We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would Not Recommend” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cloud 9 Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cloud 9 Hotel to your Saves list
Cloud 9 Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2349 South Road, Poughkeepsie, NY 12601 (Formerly Super 8 Poughkeepsie)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Poughkeepsie
Chicago
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Would Not Recommend”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2009

Had reservation. Checked-in, room had window that would not close. Asked for change, desk clerk said no other rooms available (this was in the afternoon, not evening). Asked again later and evening clerk was very helpful and switched us to an empty room. Both rooms had musty smell, both had burned out lightbulbs, one had exposed wiring coming out the wall, the second had an unattached light fixture hanging off the wall.

Breakfast bar was empty in the morning - no coffee, bagels, etc. Had to find desk clerk to restock. Wireless Internet very slow.

Room charge was excessive for this type of hotel. Poor value. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    21
    32
    14
    20
See reviews for
44
20
7
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2009

My daughter and I stayed here for two nights while exploring colleges. The room was clean and comfortable and the staff was extremely helpful. The night clerk spent more than an hour chasing down a wi-fi card for me to use with my laptop (the internet connection is wi-fi only). The basics were good, but I never could decide which continent the 'continental breakfast' represented (Antarctica, I think) and the coffee was obviously made by a confirmed tea drinker. However, there are decent places to eat nearby.
It's a Super 8: I've stayed in better, I've stayed in worse. This one seemed a little pricey for what you get.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH / VT
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2008

My wife and I made reservations online months in advance for our daughter's graduation. When we arrived, reservation confirmation in hand - we were told that our reservation could not be found.

I showed them the reservation confirmation confirmation, and the fact that I had PAID on line for the rooms (79/night) for two nights, but the guy at the desk said that they were in the process of changing to a Comfort Inn, and had no access to the Super 8 reservation system. Just like the reviewer above, he offered me a room - with 2 full beds, not a king room - for the "discounted" price of an ADDITIONAL $90/night.

After a nightmarish hour wondering if we would have a place to stay for graduation, we lucked out on a cancellation at another hotel.

STAY AWAY! CAVEAT EMPTOR! One of my life's key moments (graduation) was almost destroyed by this crooks. I'm filing a complaint with the Dutchess County Dept of Consumer Affairs.

  • Disliked — The staff
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2007

The hotel quoted a rate of $69.99 per night for two nights but had "lost" the reservation when we arrived and could not find it in the system. They charged us $99.99 per night for the two nights. It turns out they had made the reservation for a date exactly one month later--a fact discovered when the charge for a "no-show" showed up on our bill. An honest mistake--except that "Harry," the manager, refused to return calls about the mistake, refused to give his last name, refused to admit that the hotel made any such mistakes, insisted that the hotel never offered a rate of $69.99--despite the fact that it was on the no-show billl, and hung up on me when I asked a second time for his last name. This is the kind of treatment one expects in a third-world prison, not from Super 8 and "Harry."

  • Liked — Newness and location
  • Disliked — Insolent manager; mistakes in reservations; insulting and rude treatment
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cloud 9 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cloud 9 Hotel

Address: 2349 South Road, Poughkeepsie, NY 12601 (Formerly Super 8 Poughkeepsie)
Location: United States > New York > Poughkeepsie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Poughkeepsie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cloud 9 Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Cloud 9 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Poughkeepsie
Poughkeepsie Super Eight
Poughkeepsie Super 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cloud 9 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.