We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kids Were Happy but Parents See Needed Improvements.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark to your Saves list
Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   89 Six Flags Dr, Queensbury, NY 12804   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Buy 2, $125 Gift for You
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Queensbury
Rensselaer Falls, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Kids Were Happy but Parents See Needed Improvements.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Check-in went smoothly to our queen/kid bunk bed room. The room was spacious, our boys loved their area but the lighting was dark ... Especially in the bathroom. The kids enjoyed the convenience of the indoor water park where lifeguards were in great numbers. Smiles from staff members were rare ... no one telling us to enjoy our stay with the exception of the older gentleman giving out towels and a red-head lifeguard who looked like she actually enjoyed her job. We were disappointed that our room was never cleaned after our first night. We returned late ... after Housekeeping hours so we searched out a staff member who had dead us 4 extra towels. The memory foam mattresses were comfy but the loud footsteps until 11pm on the floor above us kept me awake. Quiet hours should start well before 11pm. I saw many unaccompanied minors, under 13, gallivanting throughout the hotel late into the evening. Perhaps some stricter guidelines should be put in place. Waterpark was clean but restrooms in that area by noon were disgusting. Check out was once again smooth however we were never asked how our stay was. Hmmmm, are you afraid to ask? We are a family who expects quality for our money. If you're going to charge the price of a value Disney resort, provide the same quality as one.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SFGuestRelations, General Manager at Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, October 8, 2014
Dear Sarah P

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I sincerely apologize that your stay with us was not fully satisfying and I do appreciate you sharing your concerns and feedback with us. Thank you for letting us know about the dark lighting, the noise inconvenience, any housekeeping issues and other concerns. We will definitely take your comment into consideration as we always try to improve our guests quality experience through better training of our staff. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to serving your future lodging needs.

Sincerely,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

956 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    330
    159
    95
    72
See reviews for
774
22
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Islip, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

My kids were begging me to take them to great wolf. When I checked out the price I just wasn't ready to pay $500 per night. That's when I found Great Escape Lodge. The hotel was clean and spacious. The water park was big enough, clean and safe. The staff was trained to make sure guests adhered to the rules which was at times a little overboard but I didn't mind because I always felt my kids were safe.
The amusement park was walking distance from the hotel and it was also clean and not too crowded
The hotel had a Johnny rockets which was great for the kids. The staff at the hotel was kind and helpful
Overall, this was a really great place for a family trip. We were pleased with everything at this hotel.
I just wanted to note that we did stay on the 4th floor which was their newer rooms. They were quiet comfy and updates. Friends stayed on the 3rd floor which were not as updated as ours but still quite nice. I've read some bad reviews regarding the rooms being noisy and outdated. If you request a room on the 3rd or 4th floor you will be fine.
This was a great family vacation

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SFGuestRelations, General Manager at Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, October 8, 2014
Dear chrisandmikey,

We appreciate you taking the time to leave us such a nice review! Our staff members do take pride in providing a flawless and clean experience for our guests and I'm so glad to hear that you enjoyed a great family vacation at our resort! Also, thank you for pointing out the great quality job our staff has done to ensure our guests safety, reviews like this are the best that we can get! Once again thank you for sharing your experiences with us and your comments were a great way to let us know we are doing a good job. Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back for your next stay!

Sincerely,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manlius, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Clean, but somewhat antiseptic-smelling rooms. Park (included in our package) was a bit run down, but still fun. Johnny Rockets (attached and included in package for breakfast) was OK, but a predictable quality breakfast for a hamburger joint. Families with teenagers feel a bit out of place. Indoor water park was well run, clean and pretty fun, but gets crowded quickly.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SFGuestRelations, General Manager at Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, October 8, 2014
Dear John E,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the hotel. It is always beneficial to hear from our guests and recieve their valuable feedback. Please accept my sincere apologies about some of the not so flawless issues you experienced while staying at our resort. We do take pride in providing a clean and valuable experience for all of our guests, no matter what age! I do understand your concerns and I assure you that we will take them into consideration. Once again, we all appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to our resort again soon.

