We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Found our place in Poughkeepsie, NY” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Poughkeepsie

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Poughkeepsie to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Poughkeepsie
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2525 South Rd, Poughkeepsie, NY 12601   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #5 of 14 hotels in Poughkeepsie
Virginai
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Found our place in Poughkeepsie, NY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Looking for another place to stay after having had a rough go with another in Poughkeepsie, we chose the Residence Inn. We were not disappointed. Everything was in great shape. Service was excellent and helpful. We went everywhere from here: Culinary Institute of America, Hudson Riverwalk, Woodstock, Vanderbilts, Mohonk, etc. Great time and memories thanks to a great Hotel. Breakfast was fresh, well stocked and maintained throughout the morning. .

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    76
    48
    18
    7
    7
See reviews for
55
38
9
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
brockport
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights while my son attended camp at Vassar.I had reviewed the tripadvisor site before making reservations; I was indecisive about the Hampton Inn or Residence Inn.I have reward membership at both chains and like the quality they provide.I have never been disappointed when I stay in either chain. I chose this hotel because of the amenities; indoor pool, hot breakfast,outdoor grill, social event.I selected a 2 bed/2 bath suite. I would recommend this room layout to anyone staying more than overnight. We were never cramped or irritated by a lack of space.The hotel is located in a great location. You can park and then walk to area restaurants and stores. The room was very clean; especially the bathrooms. The warm breakfasts had numerous selections; hot and cold cereal, eggs, waffles,fresh fruit,....An added surprise was the social hours during certain evening...my husband and I weren't sure what to expect; so we went to take a look and sample....the food was very good; this was our dinner for 2 nights.The pool and hot tub are open until 11pm so there is time to unwind after a long day. The area is full of things to do. We hiked at Lake Minnewaska, Walked over the Hudson, Toured West Point, FDR's properties, Vanderbilts, and the Culinary Institute.I am returning to the area at the end of the month for a college tour and will be staying here again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockaway, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

My spouse and I stayed here for 2 nights sharing a 2 bedroom suite with another couple. The room was very nice - what you'd expect from a Residence Inn. We had a good sized living / dining room / kitchen with couch / chairs and nice sized flat screen TV. The bedrooms had queen beds and were not large, but large enough. Each bedroom had it's own flat screen TV and a bathroom with sink outside. The bedrooms were laid out very well. The night tables each had a lamp with two spare outlets - finally, a place to easily keep my electronics near the bed! There was also a spare third outlet on one night table. The other had a very nice alarm clock / nightlight which gave off just the right amount of light to keep the room dark, but light enough to find the way to the bathroom. The showers were great - lots of pressure out of a good / adjustable shower head. Plenty of room for soap / shampoo / whatever else you need with you.

Breakfast and a local newspaper were included. Very nice to have the local paper vs USA Today and unusual to have a free paper on Sunday. Breakfast was the standard changing hot food plus fruit, cereals, yogurts, fresh waffles, etc...

Overall, a very nice stay with a few minor issues:

1) Breakfast was served until 9:30 (Sunday). By 9:32AM there was no coffee. I would have liked to have seen coffee served throughout the day, or at least have the option of a final refill on my way out.

2) When we arrived, we thought we had misplaced a bag (which was left at home). I called the front desk just before midnight and it took around 15 rings for someone to pick up. They were not helpful / didn't look in the back for the bag - just told me to call in the morning when "operations is on duty".

3) Shampoo & conditioner were given in bottles so small, there was not enough for 2 people. They were also not replaced overnight and we needed to go to the front desk for more....Asked for 2 shampoos and 2 conditioners (for the two showers)...Got back to the room to find they gave me 3 shampoo and 1 conditioner - again...just a sign that the front desk wasn't totally on the ball.

4) Pool was constantly mobbed - we never made it in...Of course, this was random and could have occurred at any hotel.

Overall,though a great place to stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
242 reviews 242 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I have stayed many times at this hotel. It is well run! It has a nice pool and basketball area. There is a very nice dog run. The breakfast is very nice and the space is clean. The staff works really hard to make everyone's stay perfect and comfortable. There is plenty of parking. It is within walking distance of a Red Robins hamburger place and a CSC drug store. There is a grocery near by also.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Clean, new carpet. We were in a two bedroom, two bathroom unit. Perfect for families. Loved this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed for just one night. It is a very nice room with lots do space. The kitchen has pots and pans and everything you need for cooking. The bed was very comfortable. We also swam and enjoyed the hot tub. The pull out bed was large and comfortable and linens were already in the room for my teen daughter. If I had to stay longer, this would be a great place for kids and teens. There is basketball courts, tennis and the pool.

Room Tip: Turn the ice machine on when you arrive. There is no ice machine in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Every time I go upstate to go a lil shopping and complete relaxation is needed I visit this place, Everyone is so nice polite and helpful, I highly recommend this location to everyone and anyone, I love the fact that the room has a little kitchen so I could prepare small meals inside my room,There is a free breakfast every morning which is basic

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Poughkeepsie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Poughkeepsie

Address: 2525 South Rd, Poughkeepsie, NY 12601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Poughkeepsie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Poughkeepsie
#3 Romantic Hotel in Poughkeepsie
#5 Family Hotel in Poughkeepsie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Poughkeepsie 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thrive on Long Stays... The Residence Inn Poughkeepsie Hotel has perfected the extended stay experience by combining the comforts of home with all the perks of a hotel. Situated directly in front of IBM and just minutes from The Culinary Institute of America and Marist College; our hotel is perfect for project teams, relocations, temporary housing, or corporate housing in Poughkeepsie, NY. Our all suite Poughkeepsie hotel rooms offer separate areas for sleeping, living and eating. Unwind in our heated indoor swimming pool and spa, Sport Court, or billiards room. During your stay you will feel at home with our delicious complimentary hot breakfast buffet daily, nightly social events, seasonal barbeques, on-site yoga studio, complimentary Internet access, and friendly 24-hour hotel staff. In beautiful Hudson Valley, the Residence Inn Poughkeepsie Suites Hotel is close to IBM, Marist College, Vassar College, the FDR & Vanderbilt Mansions and Millbrook Vineyards. We look forward to serving you in the Marriott tradition of excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Marriott, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Residence Inn Poughkeepsie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Poughkeepsie Hotel Poughkeepsie
Poughkeepsie Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Poughkeepsie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.