We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Poughkeepsie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Poughkeepsie to your Saves list
Residence Inn Poughkeepsie
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2525 South Rd, Poughkeepsie, NY 12601   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay longer and save!
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Poughkeepsie
Long Island, NY
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed st the Poughkeepsie Residence Inn for a short overnight trip to the Hudson Valley. The place was immaculate. Whe we got there the fire was on in the lobby...very welcoming considering the cold weather. The staff was wonderful...polite and very helpful. The breakfast, which was included in the price, was very good. I would definitely recommend this property.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    52
    18
    7
    8
See reviews for
57
39
9
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

We are used to staying at Ritz Carlton properties, part of the marriot chain... This hotel was comfortable and all staff was accommodating The pool and breakfast are also assets. We look forward to returning in the not too distant future and recommending it to friends who want to visit the Hudson Valley.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Bethpage, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

it is very nice but not very glamorous. The suites are a decent size, like a small studio apt. Comfortable and in a good location. You can hear the noise in the hallways and when we went there seemed to be a lot of families with kids there. The kids were always in the indoor pool jumping and splashing and also in the hot tub. The breakfast area was packed. I like the Courtyard Marriott better but I would stay here again for the right price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poughkeepsie,NY
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

rooms are well kept beds are comfy breakfast was good no complaints
pool is small but did the job the kids enjoyed while my husband and I enjoyed the hot tub. clean and well kept with towels.
front desk is friendly and helpful lots of area resturants within waking distance

Room Tip: we stayed on a higher floor away from pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The property lies in the southern part of Poughkeepsie, NY, about four miles from downtown. The staff are amazing, the rooms are well maintained and clean, the breakfast is good and hot. We stayed there one night doing Walkway on the Hudson one day and FDR's home and Presidential Library the next.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back. They overlook the IBM campus, but past that one gets a view of the Cats...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We had a great stay at this hotel- the "hot" breakfast wasn't amazing- the eggs were kind of icky, and the sausage was really a little bit scary, but you could make your own waffles, and there were other options (yogurt, cereal, fresh fruit, etc.) I usually always stay at Marriot, and I've had better breakfasts... but overall, the hotel was very clean, staff friendly, and the location was so easy to get to from the highway. The pool/ hot tub was a nice break from apple picking. We would definately return, and I absolutely recommend! Only thing missing was room service

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginai
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Looking for another place to stay after having had a rough go with another in Poughkeepsie, we chose the Residence Inn. We were not disappointed. Everything was in great shape. Service was excellent and helpful. We went everywhere from here: Culinary Institute of America, Hudson Riverwalk, Woodstock, Vanderbilts, Mohonk, etc. Great time and memories thanks to a great Hotel. Breakfast was fresh, well stocked and maintained throughout the morning. .

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Poughkeepsie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Poughkeepsie

Address: 2525 South Rd, Poughkeepsie, NY 12601
Location: United States > New York > Poughkeepsie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Poughkeepsie
#4 Romantic Hotel in Poughkeepsie
#5 Business Hotel in Poughkeepsie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Poughkeepsie 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thrive on Long Stays... The Residence Inn Poughkeepsie Hotel has perfected the extended stay experience by combining the comforts of home with all the perks of a hotel. Situated directly in front of IBM and just minutes from The Culinary Institute of America and Marist College; our hotel is perfect for project teams, relocations, temporary housing, or corporate housing in Poughkeepsie, NY. Our all suite Poughkeepsie hotel rooms offer separate areas for sleeping, living and eating. Unwind in our heated indoor swimming pool and spa, Sport Court, or billiards room. During your stay you will feel at home with our delicious complimentary hot breakfast buffet daily, nightly social events, seasonal barbeques, on-site yoga studio, complimentary Internet access, and friendly 24-hour hotel staff. In beautiful Hudson Valley, the Residence Inn Poughkeepsie Suites Hotel is close to IBM, Marist College, Vassar College, the FDR & Vanderbilt Mansions and Millbrook Vineyards. We look forward to serving you in the Marriott tradition of excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Poughkeepsie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Poughkeepsie Hotel Poughkeepsie
Poughkeepsie Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Poughkeepsie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.