We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for a weekend away” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark to your Saves list
Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   89 Six Flags Dr, Queensbury, NY 12804   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Queensbury
Somers, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice for a weekend away”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The lodge itself is beautiful. The lobby is just what you would expect. Rustic with an adorable bear theme. The fireplace is breathtaking. The rooms, we stayed in the triple queen suite, was clean and comfortable. There are two rooms, one with two queue size beds and a private bath and another, which is the main room with a queen size bed and a pull out queen sofa and private bath. The indoor watermark is small, but kept our kids, aged 18, 17, 12 and 10 busy for a while and the liked it enough to go back the next day for a few hours. Not too many rides, but the wave runner was a hit. It was chilly in the water area, even for me, who did not go in the water.
The restaurants on site were not that good. The tavern was overpriced and my husbands meal came with frozen, literally, mashed potatoes. The breakfast buffet, while plentiful, was mostly made from previously frozen items, even the fruit salad. Johnny Rockets was pretty good. The shakes were yummy. The best value was the refillable cups, which could be used anywhere in the hotel. (Lobby, soda machines on all floors, restaurants and waterpark)
To keep the kids busy, we went to the near by Tubby Tubes. It looked small, but wound up to be a lot of fun. All in all, we got the best of both summer and winter activities in a weekend.

Room Tip: There are rooms available with a view of the waterpark if desired.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,084 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    373
    184
    110
    76
See reviews for
885
22
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northfield, Vermont
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I have been to this hotel and water park every year for the last 6 years. I have always had wonderful service from all the staff here. It is expensive if you don't go during a time they have specials, so I always go at a time when it's affordable. I tried the new water park at Jay Peak in Vermont and I was not impressed, infact I will never go back there.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HALIFAX
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

The great escape
Great for kids
Can only stay in waterpark for so long without being bored
Waterpark not very clean, band aids and grime everywhere hence strong chlorine.
Plumbing sucked in rooms - didn't drain at all tub and sink.
WIFI not best signal
Whole local area & hotel did not take currency exchange considering most tourists from canada
Room service not done
Beds memory foam remembered last person from 10yrs ago. Restaurant expensive $11 for breakfas and $16 for supper. Considering price at $390 for two nights and that was a deal.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

This is not a place for couples to go. We were told by the front desk manager, "that they do not accomindate couples, only families. We asked to switch rooms because kids were running up and down the halls and slamming doors. They would not give us a room in the empty side of the building. The waterpark was terrible, the water was so cold that I could not stay in it more than 5 minutes. The restaurants close early and we both got sick (throwing up and weakness) from eating at the restaurant near the lobby with a bar in it. I would never ever go to this place again. The service was horrible, location was terrible, and the rooms were not clean. The maintence man walked in our room, also, without knocking. We were sleeping. He had the wrong room. Thanks for waking us, we were both sick from eating food there! I sent a letter to the company without getting a response. They do not care about customers, only money. Stay away!

Room Tip: Do not go here, if you are a couple or adults traveling with friends. They don't want that type...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laval, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We spent 2 nights...I thought it was very expensive 340$ the night, but during spring break..so impossible changing the dates...The room was ready so we checked in at noon. Everything in the room was nice and neat. We were on the 4th floor,nice view and no noise (other than my kids screaming to go ASAP to the waterpark). We went to Johny rockets for lunch and breakfast...it was great. The restaurant inside the hotel...small and overpriced. The waterpark: AMAZING!!!! slides, surfing, kiddy pool with mini-slides, avalanche...tons of fun for the entire family!! Definitely going back!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaudreuil, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We spent 2 nights there. The room was just OK. We could ear our neighbour watching a movie. The shower curtain was too short so the water kept slashing on the floor. Wall paper peeling off. Floor was stocky/dirty. The mattress was this kind of memory foam, too soft for us, couldn't sleep.

Water park was great. The kids had fun, even if the water was icy cold. One of the lifeguard looked so bored of being there i would have fired him on the spot. No patience with kids and he kept yawning. Some of them looked professional though. Johnny Rockets restaurant was good but just for one night. When you have no place to go eat, it could save you.

