We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Vacation!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark

Save Saved
You added Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   89 Six Flags Dr, Queensbury, NY 12804   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Buy 3 Nights Get 4th Free
Ranked #4 of 11 hotels in Queensbury
New Jersey
1 review
“Great Vacation!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2009

I went for the buy 2 nights get 1 night free and it was worth every penny. Check-in was a breeze; staff were friendly and very helpful. The room was very clean and so was the rest of the lodge. The indoor waterpark is awesome and it's open until 10:00PM, I couldn't get my kids to leave. We will be staying here again at least once a year if not more. After showing some friends our video footage they are all interested in staying as well. Kudos to the Great Escape Lodge and all of its staff.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    248
    284
    141
    84
    69
See reviews for
660
18
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2009

This was our 2nd stay at the lodge. Our kids LOVE it there! You can literally park your car and stay inside for 2 days (or more!) and not get bored. There's great rooms that are clean, a great waterpark and 2 restaurants. Also there's an arcade. Yes, that is a little expensive but we let our kids go in there at the end of the stay as a way to get them out of the waterpark and a way to end the trip. There are characters such as Sylvester and Tweety walking around once in a while. Usually in the great, large and beautiful lobby. There are activities for kids, like arts and crafts but our kids just wanted the waterpark. A lot of other attractions are close by like Six Flags, mini golf, a drive in movie theater and shopping. I suppose it would be considered a little expensive, but every vacation is. Our kids as well as us! love it there and intend to make it an annual destination.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessup, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2009

We just returned from a 3 night stay at this hotel, got a buy 2 get 1 night free stay which made the rate a little more reasonable, although still high. But I checked rates in the area and it seemed comparable but offered so much more in the way of entertainment without having to leave the area and spend more money. I was right, we thoroughly enjoyed our entire stay. Very conveneint to Six Flags Great Escape Park; doesn't get any better than right across the street with a bridge to cross over to it! The hotel itself was very nice, comfortable, clean, staff very nice and friendly, cute Luney Tunes characters walking around and meet and greet (even dancing!) times throughout out entire stay. Nice to have a fridge, microwave and safe available in the room at no extra charge as well as a separate living room-like part with couch and table and chairs. We spent many hours at the water park; 1 slide was working first day we were there but was broken for the rest of the days. I understand not wanting to fix it over a week-end, but we left on Tues. and still not working. ALL aspects of the water park should be in working order for what they charge!
The only complaint I can think of was the amount of garbage left in the parking lot in the mornings, like empty beer case boxes, cups and bags from fast food places, etc. We could not figure out why/how this would be occuring? People are real slobs, but I think more security on the premises would help elimiate this, it's something we've never seen before in a hotel parking lot and were suprised to see this at what we would consider an upscale hotel. A plain pool would be nice and we did miss having internet access via a business center .
But we had a great time and DO plan on returning to this hotel if we get a good rate deal again! The Lake George area is one of the most enjoyable vacations we've had ever!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2009

When we first arrived to the Six Flags Lodge, the experience was great. The hotel check-in was easy. The staff was very helpful.

When we arrived to the room, the room did have a smell in it. It smelled like the gas dryer venting into our room. We also put the air conditioner on full power as it was very hot in the room.

We went to explore the hotel and eat some dinner. When we returned to the room, we noticed the air conditioner was still not cooling down the room. We called the front desk and asked for a room change (Due to the A/C problem and the smell). They explained to us the hotel was at 100% occupancy and there was no other rooms. So the maintenance tech came to look at the A/C. To make a long story short, after two tries he couldn't fix it. We had no other option but to leave the hotel for the night.

We stayed at a nearby resort and dealt with the problem in the morning.

When we arrived back at the resort the following morning, we were told to pack our bags and we'd have a new room later that day.

We then spent the day at the nearby Great Escape Park (I'll provide more details below). Around 2PM, I received a call that I was staying in my room but with a new A/C unit. I was a little skeptical at this point but wanted to see what happens.

When I returned back to the Lodge, our bags were in the room and the room was nice and cool. However, the smell in the room was still there. We just dealt with it.

Additional comments - The staff was great at the resort. My kids did several of the activities throughout the resort. The milk and cookie delivery at the end of the night is nice as well. Also - not bad for $10.

The nearby Great Escape is smaller than your average Six Flags Park. It does have several kids and family rides. It does not have your thriller rides as you would see at a Six Flags Park. You should be able to complete the park (excluding the outdoor water park) in one day.

There is also a Johnny Rocket's on the property. We had Breakfast and Dinner at the restaurant. We were always arriving late for Breakfast. At 10AM, we needed to wait a hallf hour. My advise is to call ahead and find out the wait. There isn't many chairs to wait in the lobby. There is also $1 games outside the restaurant and the kids get board so the only solution is the $1 games.

