We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Water Park” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark to your Saves list
Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   89 Six Flags Dr, Queensbury, NY 12804   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Queensbury
The Woodlands, Texas
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Good Water Park”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

When they opened the Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark we used to live in Clifton Park, NY. We could never attend the Hotel as it was always booked months in advance. Last march we went with our kids and 2 of their friends.
The Park is a average, could get more atractions. My son enjoyed the flow rider.

The stay at the hotel was below average. The rooms are big but no confortable. They use a memory matress foam in all beds - but this seems to be low quality, as I had back pain from it.

In Their main restaurant the food is tasteless and overcooked. We had almost all meals at Friendly's.

West Mountain is near and the kids enjoyed skiing.

Room Tip: Go to the park but stay in another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,085 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    373
    185
    110
    76
See reviews for
886
22
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Upstate New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

The staff was wonderful at the lodge. The Klub Moose suite was amazing for the kids. The kids club was also wonderful. There were a few issues with the TVs in the rooms and a few fixes that could have boosted the room's atmosphere. BIG TIP.....GET THE COKE CUP ASAP. Huge money saver! The lifeguards were terrific and tested right in front of patrons. The arcade was pretty cool, but prizes a bit chincey. We will head back when we can save up the money or find a good deal. 14 year old had fun but it was a stretch for her to have a lot to do just in the lodge and Waterpark.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

First, we asked for extra towels immediately once we got here, 5 hours later we asked again and finally got them. At 9 pm very loud slamming of doors and banging sounds similar to dropping of bowling balls above our room. It went on for hours while I had 2 small children trying to go to sleep. When I called the front desk to ask if it could be looked into, I was told very rudely that quiet hours begin at 11 pm. A place that caters to children has quiet hours that begin at 11? I don't think 9 pm was unreasonable. The front desk staff attitude altogether was rude and uninviting and unwelcoming. For the amount of money we have spent here for the whole experience, you would think they could be a little more courteous. We will NOT be staying overnight again and I will make sure to spread the word.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed one night in the lodge/waterpark. Room was great and big. Park was WAY WAY to packed. Bus loads of kids came in and was a total disappointment to us!!!! No where to sit or eat. Kids could not even enjoy water park with the packs of kids that just came in off buses and dropped all their stuff everywhere and ran around wild for the day!!!! Should be a limit of how many bus loads of kids can come. Food was good at J Rockets kids loved it!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malone, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This was my first stay at the lodge. I was a bit nervous, as I'd read some really bad reviews, but thankfully I didn't have any issues. I booked because of a 48 hour promotion, and a Thursday was very "off-peak." However, I checked the price for Friday, and for the very same room I had, and it was $200 more than I paid. No way would I have paid $200 more for my room, waterpark or no waterpark.

The traditional suite room was nice and big, and the beds were comfortable. The bathroom did have huge cracks in the floor, and I was not thrilled that the toilet did not have a lid to put down.

My family and I used the waterpark. The water definitely could have been warmer--especially on the slides that went outside. It literally was a shock to my system when I stepped into that water. The lazy river was a bit warmer. It could have used more tubes, especially since some parts of the river is only 2 feet 8 inches. You can't really float in such shallow water.

I liked that I didn't have to worry about multiple entrances/exits, and I sat where my kids had to walk past me if they had to use the bathroom, so I was always comfortable about their safety, even if I couldn't see them every second. There were also tons of lifeguards.

The bathrooms in the waterpark could have been cleaner. I'm sure it's a constant battle, but every time I went in there, there were paper towels and toilet paper all over the floor. Because the floor was wet, it created an even larger mess.

I refused to buy any food at the snack bar at the waterpark. A meal for a family of 4 started at $40. I saw the portions, and they didn't look very impressive. I didn't bother to check out any other restaurants, as I was totally turned off by the prices I saw at the snack bar. Instead, we went to Golden Corral, about 15 minutes away, and spent $40 for our family to eat at the buffet. No big deal.

Overall, though, the kids enjoyed the time there, and really, that's all that matters. I was thankful for the promotion, and will look for others in the future, as I would go back as long as I don't pay full price.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

room was filthy. telephone broken. tv broken. linens filthy. leaky shower. broken toilet. staff tried to help us. management did nothing to accommodate us. shame on you. very disgusted with this hotel. i'll never go back again.

Room Tip: pick a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlebury
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

We stayed one night at the Great Escape Lodge/Waterpark. We took our twin boys for their 6th birthday. They are the perfect age for this waterpark. They are able to enjoy all of the features. They are just tall enough to touch through the entire lazy river so we didnt have to worry as much as when we went the previous year. They loved the play structure on the 2nd floor...after they figured out the timing of the big bucket of water that spills over the entire unit:) They also enjoyed the "big" water slide with their father and I. It's great that the stay includes the price of the waterpark. You can't get two days worth of entertainment and a night's stay for cheaper price anywhere. The staff at Johnny Rocket's were great.
My only complaint would be the bathrooms in the waterpark. They could be cleaned and restocked (with toilet paper) a little more often. And, if you have a child that may need a life jacket you may want to bring your own. We had one instance where we had to wait for one.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark

Address: 89 Six Flags Dr, Queensbury, NY 12804
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queensbury
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Queensbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ready for a fun-filled stay in the Lake George area you'll never forget? The Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Water Park is a 200-room family suite lodge near Lake George, a resort featuring an incredible 38,000 sq ft indoor water park with attractions designed to make every age group smile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, Venere and Hotels.com so you can book your Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
6 Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark
Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark Hotel Queensbury
Six Flags Great Escape Lodge And Indoor Waterpark
Great Escape Lodge
Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark Lake George, NY - Queensbury

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.