We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint but expensive” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Vassar Alumnae House

Vassar Alumnae House
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Poughkeepsie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Vassar Alumnae House
Save Saved
You added Vassar Alumnae House to your Saves list
161 College Avenue, Poughkeepsie, NY 12603   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Poughkeepsie
Poughkeepsie
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Quaint but expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2010

Somehow, this place is almost always full. I'm not really a fan because everything in the hotel has been donated from Vassar graduates... so the furniture in the rooms is mismatched. And not the most comfortable. I recall the elevator either not working or not accessible to the part of the building we were living in. We had really heavy bags so that was a bummer! I guess if you're into that spend more money to go to a quaint place rather than Hampton Inn or Courtyard then sure...

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    5
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
3
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2010

My daughter and I were on a college visit to Vassar and arrived at the college late on a Monday evening. While the town around the college was quite dead (what town?), the Alumnae House was lovely and worth the stay. It has a lovely view and beautiful antiques. The rooms were nicely appointed with comfy beds and a very comfy chair, NO TV (yay!), and a retro bathroom that was very modern...the shower was great! Reasonably priced and a nice continental breakfast is included.

If we ever come back to the Hudson Valley area, this is where we will stay!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2009

Hi --

As an alum, I would just like to say that the "dorm rooms" were originally built with the intention of college students who wanted to get away from the dorm and study/rest a bit. That, or for Yale guys who visited VC for the weekend. They are meant to be simple and well priced... I think they were about $25.00 when I was there.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2008

Vassar is a beautiful college with old historical buildings - The Alumnae House is absolutely beautiful.
We booked a "dorm room" because it was the only option and we were quite surprised to see the room also - as "hanleyster"stated. His description is very adequate - although I will add that it is not horrible. If you are just sleeping and are happy to save a little money (only 65.00 a night ) than why not? You do have to share bathrooms - there are about 3-4 bathrooms on the floor with showers and stalls. We were able to move after the 1st night to a private room - it was very very nice. Even though we did not see anyone else using the shared bathrooms I still preferred to have my own bathroom. I could have gotten used to the tiny dorm room but not sharing a shower. There are no tv's in the rooms but there are cozy living rooms with tvs. There is also a library that you can sit in. Breakfast is included - a good basic continental breakfast. For some reason they just can't cook scrambled eggs - they were a big hard cake of stuck together eggs - the most horrible scrambled eggs I have ever tasted. But that was the only negative thing.

Peaceful, quiet, beautiful - you become part of a different age while you are there.

  • Liked — The building itself inside and out
  • Disliked — the scrambled eggs - really - no other complaints
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
latham
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2008

then you would LOVE the dorm style rooms of this hotel. OK, so everyone is right about the fact that is is a really "cool" old historic place to visit. It looks like it was lifted up from some old town in the UK and plopped in Poughkeepsie. I am sure the normal (expensive) rooms are fine, but dont, i stress DO NOT book the "dorm style rooms". The only thing they mention about these rooms is that you share a hallway bathroom. I was just in college not too long ago, so this was not a major deturrent. I figured that since the price was only 60$ a night compared to 150 for the real room, id gladly pay half as much and deal with the shared bathroom. I can't tell you how shocked I was when I unlocked the room and walked in. It was like something out of National Lampoon's European Vacation. The room seriously was probably about 6 x 8 and the entire ceiling was at a 45 degree angle. It was like being inside a traditional triangle chuck of cheese. The room had 2 children size beds and a light. thats it. My girlfriend did not find it amusing, but I did. THank God we were just sleeping there and then getting up early and going out. I would rather stay at a home for the mentally disturbed. I wish I had taken pictures, to try and save future travelers the terror. Yes, everything was clean, yes it was only 60$, but I have paid 60$ thru hotwire for a 4 star hotel in downtown montreal!!!!!! rooms that you could roller skate in and have balconeys overlooking a beautiful city witha pool on the roof! Well, anyways, my main point, is DONT GET THE DORM STYLE ROOM.

  • Liked — The outside.
  • Disliked — Smallest hotel room in the world.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, UK
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2007

What a great place! It is an historic building and the bedrooms and public rooms ooze history. Comfortable beds, all amenities provided (although no TV, which didn't bother us but may not suit some), wi-fi, quite location, great buffet breakfast. We were recommended to try a local restaurant (Beach Tree Grill) which was fantastic.

  • Liked — Sense of history
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
201 helpful votes 201 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2007

The Vassar Alumnae House -now open to the public, by reservatioin- is a great architectural example from the 1920s, with many original features (including lighting, window treatments, hardware on doors, floors, and wall panelling).

The rooms have homey furnishishings, the baths are well-equipped, and location is quiet. But it is the architectural features that are so unusually nice: this includes a panelled library, with floor lamps, and many back issues of the Vassar College year-books; impressive dining room; grand living room with colored ceiling panels; and terrifc windows, throughout.

The pub, located within the House but run by a spearate company, is also very good -- tasty food, good service, well-appointed dining tables, and reasonablly priced, too.

Vassar Alumane House is a great choice for this area !

  • Liked — The architecture - and quiet location
  • Stayed January 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vassar Alumnae House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vassar Alumnae House

Address: 161 College Avenue, Poughkeepsie, NY 12603
Location: United States > New York > Poughkeepsie
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Poughkeepsie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Vassar Alumnae Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vassar Alumnae House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.