We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“$216 for a few hours of waterslides . . . you can do better” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark to your Saves list
Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   89 Six Flags Dr, Queensbury, NY 12804   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Buy 2, $125 Gift for You
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Queensbury
Greensburg, PA
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“$216 for a few hours of waterslides . . . you can do better”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We just went to the indoor waterpark and for two adults and two kids, entrance fee was almost $180, plus $20 to park, plus $16 for a locker. I was actually SHOCKED the towels were free. Don't get me wrong - it's a nice little park, but it is not big enough or nice enough to warrant those prices. They only had two larger water slides (the ones you use tubes with) and only three smaller ones plus a lazy river and surfing thing. It would be a great amenity for those staying in the hotel (is it free for them - hopefully!) but I don't recommend going otherwise. I really have never felt so fleeced in my life - but what do you do when you're standing at the entrance with two little kids!?!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

941 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    324
    157
    92
    72
See reviews for
762
21
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rutland, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

We stayed here from August 10-13th, we made reservation the week prior through the actual resort.. My self, husband and two boys ages 19 and 15 went. We paid about $300 a night, including tax but that included the indoor waterpark at the hotel (which I was told by an employee is about $44 day if you come for the day), in addition to Six Flags and Splash Kingdom. Also, as I was talking to someone at Six Flags and she said she paid $240 for 2 adults and 3 kids for the day at Six Flags, plus I believe that parking is about $20. We actually walked right to the park it was great and so easy. The park and hotel didn't seem to be that busy at all. The indoor water park was fun and both my boys very much enjoyed it. The day we checked out it was pouring so there were a lot of people using the indoor waterpark that were not staying at the hotel. The hotel itself was nicely decorated and had a lot for little kids to do as well. We also purchased drink mugs for $9.99 a person and these could be refilled every 30 minutes and the drink selection was huge. Six Flags is very strict about bringing in food and snacks so this mug you are able to bring in, for an upcharge of $5 at the park you can get it filled there as well, but if you fill up before it could last half the day perhaps. Drinks are very expensive in the park otherwise $3 for water and $3.50 for Gatorade, crazy! Anyway we did not eat in the park as we were not there a lot. I do have to say I am a huge Disney fan, with that said the park could use updating as well as the waterpark. But I am just reviewing the hotel. The restaurant that we ate at one night late was Tall Tales and was delicious, my kids ordered buffalo wings and ribs, they ate everything. Also, for dessert was an Almond Cone, it was cheesecake in an almond cone shape, it was delicious. One thing I was a bit disappointed about was the café in the lobby for breakfast was not good, We had a plain croissant and a chocolate croissant and a blueberry muffin. The croissants were stale. I did tell the main desk because I saw them at the end of breakfast one day wrap it and put it in the fridge to sell the next day. I am not sure if the desk staff even told anyone, she said she was going too. But otherwise the rooms were very clean, comfortable, and very roomy. I booked a room with 2 Queens and it had a sofa that pulled out in a separate area that my 15yr took over as his own room. There is also an arcade on property that we all had fun at. There is also a Johnny Rockets that has its burgers and fries but it also serves breakfast as well. I would definitely recommend this hotel for families!

Room Tip: If you have young kids ask to be where the rooms are near the decorated halls, the kids would enjoy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SFGuestRelations, General Manager at Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear meandmy3boys,

Thank you for your wonderful and detailed comment, I am thrilled that you found a good value in our resort package which includes access to our indoor water park and tickets to the Great Escape theme park. I am extremely thrilled that you and your family enjoyed your stay here with us and we absolutely look forward to having you stay with us again!

Most Sincerely,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

We stayed at the SFGEL with our 5 month old son. He was completely in love with the water park and have a fabulous time splashing around. We truly loved the fact that there was a specific section for little kids his size.

Our room was great and quiet, which is a big plus with a small baby. Not one peep was heard from the hallway or rooms around ours. This was the biggest plus of our stay.

Now that bad. The food at the restaurants left a lot to be desired. As a matter of fact, we left the Tall Tales Tavern and went to Johnny Rockets to get better food. The watermark grill was to be expected, with a big plus of BEER! But all in all, food wasn't so good.