Keep in mind this place is mostly for kids so expect a lot of them running free in the hallway. Even if the rule is to always be with an adult... I would go back but only for one night and only for the kids.

Room Tip: Try to go on top floor, 4th.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

My family, 3 boys 11 and 8 and 40, and I enjoyed our stay this past week. We arrived on a Tuesday during Canadian March break and checked out the following day. Upon arrival, check in was extremely friendly and efficient. Our room was guaranteed at 4pm however we were told to check back a bit later and it should be fine. Very accommodating where possible. We were allowed to head straight to the water park as the front desk had given us bracelets to start using the facilities.

Bring your own towels, theirs are very small hospital type the size of a hand towel.

The changing areas are family friendly, just one big area with stalls, no girls or guys rooms. There were lockers available to rent, a bit expensive at 18$ a jumbo, 14$ a regular, to stow your stuff ( I planned for an early arrival so I left the suitcases in the car and had a duffle bag with bathing suits and towels ready to go).

The boys headed off right away to explore. Lazy river, water play area, 3 bigger tube slides that exit and re-enter the building, and a few slides upstairs that were fun but much smaller. Oh and the piece de resistance, the wave rider surfing/boogie board machine. I lost my guys there, not physically, but mentally....forget about anything else in that park after they tried the wave rider.

Oh and plenty of seating to relax and lounge. The water is fairly warm, comfortable, one degree warmer would be great. And the boys lost me to the hot tub area!

Lifeguards are everywhere and walking constantly, they are vigilant and not chit chatting to their friends, texting etc...parents feel safe. The lazy river is 3.6 feet at the deepest part I think.

I discovered the $8.99 refillable souvenir cups, refillable throughout the hotel and waterpark every 30mins for the duration of your stay. The choices of what you could get inside was endless at most refill locations...touch screen machine that lets you select a multitude of soft drinks, Dasani water, in multiple flavours each...best purchase at that place.

Once the boys were calmer, about 5 hrs after arriving we changed, went to the car to get our suitcases and got our room key.

Most comfortable beds I have ever slept on...Pillows were a bit fat but I made due. I never even enquired about a pillow menu, but they probably had one. Our room was standard, 2 queen beds and a pull out. A tv, game console that was broken. We called to get it repaired, the staff arrived rapidly but were unable to fix the problem. We had a mini fridge, microwave and coffee maker. The vanity was outside of the bathroom, and bathroom had tub and toilet. We had wifi that was very fast and reliable.

After checking out the room we changed back and went back to the waterpark. My hubby discovered that the aquatics team offered private surf lessons...best kept secret of all. They offer a one hour semi private lesson for up to 4 people on the wave rider...can you say fantastic....the first hour the park is open, the machine is reserved just for you. We signed up my hubby and 11 year old at 8:30pm for their 9:30 am lesson...no one else had signed up so it was just the two of them. The cost was 50$ per person but for the number of times they did that attraction in an hour with no line ups, just that was worth the money.

Check out is at 11 am, we were afraid of missing it so we packed up and checked out before their lesson. You are also allowed to use the facilities on your check out day, so what do you think we did.....enjoyed until lunchtime, checked into our other hotel, had lunch and headed back to the lodge to play until supper. We had to get another locker but it was all part of the game.

They have an arcade with a happy hour, more bang for the buck. We played 20$ in tokens for the 4 of us and had a blast. Kids got a few prizes.

All in all excellent stay
Great beds, nice room, excellent surf lessons, cute waterpark, expensive lockers, great location, value in the souvenir cup, friendly and efficient staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark

Address: 89 Six Flags Dr, Queensbury, NY 12804
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queensbury
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Queensbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ready for a fun-filled stay in the Lake George area you'll never forget? The Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Water Park is a 200-room family suite lodge near Lake George, a resort featuring an incredible 38,000 sq ft indoor water park with attractions designed to make every age group smile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Venere and Hotels.com so you can book your Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
6 Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark
Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark Hotel Queensbury
Six Flags Great Escape Lodge And Indoor Waterpark
Great Escape Lodge
Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark Lake George, NY - Queensbury

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.