We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy Red Velvet Cupcakes & REAL Maple Syrup” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Babycakes Cafe

Babycakes Cafe
1-3 Collegeview Avenue, Poughkeepsie, NY
+1 845-485-8411
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 238 restaurants in Poughkeepsie
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner
Description: Eclectic restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner with an emphasis on fresh, local and seasonal ingredients. Wonderful food and bar menus change often with creative specials daily. Slow food in a casual setting with culinary trained chefs, managers and servers. We take our food seriously! Customized off premise catering for everything from office luncheons to upscale weddings. Seasonal patio dining in the beautiful Arlington neighborhood near Vassar College. BC is the place to be morning, noon and night!
Fishkill, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Yummy Red Velvet Cupcakes & REAL Maple Syrup”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We have been here quite a few times for breakfast and lunch. Everything we have had to eat has always been very good and they actually serve real maple syrup something that is hard to find in this area. The prices are very reasonable and the portions are just the right size. I recommend the red velvet cupcakes for dessert which are scrumptious we always have to get at least one to go.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    24
    30
    13
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hudson Valley, NY
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Babycakes is a favorite of both Vassar students and locals, and for good reason, though under the new owners the famous "babycakes" desserts have been replaced by cupcakes that aren't nearly as good (sigh). Still, a great place for breakfast, lunch, or just to meet over coffee. Outdoor tables are a special treat.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, CA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Dining near Vassar, Poughkeepsie, NY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

My daughter and I had dinner at Babycakes (serves breakfast, lunch and dinner). Casual, but lovely room. Outstanding service, even though our server was being monitored by someone else, so we assumed she was new. Good vegetarian options, delicious fish. Well priced.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Needham, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“This place has gone way downhill”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

This used to be the place we would always go to, for coffee, for brunch, for dinner, and in the past year it has become really inaccessible. The service as always been so-so, but now it is horrendous. Ordering at the counter for lunch was one of its best features, but with this gone, it pales in comparison to what it used to be. I don't understand how they still have business with such a stagnant, unchanging, and unimpressive menu. The food used to be reliably solid, but now it is overpriced, and old news. Need to revise.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyde Park, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Great food. Small but the tables turn over quickly. Culinary Institute staff. Nice, varied menue.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Babycakes Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Babycakes Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Babycakes Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.