All in all, the trip was good. The staff is great! We had a good time once we were settled in and cool in the room.

We would stay there in the future if our plans were to Lake George.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2009

After searching all around on the internet for a hotel, I chose the Great Escape lodge due to it being the best deal for your money. I would recommend it as long as you are not looking for a quite sleeping hotel. Due to all the families there, there is a lot of banging (not sure what it ever was) but you couyld hear it off and on throughout the night up until 10PM. I keep thinking it was kids being kids. Otherwise it was great! Especially since my 2 yr. old didn't let us sleep always through the night anyway.
My wife, 2 yr. old and I went on a 3 night 4 day vacation to the Lake George area. The hotel is fantastic for convenience. The regular suite was small compared to many suites I have stayed at but it was good overall. It had all the amenities (e.g., microwave,refrig, hair dryer) but the bathroom lacked a vanity and sink area. The vanity and sink area was outside the bathroom. I really hate when hotels do that. Services were very friendly and fast. The rooms were clean, too.
If you plan on going to the Great Escape Theme park do not buy parking passes since you can walk right from the hotel. I bought a preferred parking pass for 1 day and the rest of the time we just walked to the park. Don't waste your money for parking since you are so close.
The hotel is very family oriented with many visits from the looney toon characters in the lobby and throughout the day. It is great for the kids. There is a waterpark attached to the hotel so this is great if it rains and you need something to do. The park is pretty clean and the life guards were good. However, use common sense becuase it is clear the lifeguards do not always anticipate a problem since I saw many kids doing things that could be considered unsafe until the lifeguard saw them and blew the whistle. Basicaly, the lifgegaurds seem to be doing their best but don't rely on them to say you can't do something since they may not see everything going on. My little one had a fantastic time at the water parkand so did we.
The Johnny Rockets on site restaurant is alright but it is a grease pit..the milk shakes were great. Everything is in driving distance and very easy to get to in minutes. There is a Wal-Mart and Price Chopper just minutes down on Rte 9 South along with Panera Bread, Olive Garden, Red Loster and some other places to eat. If you go up Rte 9 North you have the outlet clothing stores, Magic Forest (small theme park for little kids..it is very very old), and many other places to eat. Lake George is only 3 miles from your hotel and easy to get to since you just take Rte 9 North. Just remember to take quarters to Lake George for parking since many of the hotel and business owners were uncooperative by not giving out change to people. The bars were much more friendly in doing this service. The meters ONLY take quarters, too...15 minutes for 1 quarter. A little outrageous.
Overall, it's a great place to stay. I give it a 4.25 out of 5 due to the constant banging and sounds throughout the night at the hotel. It is not very conducive towards your sleeping. Go to bed late and it should be fine.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeport, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2009

If you have kids, it good. I don't know because that Six Flags is in Chapter 11 but the workers there are not happy. Some of them was willing to voice their unhappiness about work at Great Escape. The waterpark area especially - checking in the have the luggage racks locked up so you have to wait for someone or somebody to get the key and open the locked room. No face cloths and limited towels - not what you would expect for $308 nightly....

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2009

I found the overall value of this stay to be very good as we got a buy 2 get 1 night free. with tax it averaged out to only $160 per night. The indoor waterpark was great, you would have to see it to believe it. I'm not sure how much I would want to be in there in the middle of the summer however. When we got to our room, it was small for 4 people and the coffee pot was dirty. My sister and her kids stayed across the hall in one of the suites and we noticed a sticky spill of some sort on the kitchenette floor. The comforters on the bed seemed a bit musty. We always remove them at any hotel that doesnt claim to wash them in between stayers. The water pressure in the showers were horrible. The guest service was great, we forgot toothpaste and the front desk sent us up some..even though the gift shop worker told us that the front desk doesnt give out free toothpaste...she was looking for an extra buck. Johny Rockets was super and very affordable. The arcade was however a money pit. If you have kids you should plan your stay around avoiding it...what a nightmare. The snack bar in the waterpark was a bit pricey too, a small slice of doughy pizza goes for 2.99 plus tax. The restaurant in the lobby was ok. A very small menu with average prices. The food was mediocre. There were loony tunes mascots roving the property which was great for small kids. We notices a large banquet facility where we believe there was a wedding taking place. Lake George is right down the road.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark

Address: 89 Six Flags Dr, Queensbury, NY 12804
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queensbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Queensbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ready for a fun-filled stay in the Lake George area you'll never forget? The Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Water Park is a 200-room family suite lodge near Lake George, a resort featuring an incredible 38,000 sq ft indoor water park with attractions designed to make every age group smile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
6 Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark
Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark Hotel Queensbury
Six Flags Great Escape Lodge And Indoor Waterpark
Great Escape Lodge
Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark Lake George, NY - Queensbury

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.