We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inconsistent” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Billy Bob's BBQ

Billy Bob's BBQ
35 Fairmont Avenue, Poughkeepsie, NY
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 238 restaurants in Poughkeepsie
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Inconsistent”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

I have been here a bunch of times. Sometimes I have had a great meal sometimes not so much. The brisket was cooked in a pan to heat up rather than coming right out of a smoker. I believe the ribs were too. Both were tough and dry. I will be back but they need to be more consistent with there food

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

72% Recommend
    19
    8
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hopewell Junction, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Fantastic BBQ!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is a little out of the way by Vassar College, but well worth finding parking. The dining room was pleasant even though it was raining, but the food made up for anything! We had the meat sampler and everything was amazing. We also started off with the armadillo eggs, and they are a must-have-again!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyde Park, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not good”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

The only thing that was good were the sauces. From the time you sit down at a sticky table, to the dissappearing servers, the underdone chicken and the dry as a bone brisket this is not a good restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, Ny
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great pulled pork tacos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stopped in for the pulled pork taco special on a Wednesday night with my wife & daughter. Tacos were great and the shrimp appetizer and the fried pickles were also excellent. Highly recommend this place.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great food, great drinks, great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

I have been to Billy Bob's a number of times and can truly say I have never had a bad experience. First-the bar area is casual and comfortable. There is a good variety of beer plus they have drink specials posted daily. I have never had dinner in the dining room because I prefer sitting in the bar area, but it is a nicely decorated area with a nice amount of tables. I love everything I have ever eaten there. The boom boom shrimp is awesome and although called an appetizer can easily be a meal. Wings are great-love the dry rub. Armadillo eggs-pulled pork stuffed jalapeño peppers are yummy and the nachos are incredible! I like them with pulled pork. The brisket sandwich is one of my favorites, along with the pulled pork sandwich which is served with cole slaw on the sandwich. My daughter absolutely loves the fries and the piggy mac-which is incredible! I have been there a few nights when they have had some great bands. The bartenders are friendly and i feel comfortable going into the bar alone. The owners always seem to be around keeping an eye on things, which is nice. All in all-this restaurant is a great place to have a drink, watch sports, listen to music, and have great food. I have suggested to friends and family and have always heard great things from them after they tried it. This is a great addition to the Arlington area.


  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Billy Bob's BBQ also viewed

 
Poughkeepsie, NY
 

Been to Billy Bob's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Billy Bob's BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.