We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lodge, great for families” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark to your Saves list
Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   89 Six Flags Dr, Queensbury, NY 12804   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Queensbury
Rutland, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great lodge, great for families”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

We stayed here from August 10-13th, we made reservation the week prior through the actual resort.. My self, husband and two boys ages 19 and 15 went. We paid about $300 a night, including tax but that included the indoor waterpark at the hotel (which I was told by an employee is about $44 day if you come for the day), in addition to Six Flags and Splash Kingdom. Also, as I was talking to someone at Six Flags and she said she paid $240 for 2 adults and 3 kids for the day at Six Flags, plus I believe that parking is about $20. We actually walked right to the park it was great and so easy. The park and hotel didn't seem to be that busy at all. The indoor water park was fun and both my boys very much enjoyed it. The day we checked out it was pouring so there were a lot of people using the indoor waterpark that were not staying at the hotel. The hotel itself was nicely decorated and had a lot for little kids to do as well. We also purchased drink mugs for $9.99 a person and these could be refilled every 30 minutes and the drink selection was huge. Six Flags is very strict about bringing in food and snacks so this mug you are able to bring in, for an upcharge of $5 at the park you can get it filled there as well, but if you fill up before it could last half the day perhaps. Drinks are very expensive in the park otherwise $3 for water and $3.50 for Gatorade, crazy! Anyway we did not eat in the park as we were not there a lot. I do have to say I am a huge Disney fan, with that said the park could use updating as well as the waterpark. But I am just reviewing the hotel. The restaurant that we ate at one night late was Tall Tales and was delicious, my kids ordered buffalo wings and ribs, they ate everything. Also, for dessert was an Almond Cone, it was cheesecake in an almond cone shape, it was delicious. One thing I was a bit disappointed about was the café in the lobby for breakfast was not good, We had a plain croissant and a chocolate croissant and a blueberry muffin. The croissants were stale. I did tell the main desk because I saw them at the end of breakfast one day wrap it and put it in the fridge to sell the next day. I am not sure if the desk staff even told anyone, she said she was going too. But otherwise the rooms were very clean, comfortable, and very roomy. I booked a room with 2 Queens and it had a sofa that pulled out in a separate area that my 15yr took over as his own room. There is also an arcade on property that we all had fun at. There is also a Johnny Rockets that has its burgers and fries but it also serves breakfast as well. I would definitely recommend this hotel for families!

Room Tip: If you have young kids ask to be where the rooms are near the decorated halls, the kids would enjoy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SFGuestRelations, General Manager at Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, October 28, 2014
Dear meandmy3boys,

Thank you for your wonderful and detailed comment, I am thrilled that you found a good value in our resort package which includes access to our indoor water park and tickets to the Great Escape theme park. I am extremely thrilled that you and your family enjoyed your stay here with us and we absolutely look forward to having you stay with us again!

Most Sincerely,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

958 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    330
    159
    96
    72
See reviews for
775
22
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

We stayed at the SFGEL with our 5 month old son. He was completely in love with the water park and have a fabulous time splashing around. We truly loved the fact that there was a specific section for little kids his size.

Our room was great and quiet, which is a big plus with a small baby. Not one peep was heard from the hallway or rooms around ours. This was the biggest plus of our stay.

Now that bad. The food at the restaurants left a lot to be desired. As a matter of fact, we left the Tall Tales Tavern and went to Johnny Rockets to get better food. The watermark grill was to be expected, with a big plus of BEER! But all in all, food wasn't so good.

However, we'd still go back as its a great trip when the weather is bad.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SFGuestRelations, General Manager at Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, October 28, 2014
Dear TammyHilfiger,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience hear on TripAdvisor. I am thrilled that you found value in your stay especially the great experience your son had at the indoor water park. We do rely on our guests to let us know what we are doing right as well as things we can improve on. We will certainly use your review constructively and explore different menu options. We look forward to having you here with us again the next time you are in the area!

Most Sincerely,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

This wasn't my first choice for a hotel in this area but since the room came with Great Escape tickets, water park tix and free parking, we decided to stay here. For $30 more we booked a traditional Premium Suite, which was renovated. The room was spacious and clean. It was very quiet and peaceful night of comfortable sleep. My one disappointment was the complimentary breakfast. The room was tiny and hard to maneuver with more than 4 people in there. They only had eggs, sausages, cereal, yogurt and beverages. We stayed at worse hotels with better breakfast.

