We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay for the money!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark to your Saves list
Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   89 Six Flags Dr, Queensbury, NY 12804   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Queensbury
Amsterdam, New York, Usa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great stay for the money!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

If you are looking for a nice lodge to spend a night or two away-consider the Great Escape Indoor Waterpark and Lodge. They offer gret deals. It is a lot of fun and is close to home. We always have a great time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,085 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    373
    185
    110
    76
See reviews for
886
22
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Laval, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

This was our second time to the Great Escape and once again the kids love it!! It can be a tad pricey during spring break but its a great getaway from the snow and enjoy some water slides. The waterpark is fyun, you can easily spend a couple of hours, I have kids 5 and 10 and both enjoy it. The water however in the lazy river is colder than the 82 degrees they say they keep it at. If you have little ones it won't be easy to get them in, however, after a few minutes you get used to it. The rooms were very clean, beds very comfortable, good size room, no complaints there. As for the food, went to Johnny Rockets a little expensive but it was very good. The arcade is always a hit with the kids and lots of fun. Would I go again, for sure!!! Great little getaway.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We are a family of four. We stayed 2 nights at the hotel. We were n the second floor and had to deal with parents refusing to teach their kids that other people might be trying to sleep at midnight or 1am, just below them. Kids were jumping and running above us at all hours of the night. The second night was much quieter.

The hotel itself was nice and it was clean. We were overall very happy with the room. Next time we will request the 3rd floor though.

I was most impressed by the fact that the food was great and priced perfectly. Some places you go to on vacation with your kids end up gouging you horribly on the meals. We ate at JoHnny Rockets and were extremely pleased with the experience.

We ordered the pizza package when we reserved the room. The pizza and wings were very good. It was a great deal, and a meal we could eat right in our room.

As far as the indoor park goes: the first day was good. We were worried because we did see reviews stating that it was cold water. The water was comfortable on that first day! We expected it to be the same the next day. It was surely not. My 4 year old stayed cold, blue lips and all. The only comfortable spot was the hot tub, where kids aren't allowed. When hubby watched after the kids I was able to warm up a bit in the hot tub.

The only thing that the establishment can do to make this better is WARM UP THE WATER!!

Parents PLEASE: Teach your kids that they should be gracious in lines and be polite to people. Kids need to be taught to care about others and how they feel. If we do not, then we are raising a bunch of impolite, narcissistic adults!

Room Tip: Stay on the upper most floor so you do not have parents allowing jumping and running kids above you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York, Usa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

wonderful trip, fun things to do . great place to eat. very friendly staff clean large rooms and nice beds. three days was perfect especially when its cold outside. waterpark was so fun foreveryone............my grandchildren were as happy as when we went to disney................

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suwanee, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

My sister and I brought our 5 children (ages 7, 4, 2 and 7 month old twins), along with our mom for 2 nights. The hotel is above average. Our room was very spacious and accommodated 2 travel cribs easily. The beds were very comfortable.

The water park is great for little kids. We've been to another indoor water park and it was bigger with more to do but this one was great for the ages of our kids. The little ones loved the kiddie area and the 2 older ones loved the area for bigger kids. My 7 year old loved the flow rider!! The lazy river was nice too. The wait for the avalanche ride was too long. They make you wait until the people ahead have gotten on, done their ride and then get completely out before letting the next group up get in. They could time that a little better so there isn't as much waiting. The lifeguard looked bored. The lifeguards in the lazy river are not very helpful when trying to get rafts.

The food was a little overpriced but the unlimited refill cup was a great deal.

We would consider coming back but it would be during a different season. None of the restaurants in Lake George Village were open so options for eating out were limited.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

My wife, myself, and our two kids (4 yr old daughter and 2 yr old son) stayed 1 night at the hotel. The water park was fun - they had a section for little kids with a mini toddler slide that my son loved and a slightly bigger slide that my daughter loved. Also had a good lazy river which was good for younger kids. And they had a bunch of stuff for older kids and adults (bigger, longer, faster slides). A big indoor park with lots to do.

The hotel was not as good. Our entire floor stronly smelled of vomit during our entire stay. I understand that a guest may have had an accident but after 24 hours the hotel had not managed the reduce the smell. My 2-yr old does not think too many things are gross but his comment on the smell was "disgusting". Our room had a wet tissue balled in the corner of the bathroom, a long shirt/pants size sticker on the back of the bathroom door, and a few other miscellaneous dirt/crumbs left around.

We at a Johnny Rockets - it was fine, nothing special. Our check-in experience was fine but I think we got lucky as several times during our stay we saw very lengthy lines as check-in as others have mentioned.

If we go back we would not stay at the hotel again but might give the water park another try just for the day.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed for the first time in October 2012 two adults and two 7 year old girls! Had an excellent time!!! Beds were SO comfortable could not beleive it!! Plenty to do and very clean. The only thing I would have liked to see, escpecially because of the price of the stay, was a continental breakfast or something. The did have a little area to purchase bagles donut etc but the line was VERY long. Overall would go again!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark

Address: 89 Six Flags Dr, Queensbury, NY 12804
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queensbury
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Queensbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ready for a fun-filled stay in the Lake George area you'll never forget? The Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Water Park is a 200-room family suite lodge near Lake George, a resort featuring an incredible 38,000 sq ft indoor water park with attractions designed to make every age group smile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, Venere and Hotels.com so you can book your Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
6 Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark
Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark Hotel Queensbury
Six Flags Great Escape Lodge And Indoor Waterpark
Great Escape Lodge
Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark Lake George, NY - Queensbury

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.