We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of the house keepers” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2750 South Road, Rt. 9 & Sharon Dr., Poughkeepsie, NY 12601   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Poughkeepsie
Liverppol, NY
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beware of the house keepers”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2007

I came here with my 16 year old daughter and two young grandsons (6 and 7 years old). Our stay was very pleasant. Staff the night we arrived were very nice. Althought the next morning we went down to the free breakfest, we were there for about 20 minutes. When we went back upstairs to finish getting our belongings and wait to check out to leave and meet our other family members, we found house keeping already in our room. We went up to the door and the lady had the door blocked and would not move her cart. When I approched the door she had told me we were only there for one night, and I'm like yes but I have not checked out yet check out isnt untill 12:00 noon. She walked out the door and we pushed through the cart to get inside the room to get the rest of our belongings. While gathering our stuff the lady walked in with fresh bedding and proceded to put them on the bed. We went downstairs and demanded to talk to a manager but there was not one available they told us. We were told that I would be contacted that night, which I was not. They had contacted head of house keeping. The head of house keeping said they would go and talk to the lady who was already in our room. We obviously could not go back to our room untill we were ready to check out so I had to go sit in a grocery store parking lot untill our family members arrived. After calling back that night when we got back home I talked to a lady at the desk who said that there wouldnt be a manager on untill the next morning. She wrote down everything I told her and stated that I would get a call from a manager the next day. The next day the manager called me. He appoligized for what had happened, and said he would call me back on Tuesday (2 days from when I talked to him) to tell me what was going on and to try to make things right. He was very nice and had explained to me that house keeping should not have been in my room.

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    106
    38
    10
    1
See reviews for
77
56
9
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Little Falls, NJ
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2007

The last time I rated this hotel I gave it a 5. A few things have changed since then: I've become more experienced with business travel and this time there were a few heavy score impacting problems.

The hotel continues to be well suited for business travelers. It's conveniently located, serves a handy, complimentary breakfast, has a competent, friendly staff, wireless Internet connectivity, a small fitness center and is generally clean. Mattresses are comfortable but bedding is not of the quality found in many hotels today. Bathroom hardware is beginning to show age.

On the down side, the comforter is my room was stained with wine and the sheets were discolored. Housekeeping completely refreshed the bed as soon as I notified them. My room was an adjoining room, and the closed door between the rooms was not insulated well enough against sound to prevent me from hearing my noisy neighbor's cell conversations. Dirty bedding and noise are score killers in my mind.

  • Liked — Competent staff and convenient breakfast
  • Disliked — Stained bedding and noisy adjoining room
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
syracuse, ny
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2006

The room was clean, beds and service fine, but the cost was out of line for the area. Especially because 2 weeks later I stayed at a much nicer hotel, a few miles south of there and paid half as much. This hotel is very near Marist and Vassar colleges and I guess that's why they feel they can charge so much.
My suggestion, look a little further south and get a much better deal!

  • Liked — no opinion
  • Disliked — the price
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2006

If we ever return to the Hudson River Valley, we will definitely stay here again. Good location, excellent shopping and restaurants nearby, as well as attractions. More importantly, the service at this hotel was excellent, the staff friendly, the breakfast was very good, the rooms clean and well-maintained.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2005

I recently stayed at this hotel due to its convenient location. I pulled into the parking lot and initially thought the outside of the building was old looking and thought the inside would be the same. I could not be more wrong! The lobby was warm, inviting and very clean. The woman who checked me in was very professional and friendly. She informed me that the hotel was actually getting a new exterior this Fall..Hmmm and a new lobby, I said why this lobby is great. My room was very nice, looked brand new, great pillows, even better bathroom, the shower was great the towels thick and new looking. My so called continental breakfast turned out to have a cheese omlet and bacon! I even got to enjoy it outside on the patio. Over all this was the best Holiday Inn Express I had ever stayed in. I would definitely recommend it to anyone who has to go to Poughkeepsie.

  • Stayed June 2005, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2005

A sign in the lobby announced this property will be undergoing a full renovation in the fall of 2005, but I think it is already the nicest Holiday Inn Express I have ever seen. We had a king room with a sofa bed, on the non-highway side of the hotel that was quite pleasant. Everything appeared clean and in good repair, except one lamp that should be replaced. There was some hallway noise, but I have learned to turn up the A/C fan to drown out the noisy guests. There were three different pillow types on the bed to ensure you get the type you like. A hairdryer and iron were standard. There was a microwave for guest use in the vending area. The bathroom had a spacious layout, and an attractive sink area with a separate upper shelf for the coffeemaker (which just makes sense!) The shower curtain was a bright white woven cloth variety that contributed to the spotless appearance of the bathroom. The towels were thick, and the toiletries somewhat unique. The lobby area was attractive and offered some board games for wholesome fun as well as a high speed Internet-connected PC for guest use. The continental plus breakfast offerings were extensive, but there was a wait for the four-slice toaster. I thought the desk staff could use a few pointers in customer service. They weren’t rude, but weren’t overly welcoming either. I used my Priority Club points to stay here at no charge, but I thought the rack rate was outrageous for a non-full service or extended stay hotel. I would put this property in the “nice place to stay if somebody else is paying” category.

Stayed May 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upstate ny
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2004

This hotel costs more than the Sheraton in Newark NJ Airport.

For that cost the room was smaller, cold and hard to heat up (the heater had to be on full all the time). The hotel looked old on the outside, but inside the room was nice looking. Bedsheet were of a low thread count and felt rough on the skin.

The staff was friendly, the wireless network was free and worked well. The much balleyhooed shower was indeed nice, but I don't think it made up for high cost.

We stayed on a Sunday to Monday and the parking lot was almost empty.

Next time I will try the Super 8 in Pough, it looks newer.

  • Stayed December 2004, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie

Address: 2750 South Road, Rt. 9 & Sharon Dr., Poughkeepsie, NY 12601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Poughkeepsie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Poughkeepsie
#5 Family Hotel in Poughkeepsie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Poughkeepsie, New York.At the moment you enter the bright, airy lobby of the Holiday Inn Express hotel Poughkeepsie, you are welcomed into a unique hotel with a mix of contemporary chic and charming traditional ambiance, personalized service, and contemporary amenities.The Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie government hotel is centrally located in the Hudson Valley area of New York near many attractions such as FDR Presidential Library, Vanderbilt Mansion and Eleanor Roosevelt Cottage, and only 20 Miles south of Historic Rhinebeck, New York. Our hotel is near IBM, The Culinary Institute of America, Marist College and Vassar College. We are also minutes away from Vassar Brothers Hospital and St. Francis Hospital. Our newly renovated Poughkeepsie hotel features well appointed guest rooms, Free Wireless High Speed Internet Access, a Seasonal Outdoor Pool, Complimentary Local Shuttle Service limited, Free Guest Laundry Services, and 24 Hour Business Center with printing service. Start the day right with our Complimentary Express Start Breakfast Bar served every morning featuring the world's best tasting hot cinnamon roll, and many other delicious breakfast items including eggs, bacon, and sausage.Visit Poughkeepsie, NY and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie Hotel Poughkeepsie
Holiday Inn Poughkeepsie
Poughkeepsie Holiday Inn Express

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.