We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serene Hudson Valley Setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS The Inn & Suites At the Falls

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS The Inn & Suites At the Falls to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Inn & Suites At the Falls
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Red Oaks Mill Road, Poughkeepsie, NY   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Poughkeepsie
Niskayuna
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Serene Hudson Valley Setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

On the banks of Wappingers Creek and removed from the busy hustle of the city. Guests can linger over breakfast on the outdoor patio taking in the views of the quiet creek and waterfall downstream. The hotel is also conveniently located a short distance to restaurants, Hudson Valley Wineries, Vassar College, The Culinary Institute of America, Walkway Over The Hudson, & National Historic Sites. Rooms offer a microwave, coffee maker, refrigerator, flat panel tv, & free internet. There is an exercise room on site. A Manager's Reception is held each evening from 5:30 pm to 7:00 pm in the bar/breakfast room. Hot & cold items are offered for breakfast each morning.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Inn & Suites At the Falls, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Thank you for your review and for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    98
    40
    20
    6
See reviews for
120
86
16
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stayed here one night while sight-seeing in the area. They provided a complimentary glass of wine and munchies at happy hour to enjoy while we sat on the outside patio overlooking the river. Our room was more than adequate and clean. The manager on duty was very personable and helpful. Overall pleased with price and amenities.

Room Tip: Try to get river side, but ours facing parking lot was not noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Inn & Suites At the Falls, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I booked this hotel on Hotwire. I live in Upstate NY, and when we travel to NYC, we usually drive to Poughkeepsie, spend the night and leave our car at the train station and take the train into the city for a few days. We arrived at the Best Western Plus around 8pm on 7/30, and checked out the next morning. Check in was quick and pleasant. The room was updated and clean. The hotel is in a nice location overlooking the falls. The check in clerk was very helpful and friendly getting us tooth paste which we'd forgotten at home, extra towels, and even giving a great recommendation for pizza delivery. We enjoyed our stay, and would stay here again as a stop over on future trips to NYC.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Inn & Suites At the Falls, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Thank you and we look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

I booked a few nights here for business and I really enjoyed my stay. My room was clean, faced the river, was warm. I really liked the front desk people, especially one guy whose name I didn't get. He engaged me in conversation (didn't brush me off), was very helpful with questions about where to eat and best way to get to where I needed to get (even printed a map).

The common area and the patio were very well designed/airy. Oh, I also really appreciated that they had fresh newspapers readily available.

I really enjoyed my stay with this hotel

Room Tip: Choose the river view!
See more room tips
Green Features: Yes - they def encouraged to save the towels and bed sheets you've used as to save on water etc which i LOVED.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Inn & Suites At the Falls, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

We stayed here one night, prior to a bicycle ride the next day in Harlem Valley. It's clean and comfortable, and if you can make it for the complementary wine and beer in the early evening, then you will really feel relaxed and at home. The patio overlooking the stream is the real special feature of this place.

The breakfast is standard and just fine. The staff and friendly and helpful.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Inn & Suites At the Falls, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwood, MA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

The hotel was very adequate...nice location, although finding it took a couple tries off the highway. The parking area seemed a bit far from the hotel, especially when carrying luggage.The overall impression is that the building's outside appearance, windows, lobby, patio and hallways need a little updating. Our room, however, was very up-to-date, clean and comfortable. The breakfast was great and we enjoyed the complimentary glass of wine in the late afternoon after our arrival. I think a few plants and other decor would enhance the lobby/breakfast room as well as the rest of the hotel. I kept wishing they'd turn on the lights strung around the terrace! Would have been a nice touch. We were there only one night, but would suggest it to others.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Inn & Suites At the Falls, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Pros: Very good budget hotel with an excellent French restaurant for dinner; good location near expressway and practical shopping. View from parking lot is fabulous.
Cons: Might be hard to find as set above the main drag; location is 15 minutes from Stowe resort

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Inn & Suites At the Falls, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. However you did not stay at our hotel. You are describing another location. Not sure where. If you are ever in the Hudson Valley we would love for you to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS The Inn & Suites At the Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS The Inn & Suites At the Falls

Address: 50 Red Oaks Mill Road, Poughkeepsie, NY
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Poughkeepsie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Poughkeepsie
#3 Romantic Hotel in Poughkeepsie
#3 Business Hotel in Poughkeepsie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS The Inn & Suites At the Falls 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy complimentary beer and wine daily at our Manager's Reception 5:30 PM to 7:30 PM. Guests can enjoy a complimentary breakfast each morning. We are a new 100% renovated hotel in the Historic Hudson Valley. Near IBM, Vassar and Marist Colleges. We have a beautiful setting along the water to relax after a busy day of site seeing or business meetings. Our hotel offers guests a country setting just minutes from Route 9 and all that the Hudson Valley has to offer. We have a 24 hour business center and state of the art fitness center. Complimentary Wireless High Speed Internet in the entire hotel and select rooms with Wired High Speed internet also. All rooms have Mircowave and Fridge. Enjoy a Jacuzzi whirlpool in all the King Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS The Inn & Suites At the Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus The Inn And Suites At The Falls
Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls Hotel Poughkeepsie

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS The Inn & Suites At the Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.