However, we'd still go back as its a great trip when the weather is bad.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SFGuestRelations, General Manager at Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear TammyHilfiger,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience hear on TripAdvisor. I am thrilled that you found value in your stay especially the great experience your son had at the indoor water park. We do rely on our guests to let us know what we are doing right as well as things we can improve on. We will certainly use your review constructively and explore different menu options. We look forward to having you here with us again the next time you are in the area!

Most Sincerely,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

This wasn't my first choice for a hotel in this area but since the room came with Great Escape tickets, water park tix and free parking, we decided to stay here. For $30 more we booked a traditional Premium Suite, which was renovated. The room was spacious and clean. It was very quiet and peaceful night of comfortable sleep. My one disappointment was the complimentary breakfast. The room was tiny and hard to maneuver with more than 4 people in there. They only had eggs, sausages, cereal, yogurt and beverages. We stayed at worse hotels with better breakfast.

My kids had fun at the water park. There are three big, high tube rides, a lazy River, a large water type playground with the enormous water bucket, a surfing ride (very hard) and a small area for little children. It seemed smaller than Great Wolf but not as crowded. I did appreciate the people that work there though. They kept their eyes on the kids and they blew the whistle and spoke to the people that were not following the rules. I went to other parks where it was mayhem.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SFGuestRelations, General Manager at Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Google Translation
Je suis très heureux que vous avez apprécié votre séjour ici avec nous. Merci pour la revue et nous nous réjouissons de votre prochaine visite!

sincèrement,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Our son is working a temporary job in the Ft. Edward, NY area...We wanted to get his 9 year old daughter up to see him for a week-end since he won't be home until December......Totally enjoyed the trip......We felt his would keep a 9 year old occupied and we weren't wrong.....Between the water park and Six Flags we filled our time with wonderful things to do. Breakfast was included in the package we purchased and the buffet was great. Food was very good and plentiful.

Would do it all over again!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SFGuestRelations, General Manager at Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Frank O,

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! I am thrilled to hear that all of the activities and facilities we offer are sure to keep guests of all ages satisfied and happy. I'm also glad to hear you enjoyed the breakfast package included with your stay which is a great perk available to add on to any reservation! Thank you for your kind review and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon for your next visit!

Most Sincerely,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Not much for little ones (2 and under to do at the hotel) and indoor water park . Good for children that are older. buying the breakfast buffet as an extra was well worth the money to eat there. The park itself is a little bit of a walk from the hotel and inside the park is alot of up and down hills so if you have small kids in strollers ..you will be tired of pushing them. Park food is expensive and feel they should have more rides.We did have fun but also

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SFGuestRelations, General Manager at Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear ybnormal75,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is always beneficial to hear from our guests and recieve their valuable feedback, especially when it comes to our guests satisfaction. I am glad that you pointed out the perks of the indoor water park! The waterpark is one of our biggest attractions here at the lodge and we take great pride in maintaining its appeal to our guests of all ages. Thank you for your review, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Most Sincerely,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

I was not expecting much after sifting through a bunch of the reviews on here, but I was pleasantly surprised! It was clean, service was friendly, the waterpark was fun for the kids. No complaints. Maybe it helped that I wasn't expecting to be impressed, but my family had a great time.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SFGuestRelations, General Manager at Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Luvlie29,

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is truly a compliment to hear when our staff and facilities have exceeded a guests expectations and I am thrilled that we suceeded again with your experience. Thank you for your review and we look forward to having you stay with us again!

Most Sincerely,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark

Address: 89 Six Flags Dr, Queensbury, NY 12804
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queensbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Queensbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ready for a fun-filled stay in the Lake George area you'll never forget? The Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Water Park is a 200-room family suite lodge near Lake George, a resort featuring an incredible 38,000 sq ft indoor water park with attractions designed to make every age group smile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Six Flags Great Escape Lodge And Indoor Waterpark
6 Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark
Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark Hotel Queensbury
Great Escape Lodge
Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark Lake George, NY - Queensbury

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.