Sincerely,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

The queen suite is the way to go with 6 children. The bunk beds made smiles come to the faces of the boys, especially with the decor . ( like staying in a tree house ) . Two bathrooms were great. The Rooms are spacious. There is Ample storage. The beds are comfortable and clean. Kitchen area is roomy. The refrigerator is a very good size especially when you are traveling with children. Bathrooms are large, showers are good. Bathroom sinks are outside if toilet , this is a good feature.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SFGuestRelations, General Manager at Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, October 8, 2014
Dear Ctucker129

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you so much for your review and I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed our rooms and amenities. We do strive for a flawless and clean experience for everyone and by the sound of your comment I am sincerely glad we delivered one. We all look forward to having you stay with us again!

Sincerely,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The hotel was nice but we could have used more bureau space and a fan in the bathroom would have kept the moisture in the room down The beds were very comfortable and the walls must be well insulated because we didn't hear any noise from our neighbours




Room Tip: More space to put our clothes. The clothes line in the bathroom was very helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SFGuestRelations, General Manager at Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, October 8, 2014
Dear Katherine T,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the hotel and I am very happy to hear that you were not disturbed by any unwanted noise from outside neighbors. It is always beneficial for us to review the comments our guests leave us, and in your case I do apologize for the lack of storage space for clothes. We do offer larger suites with considerable amounts of storage space that accomodate most of our guests needs. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we all look forward to welcoming you back again.

Sincerely,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The hotel is lovely it's nice but it's old and needs a refresh to say the least the rooms are clean the people are friendly the food is okay in the restaurants and the water park that is attached to it is super nice as well.
We stayed at this hotel and got free tickets to the great escape park, this was definitely a plus. Staying at this hotel is in close proximity of the great escape park, this is a plus compared to staying in Lake George which is about a 10 minutes right away.
The interior water park, attached to it is great for winter time as well, very clean and the lifeguards are a plenty... Very safe for children.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff B, General Manager at Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear Gino,

Thank you for visiting our resort and taking the time to share your experience. It is great to hear you took advantage of our resort inclusive package and theme park. Many of our guests tell us that they love the location and that they can just walk across the bridge to go to the park. We hope you will come back and enjoy some more of our resort experiences in the future. We do have some great events coming up this fall and winter.
Sincerely,
Jeff Bartone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmeadow, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We had the joy of an overnight stay at the 6 flags great escape lodge last week. We had booked a standard room with 2 double beds. We were able to get upgraded to a kid's club suite when we checked in. Our 10 year old loved the idea of the bunk bed and a separate television in the kid-cove of our room.
We were able to walk across the street to the six flags amusement park and enjoy the rides before we checked into our suite. We enjoyed a late lunch at the Johnny Rocket's on-site. Later we headed up the road to see another one of our kids in her camp talent-show. By the time we got back to our room at 9pm we were starving. Room service to the rescue!
Day two started with a breakfast in the dining room area that overlooked the waterpark. The kids loved scouting out which slides they wanted to play on.
After checking out, we played in the water park for several hours before using the showers and changing rooms in the water park area. We were able to squeeze every cent worth of fun out of our visit!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff B, General Manager at Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear Arelaxedguest,

July is such a great time to visit our area and take advantage of The Great Escape Theme Park as well. Our Klub Moose suite is one of our most popular rooms and we are glad you had a chance to upgrade. Sounds like the talent show was a lot of fun. We hope there will be many more visits in the future.
Sincerely,
Jeff Bartone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark

Address: 89 Six Flags Dr, Queensbury, NY 12804
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queensbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Queensbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ready for a fun-filled stay in the Lake George area you'll never forget? The Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Water Park is a 200-room family suite lodge near Lake George, a resort featuring an incredible 38,000 sq ft indoor water park with attractions designed to make every age group smile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
6 Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark
Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark Hotel Queensbury
Six Flags Great Escape Lodge And Indoor Waterpark
Great Escape Lodge
Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark Lake George, NY - Queensbury

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.