We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Barely acceptable” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Poughkeepsie

Save Saved
You added Super 8 Poughkeepsie to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Super 8 Poughkeepsie
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2349 South Road, Poughkeepsie, NY 12601 (Formerly Arnav Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 14 hotels in Poughkeepsie
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Barely acceptable”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

Recently stayed here because I was traveling with my 2 small dogs and needed a "pet-friendly" place. The pet policy here is absurd; $25 per night PER PET! There is absolutely no reason to charge for an additional dog! I know some people who travel with their pets may not be very considerate, but even so, $25 per night is more than enough to cover possible extra cleaning should that be necessary. Our room was large, as others have stated, with a King bed, but there was a big empty space between the bed and the window with one hard, not rolling chair; no couch, no comfy lounge chair, no ottoman, no desk chair, meaning we had to lie in bed to watch TV or read. The carpet was wrinkled in places, almost to the point of being a tripping hazard. The refrigerator froze all the food. The continental breakfast was a joke! I should have stayed at the Hampton Inn next door which served a full hot breakfast and charged a $40 PER STAY pet charge regardless of the number of pets or days stayed.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urvi7, Manager at Super 8 Poughkeepsie, responded to this review, March 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to send your comments. I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you experienced. Our pet fees are same for all the guest and I have addressed these concerns about room funitures with my staff and management. Please contact me personally the next time you are planning a visit to Pooughkeepsie. I promise you will have a better stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    20
    30
    13
    15
See reviews for
41
16
7
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carrollton, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

I have stayed at approximately 10 local hotels in the area over the 4 years my daughter has attended one of the local colleges. Since staying at this one, we have only came here. The staff is very accomidating. During our most recent stay, there was a city wide power outage from 4:30 am to 7:30 am. The staff sprang into action conserving heat by closing all the hallway doors and were everywhere. Felt very comfortable to go back to my room and go back to bed. They had all under control. The nice lady who cleaned the room always came back when it was convenient for us. And when she did come back to clean our room she really spruced it up. We will only stay here in the future on our trips to Poughkeepsie.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urvi7, Manager at Super 8 Poughkeepsie, responded to this review, February 1, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how much you have enjoyed your stay. I hope we have exceeded your expectations! I am so proud of my team and glad to hear they made your stay a memorable one. We hope to see you again on your next visit to the Poughkeepsie!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

I stayed in a non-smoking room, king sized bed on the first floor for 3 nights. The room was very large, easily could have fit two kings. The mattress was firm and had very warm blankets. The heater worked extremely well, but there was a slight odor when I first turned it on. From what I could tell, the room had always been non-smoking.
There was a mini-fridge, however it was set to freeze everything. There is a microwave in the lobby however, so that was not a problem.
The room was clean, and the staff did a nice job of putting the room back in order every day.
A few negatives about the room- One was a small thing; the hotel only provided shampoo and not conditioner. The second, a much larger issue, is noise.
While the halls are quiet and the staff is quick to respond to noisy people in the halls/common areas, I ended up awake half the night because I could hear the ceiling creaking as the people above me walked around their room.
If you're going to stay at this hotel, a second floor room is a must- but then you'll have to use the stairs because there is no elevator.

The breakfast is standard fair- plain bagels, two kinds of cereal, and some mini-muffins. The juice machine was functional although the juices were rather off color from what I expect orange or apple juice to look like. The toaster was too enthusiastic, and had to be watched constantly or the bagel would burn. There is no sign posted to this effect.

The staff wasn't overly friendly, but did everything I'd expect. I had no problem checking in late, 9pm.

The hotel is in a very good location- it's about 5 minutes drive from the local mall and maybe 15 to downtown. I was easily able to drive around to Poughkeepsie and New Paltz without stressing out about the drive 'home'. The only thing I'd mention is from Route 9 it looks like there is only one entrance to the hotel (which is off of a one way street), but if you go around the other hotel and restaurant in the same plaza then you come out to an exit which goes out to a light, allowing you can turn in either direction.

For an inexpensive hotel, it met my expectations in most respects. The only issue was the noisy ceiling but a second floor room would solve that.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor won't have creaking ceiling issue- but there are only stairs, no eleva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urvi7, Manager at Super 8 Poughkeepsie, responded to this review, January 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to give us review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future.

