We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stale, Cold, Greasy” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Old China Buffet Corporation

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Old China Buffet Corporation
756 Upper Glen St Ste 4, Queensbury, NY 12804-2093
(518) 745-8383
Improve this listing
Ranked #78 of 103 Restaurants in Queensbury
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Narrowsburg, NY
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Stale, Cold, Greasy”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

.The Lake George area is known for its natural beauty and not its food so I don’t expect four star cuisine anywhere in the area. The reviews of Old China Buffet in Queensburry were mixed but I figured I would give them a try for a quick and inexpensive meal. I am not an expert on Chinese-American food but I did grow up 3 blocks from Chinatown in NYC and have eaten Chinese food at least once a week since I was a baby, fifty something years ago. This is a no frills buffet that even has pour your own drinks. Once you pay your money at the counter you are pretty much left on your own. We visited the Old China Buffet on Sunday 9/2/12. There were only about 20 people in the restaurent when we arrived and it was about 2 hours from closing. We paid our money as we entered and were told to sit anywhere. when we went to the buffet tables the first thing I noticed was a microwave next to the soda machine It quickly became evident why it was there. Cold, greasy food that seemed like it had been in the steam pan all day long and never changed out. There was actually a crust on some of the food and some items were stuck to the bottom of the pan. The so called sushi was stale, warm and crusty and the ginger in the adjoining pan was in a soup of juice and almost fermenting. My wife and I always start out with a bowl of soup. I had some egg drop and my wife just had chicken broth. The egg drop soup was so old that the custard was broken and it was like water. My wife put the spoon of broth up to her lips and immediately started gagging, spit it back out and reached for her water. She scrunched up her face and said “it’s so salty”. I tried it and it was saltier then pure soy sauce. It was obvious that they did not add any water to their canned concentrated broth. She went up and told the owner who tested the broth and immediately took it back to the kitchen. He returned a few minutes later and brought my wife a fresh bowl of broth, apologized and said it was salty because it sat out too long and evaporated. Go figure! The rest of the food was just as bad and we were just about to leave when a large group came in. The kitchen staff quickly brought fresh? food and I went up for some more. The food was hot but just as stale and old tasting as the food that had been out in the bins. We left hungry and looked forward to breakfast the next morning.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    4
    2
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vernon, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good meal out.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

This place was decently priced, with fresh food and a good variety. The staff was friendly and helpful also.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middle Granville
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good Chinese Buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

The food is always fresh, hot or cold as it should be, the price is right and the selection is the best in the LG region!!!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensbury, New York
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“You call that Chinese?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

If you want a buffet, and Chinatown is too packed, this is an ok place to go, if you must. The Flaming Wok in the mall, not a buffet but still, has better tasting Chinese than this place. They do have a dessert bar though with jello, sponge cake and pecan pie that is pretty good. Salad bar is not bad, fresh cold shrimp. The hot dishes barely pass as hot, the rice is wide open without a cover so it is cold and hard. Would a rice steamer really hurt? Drive a little further to Chinatown on Route 9, Monty has a rice steamer, and hot fresh food that is replaced, cleaned and checked constantly.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarsdale, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“My only complaint”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

The food is ok, My only complaint is that when I visited this establishment, it was 90 outside and 87 inside, I was sweating as I sat and left because they would not reduce the inside tempurature to a more comfortable level, like maybe around 78-80.

  • Visited August 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old China Buffet Corporation also viewed

 

Been to Old China Buffet Corporation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old China Buffet Corporation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.