We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Multiple Stays” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2750 South Road, Rt. 9 & Sharon Dr., Poughkeepsie, NY 12601   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 14 hotels in Poughkeepsie
Lafayette, IN
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Multiple Stays”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Had to visit NY for family issues - this HI was convenient for everything we had to take care of.
The staff is friendly, helpful and accommodating to our needs. The room was especially clean, quiet, the beds comfy and the cinnamon rolls are a breakfast must. Know we will have to travel back to NY and this will be our only choice for a place to stay.

Room Tip: Since we had a u-haul trailer we wanted to be able to keep an eye - the room request we made so we c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiepoughkeepsie, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
I truly appreciate you taking the time to write a review about your recent stay. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience as well as the breakfast choices. We've recently added a few items to the breakfast buffet, and on your next trip I hope you'll like the additions as much as the cinnamon rolls.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best regards,

Rachel Kuhn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    100
    33
    9
    0
See reviews for
74
49
8
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
L.I., NY
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We needed a place to stay the night before skiing at Mohonk. Found this hotel online and read the reviews, which were correct. It was clean, comfortable, updated, quiet. No problems whatsoever. Staff was very nice. Breakfast was very good too. We would stay here again, absolutely.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiepoughkeepsie, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Hello Kim,

Thank you very much for reviewing the hotel. I truly appreciate your comments and am delighted you chose to stay with us. I am happy to hear you found the hotel to your liking, especially that you liked our staff. The staff works diligently at ensuring every guest feels welcomed and comfortable, while creating a friendly and inviting atmosphere. It is like being checked in by one of your own friends!

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best regards,
Cruskaia Albert-Hall
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie was our motel of choice based on previous reviews. We were pleased. The place was very clean, including the bathroom, beds confortable, quiet, the check-in staff was excellent, breakfast was appropriate, overall value was good, the location was ideal. No complaints.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiepoughkeepsie, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Many thanks for reviewing the hotel. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay, especially the cleanliness of the rooms and the front desk staff. The housekeepers work diligently to ensure all rooms are in excellent condition and the staff strives to make sure every guest is welcomed in a courteous and friendly way. It should feel like a home away from home!

Come back soon!

Best regards,
Cruskaia Albert-Hall
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ct
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

rating is relative to holiday inns- the facility is clean and the lobbyis very welcoming. front staff is very nice and the rooms are quiet and clean. it's close to all the colleges which is why we were there.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiepoughkeepsie, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for reviewing the hotel! I am delighted to hear you found the hotel welcoming and clean. I am especially happy to hear you liked our staff! They truly are the best at what they do and always make sure guests feel welcomed the moment they walk in the door. The hotel is one of the closest hotels to the schools, so keep us in mind next time you are visiting the colleges in the area.

Hope to welcome you back soon!

Best regards,
Cruskaia Albert-Hall
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eldred, New York
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I have stayed here 3 times while attending swim meets at Marist. This hotel has great location. You can enjoy everything the Hudson Valley has to offer. As for the hotel, the staff and management was up to par with everything. Every request was taken care of. The breakfast staff was extemely friendly. Front desk recommended places to visit in the area. Request a top floor for peace and comfort. Rooms very clean. Would have given 5 stars but all the times I have visited there has been a wedding party. No problems so far but have dodged many bullets. Love peace and quiet. But I understand why groups gather here, just a great Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiepoughkeepsie, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Hello Greg,

Many thanks for reviewing the hotel! It is very nice to see you are a regular guest here and I thank you for your continued support. The hotel staff and management strive to achieve excellence in everything they do - it is one of the things that sets the hotel apart. Thank you very much for pointing that out. I am happy to hear that even though each of your visits was over a very busy weekend, you still found the hotel quiet and inviting. That is terrific!

I hope you visit again soon.

Best regards,
Cruskaia Albert-Hall
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gypsum, Colorado
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Stayed here on a Hotwire reservation and everything was great. It's a typical Holiday Inn- nicer then many I have stayed in. Staff was great. Very clean. Typical Holiday Inn breakfast (good or bad depending on your taste). Good location between old downtown and the newer restaurants/ stores south of town. I got a great price on Hotwire which made it really worth it... the initial prices I saw online from other sites were closer to the "higher end" chains and if prices are close on my next trip I would still probably stay with them (Hilton, Marriott). But if you get a good price this place is clean, nice and a good value.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiepoughkeepsie, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for reviewing the hotel! I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay, especially the staff and cleanliness of the rooms. The staff works very hard to make sure every guest feels welcomed the moment they walk in the door. It is very nice to hear you like the location as well. Don't forget we have a complimentary shuttle that can take you to places nearby, helping make your stay more comfortable, convenient, and still at a great value!

Best regards,
Cruskaia Albert-Hall
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hartford, ct
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have no idea what people are complaining about. I received a great rate on Hotwire and am totally pleased. The hotel was clean, room was very comfortable, employees were extremely friendly and helpful, breakfast was plentiful and full of options. The hotel is located on route 9 and is easy to navigate to "downtown" Poughkeepsie and is not far from 84. Despite being close to a busy road, I never once heard a peep from passing cars.

The only things that were even moderately an issue is that the shower does take a little bit of time to warm up. The free wi-fi was also a bit slow and was difficult to connect to (although this was probably my comp's problem.) I would recommend staying on a higher floor to avoid elevator/laundry noise that was more apparent on the 1st floor. Either way, I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiepoughkeepsie, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you very much for staying with us and posting a review about your stay. I'm very happy to know that you enjoyed it the hotel and the staff. I appreciate your feedback regarding the speed of the wireless and how long it took for you to get hot water. We will work hard to ensure these issues are resolved.

Thank you again for taking the time to write. We hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,

Rachel Kuhn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie

Address: 2750 South Road, Rt. 9 & Sharon Dr., Poughkeepsie, NY 12601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Poughkeepsie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Poughkeepsie
#3 Family Hotel in Poughkeepsie
#4 Business Hotel in Poughkeepsie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Poughkeepsie, New York.At the moment you enter the bright, airy lobby of the Holiday Inn Express hotel Poughkeepsie, you are welcomed into a unique hotel with a mix of contemporary chic and charming traditional ambiance, personalized service, and contemporary amenities.The Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie government hotel is centrally located in the Hudson Valley area of New York near many attractions such as FDR Presidential Library, Vanderbilt Mansion and Eleanor Roosevelt Cottage, and only 20 Miles south of Historic Rhinebeck, New York. Our hotel is near IBM, The Culinary Institute of America, Marist College and Vassar College. We are also minutes away from Vassar Brothers Hospital and St. Francis Hospital. Our newly renovated Poughkeepsie hotel features well appointed guest rooms, Free Wireless High Speed Internet Access, a Seasonal Outdoor Pool, Complimentary Local Shuttle Service limited, Free Guest Laundry Services, and 24 Hour Business Center with printing service. Start the day right with our Complimentary Express Start Breakfast Bar served every morning featuring the world's best tasting hot cinnamon roll, and many other delicious breakfast items including eggs, bacon, and sausage.Visit Poughkeepsie, NY and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie Hotel Poughkeepsie
Holiday Inn Poughkeepsie
Poughkeepsie Holiday Inn Express

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.