We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekend stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark

Save Saved
You added Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   89 Six Flags Dr, Queensbury, NY 12804   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Buy 3 Nights Get 4th Free
Ranked #4 of 11 hotels in Queensbury
Moosic, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“weekend stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Nice hotel and rooms. Waterpark was clean and nice but small. the breakfast buffet was always out of food and you had to wait and was a little pricey and had very slow service at the Johnny Rockets on premise but the manager took good care of us after we complained. Great place but a little pricey.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

825 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    248
    283
    141
    84
    69
See reviews for
659
18
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We travelled here for our daughter's 4th birthday, as her request was to go to a water park. It was our first time here, and we would definitely come back. Check in was smooth, employees were friendly. The room was about as expected. Nothing fancy. Beds were mighty uncomfortable, as were the pillows. Kids enjoyed the little "den" they had for their bunk beds, but they were even more uncomfortable, but they kids didn't seem to mind at all.

We were here mid week and the water park was very quiet. There were no lines, plenty of room to get around, no crowds at all. Kids had a great time and got to do everything they wanted to do.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

My husband & I and our two children 7 & 3 stayed one night in a adirondack bunk bed room. The kids loved the bunk bed & having their "own space". The room was clean & since we were at the end of the corrider - it was quiet. The double bed was very small and not comfortable - I moved to the couch in the middle of the night. I would have preferred a larger bed - queen or king and reduce the size of the sitting area. Having been to 3 other indoor water parks in the northeast - I have to say this one was my favorite. I loved the set up - it maximized the space and you didn't have to walk very far to get from one area to another. Also this is the first one that we have been to that had a flow rider which was so fun. We ate dinner at Johnny Rocket's and it was great. We will definitely be back next summer!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, CT
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We first stayed here 2 years ago on a trip back from Canada so when we decided to return to Lake George we thought we'd go back to Six Flags. The furniture in the lobby and rooms is looking a little saggy and worn - could use some updating. There are only 2 elevators in the whole place so be prepared to wait during busy times. The water park is great, though geared toward the younger set - probably the last year for my 11 year old.

The real problem with this place is that in catering to kids they've forgotten about the parents. There's no business center and the WiFi is incredibly slow (no bandwidth) so if you have to work or check email on vacation you can forget it. The fitness center is old and tiny - considering the amount of unused space in this place they could seriously expand it. And if you're looking for healthy food options don't look in the water park or Johnny Rockets. All you'll find is grease, fat and sugar.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Haven, Connecticut, Usa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Great family place! Very friendly staff, very clean rooms! Water park was awesome, clean and the water temp was just right! I could not be more pleased about this place. You won't be disappointed! From a very picky mom of three!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Stayed at the resort for two nights mainly to keep the two 13 old boys occupied. We had visited the theme park in the past on our annual sojourn to Saratoga Racetrack and decided to stay on site rather than travel back and forth from Saratoga. It turned out to be a good decision. The boys were able to experience the indoor hotel water park and adjacent theme park on their own schedule which allowed us to explore the area around Lake George. Don't miss the Sagamore Hotel in Bolton Landing for drinks or dinner. The boys would wander between the sites at their leisure in sort of a mini Disney experience. The staff were polite and friendly and seemed to care about pleasing the guests. The rooms are more of a partitioned bedroom with a sleep sofa and only one TV so it is not a traditional suite but served it's purpose. The property is clean and well kept but could use some upgrades especially the bathrooms. Special kudos to the housekeeping staff which had our rooms ready on time and did a great job keeping the room tidy.

The indoor water park has some nice features such as the flow rider but is other wise fairly standard. It is very loud and stuffy however and not the best atmosphere for adults to relax in. It would be nice if the hotel had set aside a more quiet tranquil area for parents to relax or read while the kids played. There really isn't any such haven on the property. Also the gym/exercise room is rather basic and small. The food in the lobby pub was quite good especially the wings. The bar also has a nice collection of local micro brews on tap so it is worth a visit. On the other hand the Johnny Rockets Sports bar while a nice concept disappointed in both quality of food and service. The hotel also offers and arcade and nice gift shop which the boys took advantage of. They had a very good time and had no interest in leaving the property and really enjoyed their independence. That in turn made our experience much more enjoyable and worth the trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simsbury, Connecticut, Usa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stay was better than expected. Heard about past bed bug problem and that was a major concern when booking. Staff assured me the problem was taken care of and all the rooms got new temperpedic mattresses. Did not find any bugs. Good family friendly place especially for little kids but it can get old if you stay too long. We did other things around the Lake George area also. Nice that the water park was open late. I would recommend this place to a friend and will probably go back again in the future.

Room Tip: Their is a mini-fridge and microwave in the rooms so bring your own snacks and drinks to save money...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark

Address: 89 Six Flags Dr, Queensbury, NY 12804
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queensbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Queensbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ready for a fun-filled stay in the Lake George area you'll never forget? The Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Water Park is a 200-room family suite lodge near Lake George, a resort featuring an incredible 38,000 sq ft indoor water park with attractions designed to make every age group smile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
6 Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark
Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark Hotel Queensbury
Six Flags Great Escape Lodge And Indoor Waterpark
Great Escape Lodge
Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark Lake George, NY - Queensbury

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.