We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have been better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark

Best prices from these 7 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark to your Saves list
Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   89 Six Flags Dr, Queensbury, NY 12804   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE Theme Park Tickets
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Queensbury
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Could have been better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

I came here for my daughters birthday (her idea). I was I the room with a cabin for beds. They had construction going on and they were working till 11:30 (I called to remind them that quite hours are 11 pm)

Next day I swear a heard was running through with all the banging. I hate complaining, but had to call. It wasn't workers this time it was guest. :(

I left a tip for my room steward ($10) and she didn't do the best job. Usually details are much nicer when you leave a tip. Kids room wasn't made up, and my bed was just flipped back over. No sheets tucked or anything. I didn't understand.

Hair dryer broken :-( not the biggest deal but it is November and it is a water park.

Food inside the pool area is expensive and not that great.

All in all, if it wasn't for the kids wanting to come here I wouldn't. Perhaps I'll take the extra hour ride to Great Wolf Lodge in Niagara Falls instead.

For the money I paid, it wasn't worth it.

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    316
    153
    91
    72
See reviews for
741
20
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hudson Valley (NY)
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

The property overall is very nice. Check in was a breeze, as the front desk crew were inviting and efficient. I didn't use many of the amenities, such as the kids club, but overall the vacation spot is a good value. We did an over nighter in the, "Adirondack Suite", which has a log cabin in the room itself. This provides a comfortable level of privacy for the kids and the adults, and for $228.00, including 4 waterpark ticks for 2 days, room, taxes and fees, I couldn't complain. Someone stated the lights didn't work, but I think they needed to wait for them to, "heat up". They are energy saving bulbs, and take a while to brighten. (Might wanna put the light on in the bathroom a bit before showering to ensure enough light to see what you're doing.) Anywho, as for the water park, it seemed very understaffed. (NOTE: NOT REFERRING TO THE LIFEGUARDS.Good ratio staff to guests.) Towels are a hot commodity, and are hard to come by. They need a better system. Speaking of bad systems, the raft ride that holds four desperately needs the conveyor belt in service. It's an accident waiting to happen. Humping that thing up 4 flights with 2 young'uns had me clutching my chest. "Up a Lazy River", is great, but there were never nearly enough rafts. I was told this was a busy w/e, (Veteran's Day), but it didn't seem crowded enough for the lack of items. Still, the 7 year old and 11 year old we had with us were absolutely thrilled, zero complaints, and we found it to be perfectly age appropriate for them. "Johnny Rockets", has a great staff, and is a nice price break for a resort restaurant. Same could be said for the gift shop...pretty reasonable as well. As for who this resort is ideal for age wise, I would say 3-11. I would recommend, "Great Wolf Lodge", for the older kids, as they have more rides for teens. Lastly, grab a luggage cart before you head to the water park, especially if you have two adults and can split up. Load up your car as much as you can in the early a.m., because people put the carts in their rooms and leave them there until they are ready to check out. They had 10, but I waited nearly an hour for one, so take care of that stuff early and it should make your exit smoother. If you want to step out for food, set your nav system on American food cuisine. Many decent eateries are located less than 3 miles from the resort that are family friendly such as, "Applebees", "Denny's", and, "Golden Coral". We picked, "Denny's", on the way out, and the place was the perfect ending to a great trip.

Room Tip: If you have little ones that still think there are, "montsters", in the closet, don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Bays
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

The place is dirty despite what others say.carpets need to be changed in many rooms and hallways,even people who give 5 stars said that something is not working so how come you give 5 stars?Because kids had a "blast"?The place look like a "fun" place for unions who get free hotel nights to spend with their families after a year of work.A million kids screaming around,pray that you don't have on upper floor a family with kids running and screaming from 5.30 am.Beds are comfy and that's all,fridge is a joke,tiny bathrooms the "traditional suites " are too crowded with furniture,vue is " fantastic" at the highway ,parking lot or another road passing by.Water park is suitable for litlle kids,water is COLD (they make economies on heating oil or gas!!),the attractions for bigger kids are open only one or another and are big lines for nothing special.One single guy handling tthe top attractions,tens of seconds waisted for the guy to come from the other place,why they don't put 2 people there?The wave section was closed on a Veterans day morning for a "private lesson"! Nice!A TON of chorine everywhere you will smell like coming out from a chorine can.The adults only "spa-jacuzzi" section is another cold water spa and you will feel the chorine entering your eyes! Check in at 4pm is you arrive early they send you to wait at water park-lockers are a fortune!!!.Food is overpriced fast food we didn,t try we find good French restaurant few miles away..At the entrance was a skinny black housekkeper vacuuming with a vacuum from the 80's,on upper floors vacummming the floor was done maybe last week,big fat naked mothers and fathers in the reception area coming out from the "waterpark" and showing the celullite in full force.
if you have litlle kids and you never been in a similar place they will enjoy the place if you been 45 miles away at Hope Lake lodge you will go back there in a beat!This place needs a major renovation soon and a much better organization of water park and heating the water.2 stars looking like hotel,3 stars rating is too much believeme.If our are somebody used with a 4 stars don't even try to go here.You will regret!

