We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, convenient.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Poughkeepsie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Poughkeepsie to your Saves list
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2641 South Road, Route 9, Poughkeepsie, NY 12601   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Poughkeepsie
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good hotel, convenient.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

I recently stayed a night here after doing a snow hike at Minnewaska State Park. The park is about 25 miles away from the hotel, it was a quick drive, even at night. It was a good stay and it is close to shopping... which was great and convenient.

Room Tip: Second floor has balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    124
    39
    8
    7
See reviews for
81
74
13
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

The hotel room was wonderfully clean (Elizabeth was our housekeeper), it was spotless and fresh smelling. Latoya at the front desk and on the phone was incredible. She was friendly, welcoming, accomodating and really WOWed me. I have to say that it was one of my best check ins ofall time. David at the desk was also very friendly and seemed to genuinly care about how my stay was. I am looking forward to my next stay at this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori_Poughkeepsie_GM, General Manager at Courtyard Poughkeepsie, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you so very much for taking the time to recognize by name, those staff members who provided you with excellent hospitality during your stay. I know they were very pleased to see that they were able to make a positive impact. Our entire team works very hard to ensure each guest experience is memorable. We are so grateful for the opportunity to be your host in the Hudson Valley. Wishing you safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Village, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We had a very pleasant experience here. The desk staff (and all the employees for that matter) were courteous and friendly. The room was spotless, as was the rest of the hotel. Everything worked and we had no complaints with any of the accommodations.

The Bistro was a minor disappointment because the first night we were there we had planned to have a light dinner after a big lunch nearby. Unfortunately, they had run out of most of the things we requested, apparently due to a big crowd the prior night. We wound up going to a nearby TGI Fridays as a result.

We were surprised by the color scheme in the room - colors were very bright. This seemed to date the hotel a little - but nothing was worn and there were no signs of anything being outdated.

The toilet is one of those new-fangled low flow units, which drives everyone nuts. I don't understand how you save water when you have to flush twice every time. But that's not Marriott's fault, I guess.

Overall, a very pleasant stay and we would definitely stay there again. The location is excellent, nearby are several universities, the Culinary Institute, and the Franklin Roosevelt museum and library (worth every penny to visit - it can take more than 4 hours to see it all, so go early). Also the Vanderbilt mansion is nearby, but we didn't get to see it this trip. We want to go back to do the 'walk across the Hudson' in the spring or summer.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor, facing the courtyard. The rooms were extremely quiet; there was a girls...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

The front desk people at this property are wonderful.

Kemorene Henry is above and beyond what we normally find in the best of hotels. She's great.

The other front desk staff members we met were also just wonderful.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

I come up here on business once a month and this place is very cozy. The staff seems to always be friendly. I usually request the first floor not basement floor because its out of the way. The fitness room is great for a quick cardio session. Pool is indoors and good for a swim. Do not waste money on the Bistro place. The are over priced and there are many places near the hotel to grab cheaper better food!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori_Poughkeepsie_GM, General Manager at Courtyard Poughkeepsie, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your candid feedback from your recent stay. I know there are many hotel choices in Poughkeepsie, we are very thankful for your loyalty. I am pleased to hear that your stay was enjoyable and the staff was friendly. Please reach out to me personally when your travels bring you back to the Hudson Valley. I would be pleased for the chance to have you sample some of the seasonal fresh menu items in our Bistro. I know you will be pleasantly surprised with the variety and freshness of the ingredients!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canandaigua, New York
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We were in town for a pre-Thanksgiving visit w/ family. We chose Courtyard based on price & previous stays here for family visits and business trips before our daughter & her family lived here. The Courtyard is dependable for providing a comfortable, pleasant stay; everything working as expected in our room and staff that makes you feel welcome.
We had our family in to use the indoor pool on this extremely quiet weekend at the inn. Very pleasant w/ only one other family also in the pool while we were all enjoying ourselves.
The only things that we could ask for were a lower nightly rate, (all lodging is high around here), and a complementary breakfast. But this is the Hudson Valley and that is wishful thinking.
All in all, very enjoyable!

Room Tip: Courtyard side is quiet in winter without cars or people to make noise. Lone elevator is clear in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdale, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We stayed here for four nights in late October 2013. We used it as a central location to visit a lot of the Hudson Valley attractions (FDR's home, Vanderbilt Mansion, West Point). In fact, as mentioned in other reviews, one of our destinations, Locust Grove, was within walking distance, and was convenient for taking a walk since the grounds are open during the day. The hotel itself generally worked for us. We were on the first floor, so it was easy to load and unload. We were towards the back of the building, so there was no road noise. The hotel itself is right on US 9, so the traffic going by the front of the hotel can get pretty loud, and I'm not sure how audible it would be in rooms that are close to the front of the building. Also, you can only turn right out of the hotel onto 9 South, so if you want to head north, you'll have to make a U-turn. The room gave us plenty of space and included a coffee maker, which came in handy. Occasionally I could hear noises from the other rooms, but it wasn't to the point of being an annoyance. We had breakfast at the bistro cafe once, but generally went for other meal options since the bistro was rather expensive. Fortunately, there is a grocery store and several restaurants nearby (including Coyote Grill wihin walking distance). Unfortunately, there was no fridge or microwave in the room. The lobby also offered two computers for use, which was covenient. All in all, a worthwhile stay.

Room Tip: The back of the building may be quieter as it is further away from the road. Also, an interior room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Poughkeepsie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Poughkeepsie

Address: 2641 South Road, Route 9, Poughkeepsie, NY 12601
Location: United States > New York > Poughkeepsie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Poughkeepsie
#4 Business Hotel in Poughkeepsie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Poughkeepsie 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Marriott and Hotels.com so you can book your Courtyard Poughkeepsie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Poughkeepsie Hotel Poughkeepsie
Poughkeepsie Courtyard
Poughkeepsie Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Poughkeepsie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.