We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome B & B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lake Champlain Inn - TLC Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Putnam Station
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lake Champlain Inn - TLC Inn
Save
You added The Lake Champlain Inn - TLC Inn to your Saves list
428 County RT 3, Putnam Station, NY 12861   |  
Hotel amenities
Huntington, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome B & B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

My family (2 adults, 2 kids -10 & 14) stayed in the School House for a week. This an small, old victorian house on the property of the Lake Champlain Inn. There are 2 comfortable bedrooms, an eat-in kitchen, living room and 2 full bathrooms. The kitchen is nicely equipped. There are great views of Lake Champlain from the front porch.

We enjoyed having our own little country house. The kids had never stayed in a B & B before, so this was a good intro for them. Breakfasts were served at the main house across the street.

The owners (Joe & Nancy) are extremely helpful for sightseeing ideas.They supplied us with maps (and leftover delicious breakfast muffins!). Joe and Nancy really went out of their way to make us feel comfortable and welcome. And the breakfasts are incredible and tasty. No repeats in 7 days! Joe even dropped off coffee for us in the morning.

We had a great time in the Lake Champlain area and this B & B made it even more special.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    7
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
20
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NJ
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2010

We stopped at TLC Inn on our way to Quebec for 1 night. It is in a very rustic area. The suite we stayed in was lovely. Breakfast was delicious and Innkeepers-Nancy & Joe, couldn't have been nicer

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, NY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2010

We spent two nights at he Lake Champlain Inn. The owners were friendly, talkative and pleasant. The Inn is a tiny place with great charm. Other appropriate adjectives are quiet, relaxing and secluded. The eastern edge of the land borders the namesake lake. The breakfasts are good too.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2009

My partner and I loved our stay at TLC Inn. As they say, the TLC Inn does exactly what it says on the tin. We stayed over the Thanksgiving holidays and unlike many other B&Bs that don't even open during this week, Nancy and Joe welcomed us with open arms into the most home-from-home B&B I have stayed in for some time. This included not only their famously good (and hearty!) breakfasts, but also a wonderful family Thanksgiving dinner (my partner and I, Joe and Nancy, and their daughter's family) at no extra cost.

Despite the cold weather outside, our room was warm and comfortable. The en suite was a real highlight with underfloor heating and a powerful, warm shower.

We got what we were looking for with TLC Inn, it being removed from the busyness and tackiness of Lake George but still in a beautiful countryside setting. The only thing I would say is that there are very few cafes/restaurants nearby and so you have to be prepared to drive for a bit to any of such amenities, and be prepared to eat early because they are all closed by 8pm during the winter! But this is not a place you come to for haute cuisine on your doorstep. However, it is in the middle of an area in which there is beautiful scenery and some envigorating walks.

Overall, I would highly recommend this Inn and its location for a peaceful get-away with family, or significant other.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northport, Maine
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

What a pleasant and relaxing 4-day/5-night stay!! The owners - Nancy and Joe - were great hosts, sharing their home and knowledge of the area with their guests. The B&B was near full every evening, and we had the pleasure of sharing our stay with couples from as far as England to as close as Westchester, NY - all expressed satisfaction with their accommodations - and of course, the gourmet breakfasts! Having searched TripAdvisor prior to booking (to check reviews), we had minor concern for the one negative review - but saw no evidence whatsoever of the discontent expressed. The hosts were only helpful and friendly - their charm really added to our "getaway weekend-plus". Their suggestions on location attractions, places to dine and shop along with daily (accurate) weather reports allowed us to maximize the time we had available. The room was extremely clean and comfortable - and the breakfasts are some of the best we've had in 35 years of travel. The Inn is a great hub for day tripping - 5 major attractions within easy commutes (Fort Ticonderoga - Crown Pt./ Shelburn Museum Complex/ Saratoga National Battlefield/ Lake Placid-White Face Mt. - Au Sable Chasm/ Town Woodstock Vt.). Closing comment - we're recommending this B&B to other family that will be visiting in the future - and TLC Inn will be our accommodations for our next trip to the Lake Champlain Region.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northport, Maine
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

What a pleasant and relaxing 4-day/5-night stay!! The owners - Nancy and Joe - were great hosts, sharing their home and knowledge of the area with their guests. The B&B was near full every evening, and we had the pleasure of sharing our stay with couples from as far as England to as close as Westchester, NY - all expressed satisfaction with their accommodations - and of course, the gourmet breakfasts! Having searched TripAdvisor prior to booking (to check reviews), we had minor concern for the one negative review - but saw no evidence whatsoever of the discontent expressed. The hosts were only helpful and friendly - their charm really added to our "getaway weekend-plus". Their suggestions on location attractions, places to dine and shop along with daily (accurate) weather reports allowed us to maximize the time we had available. The room was extremely clean and comfortable - and the breakfasts are some of the best we've had in 35 years of travel. The Inn is a great hub for day tripping - 5 major attractions within easy commutes (Fort Ticonderoga - Crown Pt./ Shelburn Museum Complex/ Saratoga National Battlefield/ Lake Placid-White Face Mt. - Au Sable Chasm/ Town Woodstock Vt.). Closing comment - we're recommending this B&B to other family that will be visiting in the future - and TLC Inn will be our accommodations for our next trip to the Lake Champlain Region.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havertown
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2009

My husband spent a weekend here and loved every minute of our stay. The location is magificent - quiet and serene which is what we were looking for. Hummingbirds came up to feed on the porch. We were greeted by a pleasant and helpful inn keeper. The rooms were immaculate and the breakfast were two of the best that we have had anywhere and we have stayed in over two dozen B and B's. Our room was small but we felt that the value was right. This is one of those hidden treasures!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lake Champlain Inn - TLC Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lake Champlain Inn - TLC Inn

Address: 428 County RT 3, Putnam Station, NY 12861
Location: United States > New York > Putnam Station
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Putnam Station
Number of rooms: 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lake Champlain Inn - TLC Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.