Room Tip: Choose another similar place if too many grown ups in your party!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Queensbury hotels

Rochester, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Check in was very fast and friendly. A lot is going on at this hotel..it is a very busy place!! Our room was very large and clean, the only thing was that all of our light bulbs did not work, and it was noticeable, so housecleaning should notice this as well. Although we enjoyed our stay, it is a tad pricey, but you are paying for the name "Six Flags". It would be awesome if a breakfast was included in the price of your stay.. Maybe down the road?? There is actually a lot of water fun at the indoor park. All in all this place is for the kids - and the kids love it!!! We will def be going back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaque, New Jersey, Usa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the lodge and did 3 days at the water park. Unlike other vacations that usually fly by, we were so busy all the time it felt like a much longer vacation, which is great. The room was immaculate the only problem we had was our refrigerator did not work. The water park is excellent for young children and unlike many other theme parks there were no extra charges for things like towels, life jackets etc. More tubes should be available at the lazy river and it could be a little warmer but we had so much fun it really didn't matter. Johnny Rockets really was so reasonable compared to other resort eateries we have been to. Our kids are 6 and 3, I think we found a new annual trip for our family we definetly recommend.Fun, Fun, Fun!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

The hotel was fine, sink in room rather than bathroom, the bathroom was moldy and crumbly in corners but the beds were comfortable. The facility was a little grungy, the water park bathrooms and showers were downright gross and a majority of the showers were out of order. The water park was fun, seemed well monitored by lifeguards. I was a little taken aback by the very unhealthy food offerings, all you can drink Coke machines and the marketing to the obese, and those kids who will end up with Type 2 diabetes before they're in middle school. I get it that the theme park patrons are not exactly into health food, but throw us a bone and listen to the AAP, the ADA and the NIH and offer food that won't kill us. Luckily we snuck in sliced apples and water and ate after leaving the park.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milford, ct
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We live in CT, a quick 3 hr trip to the Adirondacks is my " stress therapy". No matter what season it is, there's always something to do.. We are here at the waterpark. We've been here several times and always greeted with a warm smile, the indoor waterpark is always clean, there is enough staff to make you feel like you can sit and watch you're kids without being at there sides always(of course, age dependent) there is quite a bit to do given an indoor waterpark and how big it is. We do visit a lot of them, I do like this one as compared to great wolf parks. The rooms at the lodge are a nice size... My only complaint .... The mattresses and the pullout sofa WILL KILL YOUR BACK. Honestly I feel like I'm sleeping on a slab of concrete. Management needs to look into this. I understand that pull outs have there issues, maybe the option of a roll away instead, which I asked and they don't have. The positive thing is they have great pillows!! They now serve free soda on each floor(good vs. Bad I guess). Like I said we love this place!! Also Johnny Rockets is attached to the park ( hint.. Restaurant.com has $25 cards for $10. For the restaurant)

In the summer, take a walk up the road to Martha's ice cream .... OMG.. An icon here!! The BEST ICE CREAM EVER!!
And.. If you like to take your family on a fishing trip on the lake, lakegeorgefishing.com 518-796-8159 ED IS THE MAN!!! You will have a great time on the lake with him! Whether with children or alone, get on his pontoon, you won't be disappointed!!!

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark

Address: 89 Six Flags Dr, Queensbury, NY 12804
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queensbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Queensbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ready for a fun-filled stay in the Lake George area you'll never forget? The Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Water Park is a 200-room family suite lodge near Lake George, a resort featuring an incredible 38,000 sq ft indoor water park with attractions designed to make every age group smile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark Hotel Queensbury
Six Flags Great Escape Lodge And Indoor Waterpark
6 Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark
Great Escape Lodge
Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark Lake George, NY - Queensbury

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.