We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the better corrals in the area.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Corral Buffet & Grill of Queensbury

Golden Corral Buffet & Grill of Queensbury
75 Quaker Road, Queensbury, NY 12804
518-636-3300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 103 Restaurants in Queensbury
Price range: $4 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Buffet
Description: This family-style restaurant offers the largest buffet selection available anywhere. From the made-to-order omelets on the Sunrise Weekend breakfast, to the grilled cheeseburgers on the weekday lunch buffet... on up to the famous dinner buffet that features over 150 delicious choices including Pot Roast, pizza, seafood and grilled-to-order Sirloin.
Gansevoort, New York
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“One of the better corrals in the area.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

For buffet food if has always been hot and fresh. The service is good and good place to bring kids. I would reccomend this place if you are fond of buffets and desire good complete meal for the price.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    16
    10
    7
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
North Plainfield, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Don't go here please”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

I rencently went there with my husband and kids, we always wanted to go because of the tv commercials, but the whole experience was terrible, the place is always full, the tables are very close to each other, the food was not good at all. If you ask me I wouldn't recommend this palace to nobody. Please do your self a favor and don't espend yor money there.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manlius, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

Place was packed but food lines moved quickly. A lot of the food here is really good, especially the meats and desserts. Lots of good healthy options too. One of the best buffet places I've been too.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colonie, New York
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Lots of choices if you like mostly starch for dinner.....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

OK so they have all you can eat wings, sounds great but the wings were just OK. As a long time wing critic, and tasted literally thousands of wings over the last 20 years, these wings would rate a 4 on a scale of 1 to 10 (10 being best). I will say the salad bar was chock full of incredibly fresh rabbit food, a place I do not normally partake in, but the insanely crisp and fresh look of everything drew me in. The tomato's, cukes, iceberg wedge lettuce, carrots, broccoli, cauliflower and more were above to top in freshness and taste. Plus, there is abundant proteins to add into the salad, like large cubes of ham, chicken, hard boiled eggs, bacon bits and cheese. One could make a meal of this alone with ample trips back up (like 5+).

I asked for and received a rare steak, cooked perfectly but was sub par in quality. Lots of connective tissue that would not cut with even a sharp steak knife. Flavor was great, just the meat itself was much like bubble gum.

Moving down the line, there was pot roast, smashed spuds, green beans and all the fixins for a good ole pot roast dinner. This was a treat, all of it great and hot. The gravy actually tasted homemade, with dripping from the roast pan (maybe?).

Still further down the line were popcorn and breaded shrimp, along with some breaded clams and hushpuppies. The breaded shrimp was GREAT, the popcorn shrimp disgusting and dirty. The clams were like the steak, bubble gum. But the hushpuppies were really a pleasant surprise. They were fresh, light and had massive flavor. Enough deliciousness for me to take 3 additional trips back to the steam tray and clean them out......

All in all its a decent deal, especially if you are a dessert person, their dessert selection is insane. I consider dessert a half dozen more hot wings, but for others if you like sweets, this is an insanely tasty selection.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Generally unappeaing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Golden Corral is not a place I intend to return to on any future visits to the Lake George area. During our party's first visit to the restaurant, rush hour for dinner had just begun, meaning not only was the restaurant incredibly loud (between children screaming and crying, people burping, and other noise detritus), but the food was inaccessible. Needless to say, we left pretty unhappy, but we vowed to try again the next day.
The next day comes. We are practically the only people there. It seems like we've hit it perfectly...for 15 minutes. Then, of course, 2 busloads (literally, busloads) of people show up. This time, it is even worse than the night before, because few, if any, of the diners who showed up spoke any English. Golden Corral is a magnet for bus tours and their ilk, so plan accordingly.
Furthermore, there are few healthy options for food at Golden Corral. Much of the food that would have otherwise been healthy is fried. Having things fried in a stereotypical American way is a disappointing trend at Golden Corral. The atmosphere encourages diners to eat more of this fried food, so that certainly doesn't help anything.
Overall, my experience at Golden Corral was, most definitely, a poor one.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Corral Buffet & Grill of Queensbury also viewed

 

Been to Golden Corral Buffet & Grill of Queensbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Corral Buffet & Grill of Queensbury, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.