My kids had fun at the water park. There are three big, high tube rides, a lazy River, a large water type playground with the enormous water bucket, a surfing ride (very hard) and a small area for little children. It seemed smaller than Great Wolf but not as crowded. I did appreciate the people that work there though. They kept their eyes on the kids and they blew the whistle and spoke to the people that were not following the rules. I went to other parks where it was mayhem.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SFGuestRelations, General Manager at Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, October 27, 2014
Google Translation
Je suis très heureux que vous avez apprécié votre séjour ici avec nous. Merci pour la revue et nous nous réjouissons de votre prochaine visite!

sincèrement,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Our son is working a temporary job in the Ft. Edward, NY area...We wanted to get his 9 year old daughter up to see him for a week-end since he won't be home until December......Totally enjoyed the trip......We felt his would keep a 9 year old occupied and we weren't wrong.....Between the water park and Six Flags we filled our time with wonderful things to do. Breakfast was included in the package we purchased and the buffet was great. Food was very good and plentiful.

Would do it all over again!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SFGuestRelations, General Manager at Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, October 27, 2014
Dear Frank O,

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! I am thrilled to hear that all of the activities and facilities we offer are sure to keep guests of all ages satisfied and happy. I'm also glad to hear you enjoyed the breakfast package included with your stay which is a great perk available to add on to any reservation! Thank you for your kind review and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon for your next visit!

Most Sincerely,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Not much for little ones (2 and under to do at the hotel) and indoor water park . Good for children that are older. buying the breakfast buffet as an extra was well worth the money to eat there. The park itself is a little bit of a walk from the hotel and inside the park is alot of up and down hills so if you have small kids in strollers ..you will be tired of pushing them. Park food is expensive and feel they should have more rides.We did have fun but also

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SFGuestRelations, General Manager at Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, October 27, 2014
Dear ybnormal75,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is always beneficial to hear from our guests and recieve their valuable feedback, especially when it comes to our guests satisfaction. I am glad that you pointed out the perks of the indoor water park! The waterpark is one of our biggest attractions here at the lodge and we take great pride in maintaining its appeal to our guests of all ages. Thank you for your review, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Most Sincerely,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

I was not expecting much after sifting through a bunch of the reviews on here, but I was pleasantly surprised! It was clean, service was friendly, the waterpark was fun for the kids. No complaints. Maybe it helped that I wasn't expecting to be impressed, but my family had a great time.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SFGuestRelations, General Manager at Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, October 27, 2014
Dear Luvlie29,

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is truly a compliment to hear when our staff and facilities have exceeded a guests expectations and I am thrilled that we suceeded again with your experience. Thank you for your review and we look forward to having you stay with us again!

Most Sincerely,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

My grandchildren loved the Six Flags lodge. The 3 year old was too young, and too small, for most things but she's just happy running around and she loved the kids club and the characters like Scooby Doo and story time and the movies.

But the 5 year old loved everything and was able to go on everything in the indoor water park. She also loved the kids club and Scooby Doo.
The only minus was the restaurants. We have several allergies in our family nut, gluten and dairy and they were unable to accomodate us. The operator who booked us said that there wouldn't be a problem.
We also did a lot of things in the area - mini golf, go karting, white water rafting, went to concerts, had a picnic at the beach, etc. It was a great vacation.

Room Tip: The housekeeping staff was wonderful. The beds were a little soft for me, but I was so exhausted at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SFGuestRelations, General Manager at Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, October 27, 2014
Dear Iona R,

We appreciate you taking the time to leave us such a nice review! I am beyond thrilled that your 5 year old had such an amazing time with Scooby Doo and Kids Clubs and enjoyed the indoor water park as well. It is such a great compliment to hear that guests of all ages enjoy their time hear at the lodge. I also want to thank you for your comment on the food options in our restaurants when it comes to alergies and gluten free items. It is essential that we have a food option for everyone and we will take that into consideration as our food options and menus progress. Thank you for your review and we look forward to having you back at our resort!

Most Sincerely,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark

Address: 89 Six Flags Dr, Queensbury, NY 12804
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queensbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Queensbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ready for a fun-filled stay in the Lake George area you'll never forget? The Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Water Park is a 200-room family suite lodge near Lake George, a resort featuring an incredible 38,000 sq ft indoor water park with attractions designed to make every age group smile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
6 Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark
Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark Hotel Queensbury
Six Flags Great Escape Lodge And Indoor Waterpark
Great Escape Lodge
Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark Lake George, NY - Queensbury

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.