We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent, but not the best Courtyard.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Poughkeepsie

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Poughkeepsie to your Saves list
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2641 South Road, Route 9, Poughkeepsie, NY 12601   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book our Breakfast Pkg!
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Poughkeepsie
Lake George, New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Decent, but not the best Courtyard.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This is an older Courtyard that has been freshened up. We stayed just one night and the bed and room were comfortable. For the first time in all of my hotel staying days I actually wanted to read the Sunday paper but they don't provide that on the weekends. Ironic. I forgot my phone charger so the staff did charge my Iphone for me at the front desk while I ate breakfast. The main lobby is also the food area and is a completely open floor plan. ....I guess I am a little more critical than usual considering the price tag for my Saturday night stay was $200 after taxes. While we qualified for some discount because of AAA or something (my mother was with me), I still felt this was expensive for the type of hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori_Poughkeepsie_GM, General Manager at Courtyard Poughkeepsie, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay in Poughkeepsie at our hotel. We are pleased to hear that our staff was able to assist you with needed items. Our refresh is complete with all rooms and public space receiving a complete renovation. Rates vary throughout the year with weekend rates at their peak May - October. We offer advance purchase rates throughout the year at discounted rates as well as some really attractive weekend rates during the summer off peak dates as well as Late October through April. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    115
    38
    6
    7
See reviews for
75
71
12
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pawleys Island, SC
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

This is one of the better Courtyard Marriott's I have stayed. My family and I spent two nights here and it was a great stay. Property and grounds were immaculate. There is plenty of parking and staff were friendly and accommodating. The housekeeper even left a handwritten note commenting that she hoped we were having a wonderful stay. I didn't use the fitness center but took full advantage of the indoor pool with my grandchildren. For those with disability, the pool area is in full compliance with the ADA. Although the property seems well established, the interior appears to have been recently remodeled. If you opt not to eat at the hotel, there are plenty of diners nearby. Our family had a great brunch at the Table Top diner just a quarter mile away.

Cons: (1) If you need to proceed to the left (toward Vasssar) out of the Courtyard property, you will be required to drive over a half mile before being able to make a U-Turn. (2) For those who are light sleepers, the window HVAC unit might keep you awake when it turns itself on and off to maintain temperature.

Room Tip: This is a large, spread out, property. If you have issues walking or carrying bags, you should requ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attleboro, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We only stayed one night, and it was our first time at a Courtyard, but we would definitely stay at a Courtyard if the opportunity presented itself. The staff at the front desk was courteous, friendly and very accommodating. They apologized for the noise the construction was making but I didn't even hear anything until they pointed it out. The room was clean and fresh. The bed was very comfortable and the bedding was spotless. We only ate at the "cafe" for breakfast, but were surprised at the selection and service. We didn't have to make our own waffles!

Room Tip: Don't know about the other rooms, but ours was great. The AC was quiet and we got to stay on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

This Marriott was redone in the past year, and is now in keeping with the current Courtyard Marriott design. Our room was modern, fresh, and clean. The staff was helpful. Above all, the beds were comfy, and the sheets and duvet were soft. This is officially our go-to place in Poughkeepsie.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st louis,mo
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

If you are going to spend time in the Hudson Valley the courtyard in poughkeepsie is a great choice. The hotel is typical marriott standard. ITs clean the rooms are spacious and modern. Its only four miles from the CIA(well worth the trip) and FDRs library

Room Tip: great location
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed at the hotel overnight. It is located along the main road with nearby chain restaurants and shops. The staff is welcoming. The lobby is very nice and like all courtyards has a small bar. While other reviewers stated that the hotel was in the midst of a renovation and apparently enjoyed new rooms, our room was not. We had a room with a king sized bed. It was a small room with clean surfaces, bedding, and a spotless bathroom. The carpet, however, had seen better days and was visibly stained. While we generally had a good night sleep, we could easily hear people in the hallway which impacted our sleep. We know that we will be back in the area, and we hope that by then all rooms will be renovated.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

I am wrapping up a 3 night stay at the Courtyard in Poughkeepsie. This is one of the nicer Courtyards I have frequented, which is in the midst of a giant renovation. Unlike many other "renovated" Courtyards, this one did it right. Everything is brand new. Not a mish mosh of new and old.

I have a King with sofa, and it has both a fridge and microwave. A nice comfortable bed. Clean as a whistle. Quiet. I honestly haven't heard any noise from other guests or construction the entire time I have been here.

My AC broke during my stay, and while not hot, given the proximity to Rte 9 you really can't sleep with the windows open. I called downstairs in the morning before I left for my client to see if it could be fixed, and by the time I returned it was not only fixed, there was a letter and some candy from the chief engineer apologizing for the issue.

The only thing that would make the place perfect would be HD channels on the large LCD HDTV. Many similar hotels offer this now as standard.

All the staff have been helpful and wonderful! I will definitely return if in the area again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Poughkeepsie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Poughkeepsie

Address: 2641 South Road, Route 9, Poughkeepsie, NY 12601
Location: United States > New York > Poughkeepsie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Poughkeepsie
#2 Business Hotel in Poughkeepsie
#2 Romantic Hotel in Poughkeepsie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Poughkeepsie 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard Poughkeepsie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Poughkeepsie Hotel Poughkeepsie
Poughkeepsie Marriott
Poughkeepsie Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Poughkeepsie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.