We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful time we had!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark

Save Saved
You added Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   89 Six Flags Dr, Queensbury, NY 12804   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Two Nights, Save $75
Ranked #4 of 11 hotels in Queensbury
Albany, NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“What a wonderful time we had!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Thank you for a fabulous week end. This is the 7th year we've come for our post-Thanksgiving family get together - 10 people, 3 rooms, all different ages from grandparents down to a 6 year old. The holiday decorations, characters and activities (loved the snow in the lobby!) were outstanding this year. Everyone had a good time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

894 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    277
    308
    149
    89
    71
See reviews for
722
19
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stow, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We just got back from spending the Thanksgiving long weekend here. We’ve been going once a year for the last 5 or 6 years. Obviously we really like the place. There are places, especially in the waterpark that are starting to show their age, not bad just areas that could use a good cleaning or repainting. But my kids still love the water park and this was the first time they would try the flow rider, which was a lot of fun for everyone.
We stayed in one of the kid cabin rooms. In the room is a little cabin for the kids with their own bunk beds and tv on the wall. There is no door or roof on it so the sound and light still travels between it and the main room, but it was a lot of fun for them to sleep in.
They had a number of holiday events going on, which were outstanding. In the afternoon, Santa and Mrs Claus were entertaining in the lobby, followed by story time at night. Normally at night you can sign up for (at an extra charge) Sweet Dreams where a character brings cookies and milk to the kids before bed. This year at holiday time, Santa and Mrs C. bring them by. Santa was amazing!! He came right in, sat on the couch and talked to my kids for 10 minutes. The next morning he saw them in the lobby and called them over to talk again. There was also a Santa breakfast which we did not attend.
They have changed to new (non-familiar) characters, I do wish they would bring back the Looney Tune characters.
I’m sure we will be back in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I decided to take my three sons away for one night to just "get away." This was an excellent place for a 1 night retreat. The water park was perfect for my sons who are 6,8, and 12. To be able to watch everyone no matter where they were was great for an overprotective parent.

I purchased the drink cups for $8.99 which was a huge money saver. There were Coca Cola drink dispensers all over the property with every Coke product imaginable.

Be careful of the taxes and resort fees. The room was originally $259 and the total bill for the room ended up being $312.24 which included a $22.10 resort fee (more than I have paid in Vegas!).

To make the most our of your stay, arrive a 12p.m. the day of check in to use the water park and plan to stay well after your check out time of 11a.m. to use the water park. We packed breakfast and lunch to also save money. There is a fridge and microwave in the room

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

All four days we had no hot water. The water park water turned on and off. The coffee at the cafe was stale. Kids club was unorganized and never on schedule. Took forever at the front desk. Will definitely not go to any six flag lodges because of this. Stick to the park not the indoor water park or lodges! Freezing water too!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Queensbury hotels

1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

The people that work here were not helpful and spoke with a rude attitude. Our children did not feel welcomed. the employees in the kids corner scolded our child for touching the toys in the kids corner. Kids corner events were listed but when we went it was always color time only. It was over priced for what we got. The water is cold in the water park and in the rooms. The heat was inconsistent, either to hot or to cold. We were promised kitchen utensils received none and when we went and asked for some. Again the employees were rude and told they could not give us any, even though they were right there in visible sight and included in our cost. Please do not waste your time. Spending 2 hrs in the water park is plenty of time and the hotel is not worth being at. Save your money.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stayed here for almost a week. Prior I was so excited to staying here as all of the photos online does make it appear to be a dream for travelling families. Our group was travelling with 2 children and I thought it would be perfect especially for them. Just want to cover on a few points to advise other potential customers:
1. It is in fact an awesome location if you plan on going to the amusement park as it's right across the highway (walkway is available). I advise that you should get your tickets online in advance to save a few bucks. I couldn't get a straight answer from customer service when emailing them previous to our trip - I just kept getting told that I can get discounted tickets from their gift shop. I do think if customers are staying at the on-site lodge better deals should be present - that wasn't the case.

2. There's an awesome water park within the premises - for children. That was unfortunate as me and my wife were really looking forward to cooling down in the evening but there's no water facilities for adults. It's just for kids. I think they should've at least put in hot tub or regular sized pool than just focusing on children.

3. Overall the 'lodge feel' management shoots for is just a little cheesy and unnecessary. There's a lot of fake dead animals around the hotel and faux wood flows throughout the hotel. In my opinion the hotel could've been more pleasing on the eyes going a different direction.

4. The nightly rate is overpriced for the value we found. It's great for families however who want to just simply have everything in one spot; food, accommodations, and you don't feel like going anywhere else during your stay. The hotel overall is only next to the theme park and there's nowhere really to walk to by foot if you get bored. That got a bit annoying as I typically like to wander off than to always drive somewhere when I want something small.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadalbin, New York, USA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Very large, clean, quiet rooms; park was fun; at 8:00 p.m. they had story time in the lobby, the kids loved sitting in front of the fire and listening to the story (there was a large bear who sat next to the lady reading the book and the kids loved him!)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark

Address: 89 Six Flags Dr, Queensbury, NY 12804
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queensbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 hotels in Queensbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ready for a fun-filled stay in the Lake George area you'll never forget? The Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Water Park is a 200-room family suite lodge near Lake George, a resort featuring an incredible 38,000 sq ft indoor water park with attractions designed to make every age group smile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark Hotel Queensbury
Six Flags Great Escape Lodge And Indoor Waterpark
6 Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark
Great Escape Lodge
Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark Lake George, NY - Queensbury

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.