Again, thank you for completing our Hotel and if I can be of assistance to you, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 845-462-7800
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson Falls, New York, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

I conduct business in Poughkeepsie every month and stay at this location. The staff is always friendly and often when I arrive to check in and I state my name they reply with "We have been expecting you Mr. LaBelle".

Last night they were very busy at arount 9:45 PM and Joanne was great she was being pulled in every direction possible and the service she was giving was still Great!!!!

I will be back next month...........

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
supeight, General Manager at Super 8 Poughkeepsie, responded to this review, November 7, 2011
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to give us a feedback, which is extremly valuable to us, so we can utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest including you my Labelle experience the best it can be.

We will see you next month.

Thank you Once again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
READING
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

Like MBCNY, I was leary of staying here based on previous reviews, but was very pleasantly surprised. The staff was great--even got us an extra pillow for the bed without any problem. Room was very clean and well cared for. Bed was clean and very comfortable. We had a king room and it was very large! Microwave in the room, but no refrigerator. We were only there one night to be relatively close to a bike trail we were riding the next day, but could have easily stayed there several days without any problem. Only reasons I gave this a 4-star instead of a 5 was: we could really hear the people upstairs walking around, even thought they weren't particularly noisy; and the breakfast wasn't as good as we've had at other places like this--2 kinds of cereal and a couple pastries. Would definitely stay here again if in the area, though!

Room Tip: We had the king room which was really large! Only about 45 minutes from the Harlem Valley Rail Trai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
supeight, General Manager at Super 8 Poughkeepsie, responded to this review, November 3, 2011
Thank you for taking you time to let us know about you experience. We hope to see you in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

I was very worried about staying here because of all the negative reviews, but I needed a place that would accept pets and the Super 8 did. I, along with several members of my extended family ended up staying here because of a funeral. The staff was wonderful to us. The room I stayed in was a designated pet room so I expected the worst, but I was pleasantly surprised. There were no odors and it was very clean. The amenities were basic but suited our needs for a short stay.
So, if you are looking for a place to stay at a good price the Super 8 is fine.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Various
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

Rooms not cleaned, bedding dirty (body odor from previous guests)...staff helpful, but could care less. Breakfast buffet had stale food. Showers good. Sign outside stating that the land is for sale as Prime Commercial Location means they are waiting to tear the place down....so no one there cares about these ratings, cause it will be gone soon....we can only hope...

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Super 8 Poughkeepsie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Poughkeepsie

Address: 2349 South Road, Poughkeepsie, NY 12601 (Formerly Arnav Inn)
Location: United States > New York > Poughkeepsie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 hotels in Poughkeepsie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Poughkeepsie 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Super 8 on Route 9 in Poughkeepsie is completely renovated. Not only does the Super 8 have one of the best locations in Poughkeepsie, it also has the largest rooms. The rooms are very spacious and extra large - they are bigger than traditional rooms, making your stay very comfortable. Centrally located in the beautiful Hudson Valley, the Super 8 of Poughkeepsie, is in walking distance to the IBM campus, and is a short drive to the many area attractions, educational institutions, hospitals and businesses such as the FDR Presidential Historic Site, Marist College, Vassar College, Culinary Institute of America, Vanderbilt Mansion, Locust Grove of Samuel Morse, Mid-Hudson Civic Center, Historic Rhinebeck, Vassar Brothers Hospital and St. Francis Hospital. The Super 8 Offers - XL Rooms, Free High Speed Internet Access, Expanded Cable TV with HBO, Complimentary Superstart Breakfast, AM/FM Alarm Clocks, Coffeemakers, Executive Work Desk and Chair and other standard amenities. Fridge and Microwave on Request and Availability. Complimentary USA Today available. We are a pet friendly hotel based on availability - please call hotel for more details. Bus tours, groups and trucks are welcome. Adjacent to Cappucino Italian/American Bistro and Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Wyndham, Travelocity, Tingo, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Super 8 Poughkeepsie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Poughkeepsie
Poughkeepsie Super Eight
Poughkeepsie Super 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Poughkeepsie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.