We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for a night” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cloud 9 Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cloud 9 Hotel to your Saves list
Cloud 9 Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2349 South Road, Poughkeepsie, NY 12601 (Formerly Super 8 Poughkeepsie)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Poughkeepsie
Bangor, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Ok for a night”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Staff pleasant and helpful. Room clean but a/c produced an unpleasant smell.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urvi7, Manager at Cloud 9 Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thank you :) for your generous comments and sending us your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We will see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    21
    32
    14
    20
See reviews for
44
20
7
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

I was laying in bed and a spider crawled right next to me..Long black hairs on my pillows and towers on arrival. Breakfast was alright but overall stale. Showers were good, bathroom was good. There was a huge party upstairs from my room and all I could here was LOUD music and people stomping around. I waited awhile hoping to GOD it would stop because I had a 7 hour drive very early the next morning

Needless to say I called the front desk and ask them to do something about it and they did nothing. Then I got up out of bed got dressed and went to the front desk to yell for the guy who was sleeping...he said he would go up there but did nothing it continued. I couldnt move because i was with a handicapped person who was heavily asleep. Then the stomping stopped but the DIrty Dirty started. All i heard ALL night was something no one should have to go through...all I can say is that they were VERY loud. The next morning I went to breakfast and saw a 3 teenagers 1 girl and 2 guys, they looked very worn out and look like they were partying their [--] off

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urvi7, Manager at Cloud 9 Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Thank you for your stay at the Hampton Inn Destin. I do apologize for the hotel not meeting your expectations.. I'm sorry that you had issues while staying at my hotel. I have made inquiries with my housekeeping supervisor.There may have been a training issue and I will correct. I do apologize.

I hope that when you return to Poughkeepsie, you will contact myself. I assure you I will exceed your expectations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

We stayed four days at this Super 8 while attending a wedding. The room and motel were on the plain side. However, we have no complaint because this motel was the most economical clean and comfortable lodging in the Poughkeepsie area. The motel room itself is sizeable; so two people do not feel cramped in the room. The room was clean. The complimentary breakfast was satisfactory and the dining area provided enough space so that a dozen people could eat breakfast at the same time. The motel is located on the main north/south street of Poughkeepsie, close to the IBM facility and to many restaurants. We had no problem with noise.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urvi7, Manager at Cloud 9 Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
Thank you :) for your generous comments and sending us your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We will see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012 via mobile

Only stayed one of the two nights booked due to no sleep from the walking around upstairs. I could not relocate or get a refund so walked next door to the Sheraton and slept!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urvi7, Manager at Cloud 9 Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I apologize for any inconvenience the noise has caused you during you stay. Please contact me personally when you are planning your next trip to the Poughkeepsie. I will make sure you receive a room in a quieter location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

Recently stayed here because I was traveling with my 2 small dogs and needed a "pet-friendly" place. The pet policy here is absurd; $25 per night PER PET! There is absolutely no reason to charge for an additional dog! I know some people who travel with their pets may not be very considerate, but even so, $25 per night is more than enough to cover possible extra cleaning should that be necessary. Our room was large, as others have stated, with a King bed, but there was a big empty space between the bed and the window with one hard, not rolling chair; no couch, no comfy lounge chair, no ottoman, no desk chair, meaning we had to lie in bed to watch TV or read. The carpet was wrinkled in places, almost to the point of being a tripping hazard. The refrigerator froze all the food. The continental breakfast was a joke! I should have stayed at the Hampton Inn next door which served a full hot breakfast and charged a $40 PER STAY pet charge regardless of the number of pets or days stayed.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urvi7, Manager at Cloud 9 Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to send your comments. I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you experienced. Our pet fees are same for all the guest and I have addressed these concerns about room funitures with my staff and management. Please contact me personally the next time you are planning a visit to Pooughkeepsie. I promise you will have a better stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

I have stayed at approximately 10 local hotels in the area over the 4 years my daughter has attended one of the local colleges. Since staying at this one, we have only came here. The staff is very accomidating. During our most recent stay, there was a city wide power outage from 4:30 am to 7:30 am. The staff sprang into action conserving heat by closing all the hallway doors and were everywhere. Felt very comfortable to go back to my room and go back to bed. They had all under control. The nice lady who cleaned the room always came back when it was convenient for us. And when she did come back to clean our room she really spruced it up. We will only stay here in the future on our trips to Poughkeepsie.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urvi7, Manager at Cloud 9 Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how much you have enjoyed your stay. I hope we have exceeded your expectations! I am so proud of my team and glad to hear they made your stay a memorable one. We hope to see you again on your next visit to the Poughkeepsie!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

I stayed in a non-smoking room, king sized bed on the first floor for 3 nights. The room was very large, easily could have fit two kings. The mattress was firm and had very warm blankets. The heater worked extremely well, but there was a slight odor when I first turned it on. From what I could tell, the room had always been non-smoking.
There was a mini-fridge, however it was set to freeze everything. There is a microwave in the lobby however, so that was not a problem.
The room was clean, and the staff did a nice job of putting the room back in order every day.
A few negatives about the room- One was a small thing; the hotel only provided shampoo and not conditioner. The second, a much larger issue, is noise.
While the halls are quiet and the staff is quick to respond to noisy people in the halls/common areas, I ended up awake half the night because I could hear the ceiling creaking as the people above me walked around their room.
If you're going to stay at this hotel, a second floor room is a must- but then you'll have to use the stairs because there is no elevator.

The breakfast is standard fair- plain bagels, two kinds of cereal, and some mini-muffins. The juice machine was functional although the juices were rather off color from what I expect orange or apple juice to look like. The toaster was too enthusiastic, and had to be watched constantly or the bagel would burn. There is no sign posted to this effect.

The staff wasn't overly friendly, but did everything I'd expect. I had no problem checking in late, 9pm.

The hotel is in a very good location- it's about 5 minutes drive from the local mall and maybe 15 to downtown. I was easily able to drive around to Poughkeepsie and New Paltz without stressing out about the drive 'home'. The only thing I'd mention is from Route 9 it looks like there is only one entrance to the hotel (which is off of a one way street), but if you go around the other hotel and restaurant in the same plaza then you come out to an exit which goes out to a light, allowing you can turn in either direction.

For an inexpensive hotel, it met my expectations in most respects. The only issue was the noisy ceiling but a second floor room would solve that.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor won't have creaking ceiling issue- but there are only stairs, no eleva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urvi7, Manager at Cloud 9 Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to give us review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future.

Again, thank you for completing our Hotel and if I can be of assistance to you, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 845-462-7800
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cloud 9 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cloud 9 Hotel

Address: 2349 South Road, Poughkeepsie, NY 12601 (Formerly Super 8 Poughkeepsie)
Location: United States > New York > Poughkeepsie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Poughkeepsie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cloud 9 Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Tingo so you can book your Cloud 9 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Poughkeepsie
Poughkeepsie Super Eight
Poughkeepsie Super 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cloud 9 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.