recently recarpeted. The second we opened our room door, we were blasted in the face by the "new carpet" rubbery, headache inducing smell. It was over bearing and noxious. I didnt want to be difficult so I just tried to ignore it.
The room itself was disappointing. Two queen beds next to each other and a small couch with a 1/2 wall separating the beds and the couch. A small kitchen counter with a Mr. Coffee one cup on it and a tiny fridge. I was under the impression that we ordered a "suite" at country inn and "suites however, this was their " studio suite" and it was not good. Very tight space. The bathroom door can't be opened if you're standing at the counter brushing your teeth and if your kids are in the tub you can't open the door for air because it will block the tub completely and the door handle will be in their faces.
The rugs (considering they were brand new) were stained and the beds were extremely uncomfortable.

The amusement park is literally one fence away. Lake George and the village are a good 15 minute car ride away. There isn't much of anything else immediately nearby, an ice cream shop with a line 3 miles long across the street.

All in all I wasn't impressed with the hotel or the rooms. The staff I would like to reiterate was amazing, but the hotel was not.
The outdoor pool was clean, warm, uncrowded. The indoor pool was heavily chlorinated to the point of choking, very warm and very slimy. Also, not very clean.

To sum up our experience, if you just need a place to sleep and aren't traveling with young children this hotel would be fine. However, if you're looking for more than a bed, dresser and toilet, I would shop around. It's a nice property, but it's lacking a lot.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeaIsland123, Director of Sales at Country Inn & Suites Lake George, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I apologize that our suite fell short of your expectations. We look forward to your next stay.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    71
    21
    7
    5
See reviews for
162
45
6
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Charlestown, New Hampshire, Usa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Don't be fooled by bells and whistles, THIS is the hotel if you're hitting Great Escape or the Lake George area overnight. The hotel itself is outstanding: nice heated indoor pool and spa, good fitness center, outdoor pool, "game room" (a claw machine, pinball machine, video game and "stacker" skill game), and a swing set. The rooms are excellent, the free breakfast is better than most restaurants at which we've eaten, and the hotel staff is second to none. Rates are great (we recommend joining "club Carlson" to get extras), and all-in-all you cannot beat the experience you will have here.

Room Tip: If you want to be right near the indoor pool, try room 114...and join Club Carlson to get extra bene...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeaIsland123, Director of Sales at Country Inn & Suites Lake George, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your next stay.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

after hiking up prospect mountian on a very hot day we just wanted to check in an relax a little . being a club member we were upgraded to a suite just like other guests have which was geat lots of room with seperate bedroom an living space. temp in room 312 was 76 so i turned on the AC an we went out to dinner and a walk around lake george. arrived back at room about 8:00pm and temp. was still 76 AC was not working. went down to front desk , was told matenance was not there so the girl working said she would find me another room. so she moved us out of the suite an in to a room with a hot tub an the AC already on .so lost the suite but gained the hot tub an AC so all in all a good deal after hiking a mountian . everthing else was great about the hotel , would highly recommend this hotel very clean, bed very comfy , good breakfast an very close to the amusment park.

Room Tip: don't get room 312 until AC GETS FIXED .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeaIsland123, Director of Sales at Country Inn & Suites Lake George, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay. But, we apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with the air conditioner in your room. We look forward to your next stay.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

We arrived to a most pleasant greeting and a well lit lobby with hot coffee and warm cookies. You can always tell when the employees like their job and that seemed obvious to me. There was a really good energy about the place. Room was nice and comfy as was the bed. Pool and hot tub exceptionally clean and well attended. Nice breakfast and a separate room if you want a quieter morning time. I would
actually love to go back and have more time to explore the area!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeaIsland123, Director of Sales at Country Inn & Suites Lake George, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our staff as well as our breakfast during your stay. We look forward to your next stay.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Two nights of great sleep for someone who struggles with that. Don't know why. Maybe great beds, great AC/heating system, don't know. Just know it was great. Very nice suite and very nice breakfast.. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeaIsland123, Director of Sales at Country Inn & Suites Lake George, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our beds. We look forward to your next stay.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glens Falls, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I was in aww the moment I entered the beautiful foyer with fire lit, very warm and inviting the moment you walked thru the door. Always cofee available. The room was awesome and so clean. What really grabbed me was the array of variety offered at breakfast......... not your standard continental breakfast. Fresh waffles, Strawberries, Tortilla wraps, fresh fruits, cereals, eggs & sausage. Just to name a few. Amazing Amazing.............. and Staff was phenomenal. Plentiful supply of towels at the pool and spa tub area. Which was very clean and well maintained. An exercise room, and a game room.......... which the kids loved.
Without a doubt we will be staying there again. :-)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeaIsland123, Director of Sales at Country Inn & Suites Lake George, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your next stay.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I had an excellent experience from check-in to check-out. Upon check-in there were fresh baked cookies and complimentary coffee and tea. I received a complimentary upgrade, which is always nice. The room was clean and very comfortable. There were new carpets throughout the room and flat screen TVs in the bedroom. The fitness center looks completely new, with really nice treadmills that come equip with an iPod hookup. The front desk staff was so accommodating. They always greeted me with a smile and helped me look up directions to a couple local area attractions. I couldn’t have asked for more!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeaIsland123, Director of Sales at Country Inn & Suites Lake George, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our fitness center and breakfast. We look forward to your next stay.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites Lake George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites Lake George

Address: 1130 Route 9, Queensbury, NY 12804
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queensbury
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Queensbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites Lake George 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right next door to the entrance of the Six Flags Great Escpae! The Wakita Motel offers clean, comfortable accomodations at a reasonable price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites Lake George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Queensbury
Country Inn & Suites Queensbury Hotel Queensbury
Country Inn Queensbury
Queensbury Country Inn
Country Inn & Suites Lake George NY - Queensbury

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites Lake George, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.