We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The water is cold” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark to your Saves list
Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   89 Six Flags Dr, Queensbury, NY 12804   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Queensbury
New York, New York, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The water is cold”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We booked a 2 day visit to your Great Escape & Splashwater kingdom for the
days after thanksgiving. Our 3 children (3, 7 and 9) were very excited about
it. As soon as we arrived they could not wait to get into their swimsuits
and go to the pool. However once we arrived at the pool, the water was so
cold that my kids had blue lips and were shivering all over within 15
minutes of playing there. We left the park and returned to our rooms for a
hot bath to heat them up again. Needless to say we did not return to the
pool and we left the next morning.

I went to the manager to ask if there was a problem with the heating and
told him the water was too cold for my children. He told us that the water
was 82 degrees so we should not complain. When I asked him if we could take
the thermometer and check if the water temperature was indeed 82 degrees he
told me that he would not do that. He also pointed out that none of the
other guests had complained about the temperature of the water. I pointed
him to my children and asked him if other then their "blue" and profusely
shivering appearance he noticed the difference in the size of my children
and the size of the other guests. The manager just stared at me and said
nothing. I tried to explain to him that since the vast majority of your
other guests appear to be obese they would not be bothered by the cold as
much as our family (we are tall skinny europeans). However he did not
respond to that.

I asked him for a refund for the second day (not the 1st day I mean we did
use the pool for like 30 min. and we would be spending the night), but he
said no. I then asked if he would be willing to give us a voucher for a trip
to the outdoor park (in summer when it is nice and warm outside), but he
said he could not do that and "wobbled" away.

I think the management fo Six flags and parents share the same objective. We
are all trying to make sure children have a safe and pleasant experience at
your resort. Due to the water temperature this was not possible so we had to
cut our trip short (we had a lot of comments on that as you can imagine). I
know you have a lot of people making up stories, planting disgusting items
in their rooms, whatever to get a refund.
However, we were expecting that when somebody sees that children cannot
enjoy their time at Six flags due to the fact that they do not have enough fat
on their bones to stay warm, there would be some gesture.

Btw: my 3 year old fell completely in love with Santa Claus and Ms. Claus at
the resort. She simply loved them!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

959 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    330
    159
    96
    72
See reviews for
776
22
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Thank you for a fabulous week end. This is the 7th year we've come for our post-Thanksgiving family get together - 10 people, 3 rooms, all different ages from grandparents down to a 6 year old. The holiday decorations, characters and activities (loved the snow in the lobby!) were outstanding this year. Everyone had a good time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stow, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We just got back from spending the Thanksgiving long weekend here. We’ve been going once a year for the last 5 or 6 years. Obviously we really like the place. There are places, especially in the waterpark that are starting to show their age, not bad just areas that could use a good cleaning or repainting. But my kids still love the water park and this was the first time they would try the flow rider, which was a lot of fun for everyone.
We stayed in one of the kid cabin rooms. In the room is a little cabin for the kids with their own bunk beds and tv on the wall. There is no door or roof on it so the sound and light still travels between it and the main room, but it was a lot of fun for them to sleep in.
They had a number of holiday events going on, which were outstanding. In the afternoon, Santa and Mrs Claus were entertaining in the lobby, followed by story time at night. Normally at night you can sign up for (at an extra charge) Sweet Dreams where a character brings cookies and milk to the kids before bed. This year at holiday time, Santa and Mrs C. bring them by. Santa was amazing!! He came right in, sat on the couch and talked to my kids for 10 minutes. The next morning he saw them in the lobby and called them over to talk again. There was also a Santa breakfast which we did not attend.
They have changed to new (non-familiar) characters, I do wish they would bring back the Looney Tune characters.
I’m sure we will be back in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I decided to take my three sons away for one night to just "get away." This was an excellent place for a 1 night retreat. The water park was perfect for my sons who are 6,8, and 12. To be able to watch everyone no matter where they were was great for an overprotective parent.

I purchased the drink cups for $8.99 which was a huge money saver. There were Coca Cola drink dispensers all over the property with every Coke product imaginable.

Be careful of the taxes and resort fees. The room was originally $259 and the total bill for the room ended up being $312.24 which included a $22.10 resort fee (more than I have paid in Vegas!).

To make the most our of your stay, arrive a 12p.m. the day of check in to use the water park and plan to stay well after your check out time of 11a.m. to use the water park. We packed breakfast and lunch to also save money. There is a fridge and microwave in the room

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

All four days we had no hot water. The water park water turned on and off. The coffee at the cafe was stale. Kids club was unorganized and never on schedule. Took forever at the front desk. Will definitely not go to any six flag lodges because of this. Stick to the park not the indoor water park or lodges! Freezing water too!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Queensbury hotels

1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

The people that work here were not helpful and spoke with a rude attitude. Our children did not feel welcomed. the employees in the kids corner scolded our child for touching the toys in the kids corner. Kids corner events were listed but when we went it was always color time only. It was over priced for what we got. The water is cold in the water park and in the rooms. The heat was inconsistent, either to hot or to cold. We were promised kitchen utensils received none and when we went and asked for some. Again the employees were rude and told they could not give us any, even though they were right there in visible sight and included in our cost. Please do not waste your time. Spending 2 hrs in the water park is plenty of time and the hotel is not worth being at. Save your money.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stayed here for almost a week. Prior I was so excited to staying here as all of the photos online does make it appear to be a dream for travelling families. Our group was travelling with 2 children and I thought it would be perfect especially for them. Just want to cover on a few points to advise other potential customers:
1. It is in fact an awesome location if you plan on going to the amusement park as it's right across the highway (walkway is available). I advise that you should get your tickets online in advance to save a few bucks. I couldn't get a straight answer from customer service when emailing them previous to our trip - I just kept getting told that I can get discounted tickets from their gift shop. I do think if customers are staying at the on-site lodge better deals should be present - that wasn't the case.

2. There's an awesome water park within the premises - for children. That was unfortunate as me and my wife were really looking forward to cooling down in the evening but there's no water facilities for adults. It's just for kids. I think they should've at least put in hot tub or regular sized pool than just focusing on children.

3. Overall the 'lodge feel' management shoots for is just a little cheesy and unnecessary. There's a lot of fake dead animals around the hotel and faux wood flows throughout the hotel. In my opinion the hotel could've been more pleasing on the eyes going a different direction.

4. The nightly rate is overpriced for the value we found. It's great for families however who want to just simply have everything in one spot; food, accommodations, and you don't feel like going anywhere else during your stay. The hotel overall is only next to the theme park and there's nowhere really to walk to by foot if you get bored. That got a bit annoying as I typically like to wander off than to always drive somewhere when I want something small.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark

Address: 89 Six Flags Dr, Queensbury, NY 12804
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queensbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Queensbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ready for a fun-filled stay in the Lake George area you'll never forget? The Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Water Park is a 200-room family suite lodge near Lake George, a resort featuring an incredible 38,000 sq ft indoor water park with attractions designed to make every age group smile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
6 Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark
Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark Hotel Queensbury
Six Flags Great Escape Lodge And Indoor Waterpark
Great Escape Lodge
Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark Lake George, NY - Queensbury

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.