We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hated Every Bit of It!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Poughkeepsie Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Poughkeepsie Inn to your Saves list
Poughkeepsie Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2625 South Road, Poughkeepsie, NY 12601   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Poughkeepsie
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Hated Every Bit of It!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

Stayed here because it was the closest vacant hotel near Vassar College. In short I paid $300 to sleep in dirt for 2 nights. As soon as I walked in the room I was greeted by the cheap decor of a street walkers work place & a horrible smell that remained throughout my stay. Everything in the room smelled!! The bathroom was far from clean....the shower looked like nobody cleaned it since the place was built. There were stains everywhere...on the walls, floors, toilets, & tub. The sheets were paper thin & although they didnt smell...the rooms odor made it very hard to sleep. I was also bothered by the fact that you had to go to the front desk for an iron, to place additional money on your room to make phone calls, & other things I thought just came with the room. Now I knew before coming to stay here I wasnt going to the Hilton but honeslty I would have rather saved my money & slept in my car. I slept fully dressed & took showers with flip flops on. Lastly, I ALWAYS put the do not disturb sign on my door knob....for some reason room service bypassed the door sign, came in my room, replaced only the toilet paper & towels, while leaving the bed unmade. I hated every minute of my stay @ Poughkeepsie Inn.

Room Tip: stay in another hotel!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    14
    6
    5
    23
See reviews for
15
14
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

The hotel is a no frills hotel in a great location with owners who will go out of their way
to make sure you have a pleasant stay. It is quiet and on open grounds with a tasty breakfast provided in the morning.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poughkeepsieinn, Director of Sales at Poughkeepsie Inn, responded to this review, May 10, 2011
Thank you so much for your feedback with your token of appreciation. We try our best to keep the stay of our guests as homely as possible with clean rooms and basic amenities.
Such comments help in boosting/our as well our teams moral so as to outshine your past stay as and when you come back. Once again, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011

Stayed here when Buttermilk Inn in Milton NY, bumped us from a room reserved 4 months in advance and no other property was available. This is a Motel, not an Inn. Mattresses, linens, pillows, blankets and towels horrible. Stains on carpet and poor heating completed the picture. But on the down side, College homecoming event provided us with both exercise and entertainment - when we called the front desk repeatably during the night about drunks and roudy guests. When the Police finally arrived we got some z's.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upstate ny
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

Needed an inexpensive place to stay overnight for a conference. The room was very clean, but the linens and furnishings were like nothing I've seen in a hotel in the US. The sheets and blankets were clean but full of cigarette and other holes. There was no fitted bottom linen so the sheets slid around the bed during sleep, revealing a bare mattress. The chair in the room was so filthy I doubt it would be accepted as a charity donation. I asked to have it replaced. They were courteous but had no other, so brought a sheet to cover it. Room was located at the end of the building. That evening a young man with a bike was lurking in the dark, smoking weed. When I came around the corner to look, he quickly disappeared into the shadows. They should lower their prices, stop pretending to be a hotel, strip the rooms to the bare minimum (toss the disgusting furniture) and turn it into hostel. Poughkeepsie could use a place like that.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smyrna, Delaware
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2010

Could only get a king smoking room.Cobwebs on ceiling.Bathroom stinks of urine.Shower does not work -if you unscrew showerhead you get a little stream of water out.Linen stink of smoke.Ciggarette burnmarks on bedcover and on bathedge.Blanket on bed washed out-full of holes.
BEST PART OF OUR NIGHT-The guest in the next room start banging on walls approx. 11 pm.Try to sleep..No sucsess,went to frontdesk 2 am and complain.police arrived.warned guest.Slept until 4am.police out again.warned person again.Police arrived 3rd time approx.5.40am .-took person away.No further sleep for us.
Was still charged $123.29 for this experience.Booked out-luckely their was a cancelation at the MARRIOT-what a difference.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2010

In mid-summer 2009 I visited Poughkeepsie and, coincidentally, ate at the Coyote Grille, next door to the 'old' Econo Lodge. It looked almost abandoned. Early in 2010 it became necessary to bring the family together in May. After reading the, now, new Poughkeepsie Inn website, I called to enquire about the status of the operation and on-going renovations. The manager could not have been more helpful in accommodating family and friends arriving on different days and times, and offering amenities, if desired. The rooms were clean and attended to promptly each day. I stayed there for 11 days and would definitely stay there again.
Trencher41

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pok ny
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2009

The hotel front desk is the most friendly you will come to meet, accomodating efficient and very pleasant. I believe her name is Ritu. A hilton it is not, but the room has always been available when requested and is clean and presentable. The bedding although clean could be updated a bit as the hotel is dated. The bathrooms have been updated with re-Bath and is fine. Towels etc are always clean and the bath is presentable.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Poughkeepsie Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poughkeepsie Inn

Address: 2625 South Road, Poughkeepsie, NY 12601
Location: United States > New York > Poughkeepsie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Poughkeepsie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Poughkeepsie Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Poughkeepsie Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poughkeepsie Hotel Poughkeepsie
Econo Lodge Poughkeepsie
Poughkeepsie Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poughkeepsie Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.